We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ella Okreech Cottages
Ranked #3 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Ella
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, great location”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Relaxing, charming and comfortable lodges. Nice big beds. One of the cleanest places I've stayed at in Sri Lanka (better than some of the big hotels!) Best shower I had in the whole of Sri Lanka! Lovely hot water. A real gem of a place. We would have paid double what we paid to stay here it was that lovely. Very good value for money. We had a fantastic time here. Before staying here, I'd read what others had said about the ground floor rooms being noisy. We therefore asked for an upstairs room and were offered one on arrival. We were glad we did. The man who greeted us on arrival was welcoming and friendly and very helpful. Would definitely recommend this to a friend.

Room Tip: Get in touch with the staff when you book and ask for an upstairs room. Upstairs rooms are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CantThinkOfAName75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    55
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
25
133
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolfsburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A really nice place to stay in ella. New built, small houses on a hill. Everything is made of wood . Silence, so you don't hear the main road , nice view on ella rock. Unfortunately without breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trekkingralf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our kids 4 nights in 2 cottages. Above each other. Very good cottages im terms of beds airco bathroom Light etc. Our advise is to use the higher cottage of the 2 because that one is dryer and cooler. The lower one is and stays more damp and smells to the earth. Ever with fan or airco on. No safe in cottage which is a pity.

Warning: this has nothing to do with ocreech, but watch out for bernard silva taxi/ van company. You dont get what you agreed upon and driver tries to have you pay for gasoline om top of ride price.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vjeliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The cottage itself was lovely, although try to go for an upstairs one as you can hear every movement from the people above you! It was clean, cool and had a nice big bed. However, the gentleman who checked us in refused to acknowledge that I was ever there! He would only speak to my boyfriend, calling him sir and introducing himself to him etc, it was me that made the booking and found the place and every time I asked a question he would face my boyfriend and give the answer to him, a couple of time he even dragged him outside so I wouldn't even hear the answer! I know equality between men and women is different in Asia but this is by far the worst I've had so far and i just found it plain rude. Especially seeing as it was me and not my boyfriend paying for it!

Location is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gl0b3tr0tt3r333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The best place we've stayed in Sri Lanka is here. It's centrally located and on the way to the Ella Rock. Check in was super easy and they have very strong wifi. Place is super clean and exactly like in the photos! They also provide plate, cuttleries and kettle which is really great!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We enjoyed the Ella Okreech Cottages. The position is right in the heart of small Ella town albeit up a pretty steep hill which gives you some nice views. The cottages are quite modern with a nice wood concrete finish and good facilities, toilet shower etc.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here in mid June and absolutely loved it. The cottages are really nicely decorated, with oak floors and walls throughout. They feel like a quiet log cabin in the middle of the forest ensuring a great nights sleep. It is in an ideal location being a two minute walk from Ella but situated just up the hill, giving the feel of peace and tranquility. The owner of the cottages is very warm and welcoming and will gladly give advice about onward travels or things to do in Ella. He even posted my camera charger back to the UK when I left it in one of the cottages. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Ella - look no further!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aedane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.0 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.4 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ella
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#20 of 157 in Ella
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#22 of 157 in Ella
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Okreech Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Okreech Cottages

Property: Ella Okreech Cottages
Address: Ella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Double room with balcony with attach toilets and hot water.All rooms are with mini fridges and Hammocks with WIFI free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ella Okreech Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing