We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, hospitable, if not a bit pushy..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raveena Guest House
Ranked #43 of 184 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were allocated a room in the attached main building that didn't have the views or the private balconies that the other rooms had. For 3,500 rupees, I thought the price was a bit steep for what it was. it got pretty loud when there were people sitting in the dining area and the space felt a bit claustrophobic with the windows located too high up to see anything.

I'm not sure if it was the English or what but we were asked at every opportunity, numerous times to order dinner as well as breakfast in advance. I felt that it was overly aggressive. the breakfast was nothing to write home about so I opted out of the dinner.

just a note to all guesthouses in Ella: please, you're in the middle of tea country: refrain from serving bagged lipton tea. there are so many amazing other options.

Room Tip: request a room in the separate building with its own balcony. but the price gets a little steeper th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

We loved our 3 nights in Ella and a large part of this was Raveena's. A big family room in the new building was 6000/night excl. breakfast. Beds comfy, loads of hot water but just ask for extra blankets at night as the temperature goes down a bit.

Family are lovely. We were met by the son at the station with his tuktuk who showed us the shortcut into town before driving the long way round the roads. Do take a torch at night when using the shortcut. Dad is the most visible serving food, tidying up, etc. Mum is Raveena but we didn't see her much. It was the only sensible place, cost wise, for laundry in Sri Lanka. Good local dinner at a reasonable price

Do take the 2 hour walk up to Ella Rock, you can see it over the valley from the guesthouse, the view past monkeys and jackfruit is really special.

Good place to meet other travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Really beautiful place to stay. Huge, spotless, rooms that are great value for money and fantastic views. We stayed in the top one and it had an amazing balcony which was fantastic to watch the Sun rise from. Managed by a welcoming family who really go above and beyond to help you out. Really close to the main bit of Ella as well

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mattbor86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We paid around 5500LKR ($50 USD) for a double room (it also had an extra bed in it). We had our own bathroom. Everything was clean and simple. We had our own personal balcony area overlooking Ella rock and had a great view.

The breakfast was nice and there was plenty to eat (eggs, toast, fruit, tea)

Some negative things are:
1) Its really loud in the morning from 6am or so onwards as trucks pass the main road and honk their horns. I keep waking up early because of the noise.
2) Upon arrival we were offered a drink. We thought this was a welcome drink, but when we saw our bill they had added the cost of the drinks. We spent almost $190 staying here and doing our laundry etc, I think they could've let go of the drinks in the bill
2) I found it really annoying when they kept asking us to have dinner with them (at a cost) or take tours (which seemed quite highly priced!). Once someone has said no, they shouldn't keep asking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wordtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. After being on the move for a week or so, settling into here for three nights was bliss. Lovely owners, their son is very helpful with booking taxis, advice etc as well. The views are serene, monkeys play in the trees around you as you relax on the verandas. Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bbbbbrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We just had two very lovely days in Ravena Guesthouse in Ella. The room was nice - clean and simpel. Very good value for the money. Very good space outside and a nice view. Breakfast and dinner was really good and the owner and his wife are so frienly. They are also helpful with organizing trips both in the local area and to other places in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiaN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hosts as stated by other travellers are really kind and attentive. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable, and the view is simply amazing, esp in the morning. Location is very strategic, not far from the train station. My kids love this place so much they were reluctant to leave. Highly recommended! Thank you so much Manjula!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppy6204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
3.6 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#6 of 12 in Ella
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#34 of 184 in Ella
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lucky Star
Lucky Star
#8 of 184 in Ella
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
0.4 mi away
Waterfalls View
Waterfalls View
#7 of 184 in Ella
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 184 in Ella
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raveena Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raveena Guest House

Address: Wellawaya Road, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: £20 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Raveena Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing