We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ella Jungle Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
64
25
12
15
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
25
12
15
28
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I went there today 19/01/2014 with my family and few of my foreign friends. we just ordered 1 mixed fried rice, 1 cheese omelet and 1 chicken & mushroom omelet. And i asked how long it will take to be ready the food and staff said 30 mins. we were starving at 2.50 and 30 mins were too long time for all of us.but we waited exactly 45 mins to get our meals and that was the most terrible meal i have ever had in my life. my swiss friend got her omelet without mushroom.but they added chicken bones instead of mushroom in it and she was very upset about that.and the mixed rice i ordered absolutely tasteless.there were only few sausages pieces and only 2 small prawns.there were so many people hanging around the restaurant but the staff member said their chef is away.then why the hell they open the restaurant and expecting guests ? customer service and food are terribly poor but their charges higher than other places. when we complained to the staff they didn't even apologized and i saw one member was checked the omelet to see the chick bones. only the view is good but food and customer service are not worth at all. never wanna be there again and we even told to the driver don't recommend this place to any one EVER!!! we don't want any apologies now but please take care of your customers and the service and food that you provide to them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sue1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate the opportunity given by you to clarify certain points which seem to be not accurate. Also, we deeply regret for not being able to meet your expectations, but assure you of immediate corrective action, where it deems necessary.
It was our fault to have taken so much of time in the preperation of the food, nevertheless we were able to prepare a Large quantity as we were informed that you'll have been starving for a long time. We presume that this would have been the reason for the entire dishes served to be empty though the food had no good taste. There it appears that the hunger had overlooked the taste.
Yours truly
Ella Jungle Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stumbled across the Jungle Inn on our way from Mirissa to Ella. We had an amazing time staying in a beautiful tree house only accessible by a private suspension bridge. We saw monkeys from our balcony and enjoyed superb views. The staff were very attentive and cooked us an exceptional meal on request. Decent ride into Ella about 1,000 rupees in a tuk tuk but the views are great. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

We were very pleased to read your wonderful comments about our tree house, food and the service. Look forward to see both of you during your next visit to Sri Lanka as well. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here and the views from the room were spectacular. We even enjoyed the variety of bugs (crickets and stick insects) and wildlife (bats and monkeys) around the hotel. The room and bathroom were enormous and the bed was comfortable. I do agree however that there is a need for a mosquito net over the bed.
The food was delicious and reasonably priced, though there was some minor misunderstandings with our food orders due to our lack of Sinhalese and the waiters English.....but not a huge issue and part of the adventure.
We enjoyed staying away from the hustle and bustle of Ella, but did get the local bus into town which was easy and quick and incredibly cheap.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beekeeper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

We were most pleased to read your good comments after spending two nights in our Resort. The mosquito net which you have found missing was fixed the very next day and we are extremly sorry if this had caused you any difficulty.
Now that you have enjoyed staying here, please do visit us again during your next trip to Sri Lanka. - Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Accommodations are good considering the location in a jungle. Friendly staff. Ella jungle Inn however is on the edge of the main road. Ella Jungle resort ran by the same owner is near the rapids deeper in the forest.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jeroen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Many thanks for your comments and for selecting Ella Jungle Inn to spend your holiday with your family.
Look forward to seeing you'll once again in the year 2014 as well.
We wish you'll all the very best for the year 2014 dawning after one more day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the Inn. The view from the room was spectacular and the room itself was large and unique. The host and staff tried very hard. In the end though it was to far from Ella with little to do.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank savoyfoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

We thank you for your comments. But as your stay has been short, there would not have been much to offer. But if it was little longer, we could have arranged Bird watching, River bath, Jungle trekking, Visit to an ancient Buddhist temple having giant statues caved on rock, and many more activities and view of the surroundings to make your stay with us most memorable.
Please have this in mind to make your next trip much more delightful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews