We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a jungle experience.”
Review of Ella Jungle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ella Jungle Inn
Ranked #116 of 163 Ella B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 February 2014

we stayed at Ella Jungle Inn from 4th til 6th Jan 2014. We had 2 rooms, one of them being the family apartment which is located across the road from the reception area and not within the jungle as the other rooms are. Our room was simply furnished with a loft which had 3 beds. The loft is like a covered verandah with matchstick blinds surrounding it to keep out the weather. The bathroom is partially exposed to the outside. We enjoyed our stay even though there was the threat of mosquitos and bugs as the mosquito nets kept them away from us. The food was good but limited, as we were not given a menu just a few options. You can take a tuk tuk 12ks into town if you want something different. We were given the opportunity to go on a jungle walk with an experienced staff member for the cost of $35 each. This was well worth it. We travelled by 4wd for 15min then went absailing, on the flying fox and the highropes before trekking for 2ks into the jungle to the top of a waterfall where we could swim in a beautiful serene waterhole at the top. Priceless. Our daughter and her boyfriend did not enjoy their room which was in the jungle as they had a lot more bugs, frogs lizards etc.

Room Tip: the family room gets noise from the road so maybe invest in earplugs. I find them great when travell...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

WILD HOLIDAYS thank you for your most enterprising comments and are certain that your comments are going to pave the path for many readers world wide to visit this road side Resort leading into a dense Jungle. It always provides attentive and friendly service, Delicious meals and heavenly comfort to all our Guests’. This marvelous place is embedded in Sri Lanka which is affectionately known world wide as the pearl of the Indian Ocean.
Yours truly
Ella Jungle Resort
WILD HOLIDAYS (PVT) LTD.
9th.March,2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Ella Jungle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

it was a nice surprise a bath room outside
people are kindly
we stay in Jungle in and not ressort
jungle in was easier to find we leave unawatana at 12 h and arrived at 7 to ella we book a taxi
be careful because we have to feed the taxi boy and t give him a bed

the breakfast was not inclued in the price and i think it s better to go to ella to begin the day with a nice kurd ella is interesting and also nice

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stelio r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It was terrible. Only good thing was that we could cancel our second night.
No hot water, dirty room, bad wifi, lots of bugs, no room for the driver. Worst hotel we had in Sri Lanka.... Definitely wouldn't go there again!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arjanrenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is Christina Li from China, my friends and i enjoy to live in this hotel every much. The service is really good and we also make friends with them. The food is also very good. Our room is a appartment that locate on the other side of the road. that is very good experiance

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

WILD HOLIDAYS thank you for your most enterprising comments and are certain that your comments are going to pave the path for many readers world wide to visit this road side Resort leading into a dense Jungle. It always provides attentive and friendly service, Delicious meals and heavenly comfort to all our Guests’. This marvelous place is embedded in Sri Lanka which is affectionately known world wide as the pearl of the Indian Ocean.
Yours truly
Ella Jungle Resort
WILD HOLIDAYS (PVT) LTD.
9th.March,2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Location and hotel structure are amazing.
However:
- Rooms not cleaned at all. Holes on the bed linen, dust everywhere and full of minor (and less minor) technical issues
- Service is very poor. A team of few of very un trained and young guys only
- Dinner and breakfast very poor as well
- Attitude from the staff very bad. You will not feel welcomed.

We booked for two nights and we escaped after the first one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank AndreaZn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We enjoy staying here 3 Nights feb. 2014. Our. ROM nr 3 is fantastic built, all in Wood, good bed wiith moskitonet, a special rustik bath room and lot og hot Water.
We had our Big breakfast om the balcony, White we saw twostep kinds og minkes in the treetops . We even saw two Big squirrels and Lots of birds . An. eagle cach a termik over the Valley.
Diner is frechly made and taste very god. The staff is kind and very helpfull.
We Will like to come again.
Bent and Britta, Denmark.

Room Tip: Tree house
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We appreciate very much your most enterprising comments with regard to Ella Jungle Inn, its environment, the room you stayed in, the food you had and the hospitality of the staff who served you during your 3 day stay.
We most welcome Bent & Britta to “Ella Jungle Inn” when ever you visit Sri Lanka again.
Yours truly
Ella Jungle Inn
WILD HOLIDAYS (PVT) LTD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I visited the restaurant with my friends. The restaurant looks nice and the waiter on the entrance invited us to sit down. That was a big mistake.
I know, the biggest aim for Sri Lankans is their hospitality. This you will not find here definitely.
We ordered our lunch but nobody told us that the cook is not avaiable. So we waited nearly 45 minutes for a simple order usually prepared in minutes!
But this was not all. The food was terrible, the worst I ever tasted in Sri Lanka but very expensive!
The even not served what we ordered.
So I made a complaint. They only smiled. No excuse, no nothing. But they charged us the full price plus service charges and taxes.
The most dissappointed experience on our way to the highlands. I will never stop here again!
After we had a wonderful lunch nearby in a simple street restaurant with friendly people and wonderful food.
Beware of this place!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appreciate the opportunity given by you to clarify certain points which seem to be not accurate. Also, we deeply regret for not being able to meet your expectations, but assure you of immediate corrective action, where it deems necessary.
At the same time we were informed that you'll had enjoyed the food that was served as the entire quantity that had been served had been consumed as well with nothing left leftover.
Yours truly,

Ella Jung Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 11 in Ella
149 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
0.9 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#7 of 121 in Ella
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ella Mount View Guest Inn
4.7 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 163 in Ella
157 reviews
4.4 mi away
Green Hill
Green Hill
#33 of 163 in Ella
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Jungle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Jungle Inn

Address: Karandagolla, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range: £78 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ella Jungle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ella Jungle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing