We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tre dejlige dage på jungle inn.”
Review of Ella Jungle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ella Jungle Inn
Ranked #112 of 149 Ella B&B and Inns
Ellabell, Georgia
1 review
“Tre dejlige dage på jungle inn.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We enjoy staying here 3 Nights feb. 2014. Our. ROM nr 3 is fantastic built, all in Wood, good bed wiith moskitonet, a special rustik bath room and lot og hot Water.
We had our Big breakfast om the balcony, White we saw twostep kinds og minkes in the treetops . We even saw two Big squirrels and Lots of birds . An. eagle cach a termik over the Valley.
Diner is frechly made and taste very god. The staff is kind and very helpfull.
We Will like to come again.
Bent and Britta, Denmark.

Room Tip: Tree house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
We appreciate very much your most enterprising comments with regard to Ella Jungle Inn, its environment, the room you stayed in, the food you had and the hospitality of the staff who served you during your 3 day stay.
We most welcome Bent & Britta to “Ella Jungle Inn” when ever you visit Sri Lanka again.
Yours truly
Ella Jungle Inn
WILD HOLIDAYS (PVT) LTD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    24
    12
    15
    28
See reviews for
38
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I visited the restaurant with my friends. The restaurant looks nice and the waiter on the entrance invited us to sit down. That was a big mistake.
I know, the biggest aim for Sri Lankans is their hospitality. This you will not find here definitely.
We ordered our lunch but nobody told us that the cook is not avaiable. So we waited nearly 45 minutes for a simple order usually prepared in minutes!
But this was not all. The food was terrible, the worst I ever tasted in Sri Lanka but very expensive!
The even not served what we ordered.
So I made a complaint. They only smiled. No excuse, no nothing. But they charged us the full price plus service charges and taxes.
The most dissappointed experience on our way to the highlands. I will never stop here again!
After we had a wonderful lunch nearby in a simple street restaurant with friendly people and wonderful food.
Beware of this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate the opportunity given by you to clarify certain points which seem to be not accurate. Also, we deeply regret for not being able to meet your expectations, but assure you of immediate corrective action, where it deems necessary.
At the same time we were informed that you'll had enjoyed the food that was served as the entire quantity that had been served had been consumed as well with nothing left leftover.
Yours truly,

Ella Jung Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ella hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I went there today 19/01/2014 with my family and few of my foreign friends. we just ordered 1 mixed fried rice, 1 cheese omelet and 1 chicken & mushroom omelet. And i asked how long it will take to be ready the food and staff said 30 mins. we were starving at 2.50 and 30 mins were too long time for all of us.but we waited exactly 45 mins to get our meals and that was the most terrible meal i have ever had in my life. my swiss friend got her omelet without mushroom.but they added chicken bones instead of mushroom in it and she was very upset about that.and the mixed rice i ordered absolutely tasteless.there were only few sausages pieces and only 2 small prawns.there were so many people hanging around the restaurant but the staff member said their chef is away.then why the hell they open the restaurant and expecting guests ? customer service and food are terribly poor but their charges higher than other places. when we complained to the staff they didn't even apologized and i saw one member was checked the omelet to see the chick bones. only the view is good but food and customer service are not worth at all. never wanna be there again and we even told to the driver don't recommend this place to any one EVER!!! we don't want any apologies now but please take care of your customers and the service and food that you provide to them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate the opportunity given by you to clarify certain points which seem to be not accurate. Also, we deeply regret for not being able to meet your expectations, but assure you of immediate corrective action, where it deems necessary.
It was our fault to have taken so much of time in the preperation of the food, nevertheless we were able to prepare a Large quantity as we were informed that you'll have been starving for a long time. We presume that this would have been the reason for the entire dishes served to be empty though the food had no good taste. There it appears that the hunger had overlooked the taste.
Yours truly
Ella Jungle Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stumbled across the Jungle Inn on our way from Mirissa to Ella. We had an amazing time staying in a beautiful tree house only accessible by a private suspension bridge. We saw monkeys from our balcony and enjoyed superb views. The staff were very attentive and cooked us an exceptional meal on request. Decent ride into Ella about 1,000 rupees in a tuk tuk but the views are great. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We were very pleased to read your wonderful comments about our tree house, food and the service. Look forward to see both of you during your next visit to Sri Lanka as well. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here and the views from the room were spectacular. We even enjoyed the variety of bugs (crickets and stick insects) and wildlife (bats and monkeys) around the hotel. The room and bathroom were enormous and the bed was comfortable. I do agree however that there is a need for a mosquito net over the bed.
The food was delicious and reasonably priced, though there was some minor misunderstandings with our food orders due to our lack of Sinhalese and the waiters English.....but not a huge issue and part of the adventure.
We enjoyed staying away from the hustle and bustle of Ella, but did get the local bus into town which was easy and quick and incredibly cheap.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beekeeper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We were most pleased to read your good comments after spending two nights in our Resort. The mosquito net which you have found missing was fixed the very next day and we are extremly sorry if this had caused you any difficulty.
Now that you have enjoyed staying here, please do visit us again during your next trip to Sri Lanka. - Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Accommodations are good considering the location in a jungle. Friendly staff. Ella jungle Inn however is on the edge of the main road. Ella Jungle resort ran by the same owner is near the rapids deeper in the forest.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Many thanks for your comments and for selecting Ella Jungle Inn to spend your holiday with your family.
Look forward to seeing you'll once again in the year 2014 as well.
We wish you'll all the very best for the year 2014 dawning after one more day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the Inn. The view from the room was spectacular and the room itself was large and unique. The host and staff tried very hard. In the end though it was to far from Ella with little to do.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank savoyfoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We thank you for your comments. But as your stay has been short, there would not have been much to offer. But if it was little longer, we could have arranged Bird watching, River bath, Jungle trekking, Visit to an ancient Buddhist temple having giant statues caved on rock, and many more activities and view of the surroundings to make your stay with us most memorable.
Please have this in mind to make your next trip much more delightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
4.6 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.8 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#9 of 11 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#5 of 97 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 149 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#28 of 149 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Jungle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Jungle Inn

Property: Ella Jungle Inn
Address: Karandagolla, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ella Jungle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Ella Jungle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing