We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, sad and worst service”
Review of Ella Jungle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ella Jungle Inn
Ranked #116 of 165 Ella B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Location and hotel structure are amazing.
However:
- Rooms not cleaned at all. Holes on the bed linen, dust everywhere and full of minor (and less minor) technical issues
- Service is very poor. A team of few of very un trained and young guys only
- Dinner and breakfast very poor as well
- Attitude from the staff very bad. You will not feel welcomed.

We booked for two nights and we escaped after the first one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank AndreaZn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

We enjoy staying here 3 Nights feb. 2014. Our. ROM nr 3 is fantastic built, all in Wood, good bed wiith moskitonet, a special rustik bath room and lot og hot Water.
We had our Big breakfast om the balcony, White we saw twostep kinds og minkes in the treetops . We even saw two Big squirrels and Lots of birds . An. eagle cach a termik over the Valley.
Diner is frechly made and taste very god. The staff is kind and very helpfull.
We Will like to come again.
Bent and Britta, Denmark.

Room Tip: Tree house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We appreciate very much your most enterprising comments with regard to Ella Jungle Inn, its environment, the room you stayed in, the food you had and the hospitality of the staff who served you during your 3 day stay.
We most welcome Bent & Britta to “Ella Jungle Inn” when ever you visit Sri Lanka again.
Yours truly
Ella Jungle Inn
WILD HOLIDAYS (PVT) LTD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I visited the restaurant with my friends. The restaurant looks nice and the waiter on the entrance invited us to sit down. That was a big mistake.
I know, the biggest aim for Sri Lankans is their hospitality. This you will not find here definitely.
We ordered our lunch but nobody told us that the cook is not avaiable. So we waited nearly 45 minutes for a simple order usually prepared in minutes!
But this was not all. The food was terrible, the worst I ever tasted in Sri Lanka but very expensive!
The even not served what we ordered.
So I made a complaint. They only smiled. No excuse, no nothing. But they charged us the full price plus service charges and taxes.
The most dissappointed experience on our way to the highlands. I will never stop here again!
After we had a wonderful lunch nearby in a simple street restaurant with friendly people and wonderful food.
Beware of this place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate the opportunity given by you to clarify certain points which seem to be not accurate. Also, we deeply regret for not being able to meet your expectations, but assure you of immediate corrective action, where it deems necessary.
At the same time we were informed that you'll had enjoyed the food that was served as the entire quantity that had been served had been consumed as well with nothing left leftover.
Yours truly,

Ella Jung Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I went there today 19/01/2014 with my family and few of my foreign friends. we just ordered 1 mixed fried rice, 1 cheese omelet and 1 chicken & mushroom omelet. And i asked how long it will take to be ready the food and staff said 30 mins. we were starving at 2.50 and 30 mins were too long time for all of us.but we waited exactly 45 mins to get our meals and that was the most terrible meal i have ever had in my life. my swiss friend got her omelet without mushroom.but they added chicken bones instead of mushroom in it and she was very upset about that.and the mixed rice i ordered absolutely tasteless.there were only few sausages pieces and only 2 small prawns.there were so many people hanging around the restaurant but the staff member said their chef is away.then why the hell they open the restaurant and expecting guests ? customer service and food are terribly poor but their charges higher than other places. when we complained to the staff they didn't even apologized and i saw one member was checked the omelet to see the chick bones. only the view is good but food and customer service are not worth at all. never wanna be there again and we even told to the driver don't recommend this place to any one EVER!!! we don't want any apologies now but please take care of your customers and the service and food that you provide to them.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sue1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate the opportunity given by you to clarify certain points which seem to be not accurate. Also, we deeply regret for not being able to meet your expectations, but assure you of immediate corrective action, where it deems necessary.
It was our fault to have taken so much of time in the preperation of the food, nevertheless we were able to prepare a Large quantity as we were informed that you'll have been starving for a long time. We presume that this would have been the reason for the entire dishes served to be empty though the food had no good taste. There it appears that the hunger had overlooked the taste.
Yours truly
Ella Jungle Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stumbled across the Jungle Inn on our way from Mirissa to Ella. We had an amazing time staying in a beautiful tree house only accessible by a private suspension bridge. We saw monkeys from our balcony and enjoyed superb views. The staff were very attentive and cooked us an exceptional meal on request. Decent ride into Ella about 1,000 rupees in a tuk tuk but the views are great. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

We were very pleased to read your wonderful comments about our tree house, food and the service. Look forward to see both of you during your next visit to Sri Lanka as well. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay here and the views from the room were spectacular. We even enjoyed the variety of bugs (crickets and stick insects) and wildlife (bats and monkeys) around the hotel. The room and bathroom were enormous and the bed was comfortable. I do agree however that there is a need for a mosquito net over the bed.
The food was delicious and reasonably priced, though there was some minor misunderstandings with our food orders due to our lack of Sinhalese and the waiters English.....but not a huge issue and part of the adventure.
We enjoyed staying away from the hustle and bustle of Ella, but did get the local bus into town which was easy and quick and incredibly cheap.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beekeeper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

We were most pleased to read your good comments after spending two nights in our Resort. The mosquito net which you have found missing was fixed the very next day and we are extremly sorry if this had caused you any difficulty.
Now that you have enjoyed staying here, please do visit us again during your next trip to Sri Lanka. - Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Accommodations are good considering the location in a jungle. Friendly staff. Ella jungle Inn however is on the edge of the main road. Ella Jungle resort ran by the same owner is near the rapids deeper in the forest.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jeroen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Many thanks for your comments and for selecting Ella Jungle Inn to spend your holiday with your family.
Look forward to seeing you'll once again in the year 2014 as well.
We wish you'll all the very best for the year 2014 dawning after one more day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
151 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
4.1 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#8 of 125 in Ella
536 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
4.7 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#21 of 165 in Ella
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Jungle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Jungle Inn

Address: Karandagolla, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: £80 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ella Jungle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Ella Jungle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing