We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secluded night in a tree house”
Review of Ella Jungle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ella Jungle Inn
Ranked #112 of 149 Ella B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A secluded night in a tree house”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stumbled across the Jungle Inn on our way from Mirissa to Ella. We had an amazing time staying in a beautiful tree house only accessible by a private suspension bridge. We saw monkeys from our balcony and enjoyed superb views. The staff were very attentive and cooked us an exceptional meal on request. Decent ride into Ella about 1,000 rupees in a tuk tuk but the views are great. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We were very pleased to read your wonderful comments about our tree house, food and the service. Look forward to see both of you during your next visit to Sri Lanka as well. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    24
    12
    15
    28
See reviews for
38
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here and the views from the room were spectacular. We even enjoyed the variety of bugs (crickets and stick insects) and wildlife (bats and monkeys) around the hotel. The room and bathroom were enormous and the bed was comfortable. I do agree however that there is a need for a mosquito net over the bed.
The food was delicious and reasonably priced, though there was some minor misunderstandings with our food orders due to our lack of Sinhalese and the waiters English.....but not a huge issue and part of the adventure.
We enjoyed staying away from the hustle and bustle of Ella, but did get the local bus into town which was easy and quick and incredibly cheap.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beekeeper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We were most pleased to read your good comments after spending two nights in our Resort. The mosquito net which you have found missing was fixed the very next day and we are extremly sorry if this had caused you any difficulty.
Now that you have enjoyed staying here, please do visit us again during your next trip to Sri Lanka. - Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Accommodations are good considering the location in a jungle. Friendly staff. Ella jungle Inn however is on the edge of the main road. Ella Jungle resort ran by the same owner is near the rapids deeper in the forest.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Many thanks for your comments and for selecting Ella Jungle Inn to spend your holiday with your family.
Look forward to seeing you'll once again in the year 2014 as well.
We wish you'll all the very best for the year 2014 dawning after one more day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the Inn. The view from the room was spectacular and the room itself was large and unique. The host and staff tried very hard. In the end though it was to far from Ella with little to do.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank savoyfoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We thank you for your comments. But as your stay has been short, there would not have been much to offer. But if it was little longer, we could have arranged Bird watching, River bath, Jungle trekking, Visit to an ancient Buddhist temple having giant statues caved on rock, and many more activities and view of the surroundings to make your stay with us most memorable.
Please have this in mind to make your next trip much more delightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We spent two nights in this place. It has a lot of potential and the staff try really hard, but overall we wished we had stayed somewhere closer to town in Ella.

The best thing about this place was that we woke up both mornings with monkeys crashing about in the trees right outside the room. There's quite a bit of wildlife and the jungle setting is nice. However, it also results in a lot of bugs and wildlife in the room itself. I've happily stayed in a number of eco-resorts throughout South East Asia so don't think I am being too fussy, but the amount of bug life in the room was extreme - there were gaps in the bug proofing that let in enough spiders, earwigs, fire flies, mosquitoes and other bugs to keep the three geckos and frog living in the room working all night. There was no mosquito net for the bed to provide any distance from the bugs. Nor was there any fan, so the room got really hot at night. Given the amount of wildlife in the room it was also pretty grubby, but not terrible.

While the staff were very friendly and tried their best, they spoke hardly any English and didn't seem to have much of an idea about service. We were the only guests there during our stay. On our first night we sat in the restaurant and asked for two beers. The waiter said that the manager was not there and wandered away. The next time we saw anyone that worked there was an hour later. We asked for the beers again and after another half hour they finally arrived. After 3 beers in total, we were told that they had run out. We were promised there would be more the next night, but they only had two.

The food was okay, but there were very limited options and with no menu we had to try and work off descriptions given by staff who didn't speak much English. None of the activities mentioned seemed to have been available and while there is enough jungle nearby, the place is also really close to the road so there was quite a bit of road noise from the buses and Sri Lankan musical scooters that started around 5 am and kept going til after 9 pm.

Given the lack of stuff to do there, distance from town and the very limited food options, we wished we had stayed in Ella where there is more choice for food and better access to the local sights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thanks for stayed with us and we value your comment for improve our service. Sorry for inconvenience caused during your stay. Thanks, Chaminda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ella hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in a tree house overlooking the jungle/forest. Enjoyed waking up and seeing monkeys and squirrels. Took out own mosquito net based on previous reviews as despite being surrounded by wood and glass there are cracks where small bugs and flies can enter. Our tip to management would be to install these themselves. The tree house was well made with floor to ceiling glass on 3 walls enabling a great view from the bed of the jungle. Hot water shower was unexpected but a nice surprise. Only issue is that for us this was too isolated with a 15km 1000srl one way tuck tuk to ella town and no cafés or bars in the local area. We had some good food at the hotel but no menu so you have what is available. Staff we're great and very accommodating and helpful if you like tranquility then this is the place for you, otherwise maybe best to stay in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaandPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thanks for stayed with us and we value your comment for improve our service. Sorry for inconvenience caused during your stay. Thanks, Chaminda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

did not enjoy our stay here. the place was empty. the room (although with a stunning view and the novelty of being accessed by a bridge) was dirty and in need of some serious TLC. we expected there to be bugs being in the jungle, but not crushed bug-blood on the sheets. there was no mosquito net (which seems like an obvious accessory). only a few staff hanging around who spoke next to no English. we were not aware of a manager - just a kid behind a computer. none of the activities that are offered on the website were available - so there was nothing to do here except a walk for $20. it is some distance from Ella where there are wonderful walks to be done for free. the food was no where near the quality that we had come to expect in Sri Lanka. the restaurant is next to a steep road and is very noisy when trucks and buses struggle up the hill. no menu. no beer. and too expensive for what it is. if you want to visit Ella there are much better places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thanks for stayed with us and we value your comment for improve our service. Sorry for inconvenience caused during your stay. Thanks, Chaminda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
4.6 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#5 of 97 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 149 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#28 of 149 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Jungle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Jungle Inn

Property: Ella Jungle Inn
Address: Karandagolla, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ella Jungle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Ella Jungle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing