We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family ”
Review of Hotel Laura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Laura
Ranked #13 of 152 Ella B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paxos, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic family ”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3nts late feb. Suranga & his parents are just the perfect hosts. Very nice comfy rooms with black slate floor tiles & very comfy beds. Easy walk into Ella but the best point of hotel Laura are the family. Lolita (mum) is just the best host. She cooked for us on a few occasions, amazing breakfast & one of the nights she invited to cook Sri Lankan food with her in her kitchen. Cooking over a wood fire with Lolita was an experience in itself. Can't recommend these guys enough. A must be on your Ella itinerary. Thanks to everyone at 'Laura' for one of our best stays in Sri Lanka

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paxosconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    52
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
36
133
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

When I came here for a vacation all the way from Australia, I had the chance to stay here for 2 good days. The first thing I noticed was the awesome view I had in my room. It was magnificent. I could see Ella Rock and the Adams Peak right from my room. Everything in the room is just top of the class. A king size bed, Modern and very clean bathroom and I got to mention that the food is just phenomenal. Both local and other dishes are available. The place is just 5 minutes walk from the town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tharumadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was one of our favourites during 5 weeks in Sri Lanka.There are two newly built large luxury rooms with their own private verandah with wonderful views. Massive top quality bed. Excellent en-suite. There are also two older and smaller rooms available up at the main house, where the owners live, these are cheaper but we opted to pay the extra for the new rooms. Wifi available at the upper level by the house, where you can also take your meals and chat to the other guests on a nice colonial-style verandah.
Good breakfast, excellent evening meals at very good price. Really nice hosts. Didn't even get charged for the pots of tea in the afternoon, unlike everywhere else we stayed.
Short walk into town, easy access to Little Adam's Peak and Ella Rock. You are quite near the railway line, but elevated above it, the trains are not visible due to trees.
Great choice for a relaxing few days at Ella.

Room Tip: Get one of the 2 newer rooms if budget is not your main consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colvic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I wasn't lucky enough to get a room at Hotel Laura, but I did enjoy 2 nice evenings drinking beer and just enjoying the incredible view from one of the 2 amazing rooms at this hotel! My friend Lisa (who I had met in Ella) stayed here and I got to hang out on her large balcony and room, which I must say was the biggest and nicest room/balcony of any small guesthouse I've ever seen! The room even has a king size bed!

Next time I go to Ella, I am going to do whatever I can to get a room at Hotel Laura, because I really won't settle with staying anywhere else after seeing this incredible gem!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank josephine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Lovely setting with the best views of Ella Gap from your room/balcony. Family run with only 2/3 rooms currently. Their property continues to develop and it will be interesting to see how things take shape over the next 12mths but the rooms available are lovely. The family cannot do enough to help you - dinner/breakfast/tea/beer/routes for local walks/taxis etc. You currently can't book through major websites so check out the website directly and book up!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke_Creighton_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dandenong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A really nice place to be or probably the best location i have ever seen in Ella area. Got a scenic view surrounded by little Adams' peak from one side and the Ella rock from the other side which gives really a calm and a quiet feeling. Food is awesome. 5 mins walking distance from the town. Had an awesome weekend in there with my mates and wish go back there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Laura for one night and regret that we did not stay any longer.

Ella is a fun backpacker town. The most import element however cannot be seen from the town itself or most of its hotels. The view over Ella gap. We loved this so much more than the promising World's End. The view from Hotel Laura is probably the best possible!

Next great thing is the hosts! They are so welcoming and mother of the house will cook a perfect dinner.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielAmsterdamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.2 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#22 of 152 in Ella
147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ella Rock House
Ella Rock House
#8 of 152 in Ella
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laura

Property: Hotel Laura
Address: Kithalella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laura is situated in Ella,Sri lanka..It takes only 5min to reach our hotel from Ella town. And it is a one of place that having a most amazing scenery.Luxurious double rooms for all your needs.Fully comfortable king size mattress.Hot water supply other facilities for your comfort. Delicious Sri Lankan food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing