We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Feelin'good Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Feelin'good Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This unassuming and out of the way hotel is a real find in the Ella area. It is clean and quiet and offers a variety of different rooms. The owners looked more like guests and the hotel staff are courteous, helpful, and always ready to please. We stayed in the main building for one night then switched to one of the private bungalows for another night. Both rooms were excellent and comfortable. As great as the building and the hosts/staff were, the food was even better. The Sri Lankan dinner we had was incredible. The Feelin' Good Resort is a great quiet getaway: a preferred alternative to the chain hotels.

Room Tip: Book one of the private bungalows: they're worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Feelin'good Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for staying here in Feelin' good Resort .
We hope , you enjoyed your stay .
Come again,
your
Feelin' good Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Feelin'good Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a lovely place to stay near Ella. Despite its location (about 40km from Ella itself) its a lovely place to stay. Quiet and peaceful. Tranquillity and privacy are maintained well. Large rooms. Good clean bathrooms. Reliable WiFi. Food in the restaurant was exceptional. Traditional Sri Lankan curry night was just phenomenal. Excellent value for money. Staff are also very welcoming and knowledgeable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank NZjessd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Feelin'good Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks for staying here in Feelin' good Resort .
We hope , you enjoyed your stay .
Come again,
your
Feelin' good Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Pros:-
-this place is quite new and well maintained. The rooms were very clean and comfortable
-situated away from the main Ella town, if you're looking for a place to relax this is ideal
-surrounding area is beautiful - overlooks mountains and greenery
-the food is good, had no issues at all (albeit bordering on the expensive side)
-only 10 minute car ride from Ravana Falls
-majority of the staff, especially the Sri Lankan wait staff were very helpful and friendly

Cons:-
-the host and hostess and not the most warm and friendly people. It could be a language/cultural issue, but compared to the Sri Lankan staff, especially the host, Michael could come across stand-offish
-our shower got blocked and flooded the bathroom floor, I didn't appreciate Michael insinuating that we had flushed food down the drain...

All in all this is a good place to stay. If the owners improve their customer service a little bit more, this has the potential to be a great place to stay in Ella

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank kiwilankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Feelin'good Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thanks for staying here in Feelin' good Resort .
We hope , you enjoyed your stay .If something was not to your satisfaction, sorry for it .
Come again,
your
Feelin' good Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed two nights here and ate at their restaurant each night because the curries we had were the best so far in Sri Lanka. The selection on both nights was different even though the menu just called the meal curry and rice. We had jack fruit curry, aubergine curry, bean curry, okra curry, potato curry all served as little side dishes with chicken curry and a beautiful dahl.
The view from the bungalows is beautiful and the rooms clean but basic. This is a new hotel and they still need to add a few comforts to the rooms such as somewhere to put your bags other than the floor, the facility to make tea and coffee and some simple decoration, but the fresh flowers on the table each day was a welcoming touch and the staff were friendly and accommodating. We slept well and we're not bothered by the proximity to the road.
We liked the distance from town, it meant a peaceful setting and beautiful views. Samira (one of the staff) has a tuk tuk and he ran us into town for a reasonable price and even arranged a friend to pick us up and take us back at the same reasonable price, so we didn't find the distance a problem
Michael and Dhammi were welcoming and caring hosts. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We loved the cottage. It was away from the main building and had a lovely view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Feelin'good Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks for staying here in Feelin' good Resort .
We hope , you enjoyed your stay .
Come again,
your
Feelin' good Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Feelin'good for only one night as the other accommodation was fully booked due to the Sri Lankan holiday week. We were so lucky as this is a beautiful Resort, surrounded by spectacular gardens and offering stunning views - It is just off the main road - 10 kilometres out of Ella. Our room was huge, comfortable and absolutely spotless with a great shower. The food was great and we were made very welcome by both Michael and his wife and their staff. We certainly were not disturbed by any road noise and I loved that all the rooms had a balcony so you could enjoy the natural environment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndiaCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Feelin'good Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks for staying here , always welcome ,
your Feelin' good Team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Feeling Good Resort for two nights and we had a lovely stay. Michael and his wife were great hosts, and lucky (their dog) will keep you entertained! The room is clean and spacious.

We read reviews about noise from the road at night - yes we could hear some but it was once in a while that it didn't bother us. I would recommend giving the food at the hotel a try. Everything was yummy and we love the local breakfast! Though, please note the kitchen opening hours. We went down at 8.30pm one night and it was too late to order dinner.

The hotel is 10km away from city centre but if you are looking for a nice and calm place with amazing view then this is your place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Feelin'good Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks for staying here in Feelin' good Resort .
We hope , you enjoyed your stay .
Come again,
your
Feelin' good Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Feeln'good is located on the road south heading down below Ella, and although is 10km out of town - it is very convenient for the waterfalls and it was a very easy rp35 bus ride or tuk tuk ride back into town - which itself was enjoyable. We stayed in the chalet and the room and ensuite was lovely - complete with a four poster bed and a little terrace out the front. We didn't find any real disturbance from the road.

We are there both evenings and the food was really excellent and the open air eating area had a pleasant ambiance. Michael and the team were very helpful and doing their best to provide reliable service - he arranged a driver from Tangalle to come up to Ella and take us south and that all worked well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidLong99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, Manager at Feelin'good Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks for staying here in Feelin' good Resort .
We hope , you enjoyed your stay .
Come again,
your
Feelin' good Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
3.9 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
98 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
161 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
149 reviews
3.3 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
3.6 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feelin'good Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feelin'good Resort

Address: 10th Mile Post / 16 km | Karandagolla / Ella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range: £27 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 7 rooms - 5 rooms + 2 cottages (TV + minibar) and a restaurant. Our property is ca 4000 square meters and offers enough space to relax. We are just off the A23 between Wellawaya and Ella at km 16. Bus stop is right next to our entry. 4 km to Ravana waterfall. WIFI in public areas, cottages ..... you are welcome to enjoy a massage. Make an appointment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Feelin'good Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing