We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in Ella great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ella Jungle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ella Jungle Inn
Ranked #105 of 140 Ella B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stay in Ella great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We enjoyed staying at the jungle Inn. There was lots of wild life and tranquil surrounds. We loved the tree houses they were clean and easily accessible. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was very tasteful. We recommend staying here. It is located a little further out of Ella (10km approx) however it is easy to catch a Tuk Tuk back and forth.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 000leigh000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We always belive that guests comments to be of paramount importance to our business. Because it is first hand information and helps us to develop the business, where we appriciate your observations and are most thanful for the information that you have provided us all round.
Best regards,
Ella Jungle Inn,
WILD HOLIDAYS GROUP
27th.June,2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    23
    12
    15
    27
See reviews for
37
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Jungle Inn Ella offers stunning views. Over looking the hills of Ella made me feel a sense of serenity. The jungle chalets are decorated beautifully (could benefit from small touch ups as it is quite exposed to the elements) and the waterfall shower was fantastic.

The breakfast here with the coconut sambal was my favourite. Best of all was the service that Nishan and the other boys gave us. They were always smiling and we had a great day at the adventure park. They were extremely accommodating.

I will be recommending this hotel to any of my friends who head to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We appriciate your most valuable comments pertaining to the location, service and the quality of food that you were able to enjoy. Further more, recommending the place to your friends who intend to visit Sri Lanka.
Therefore what more could we expect from a happy guest....! other than to say, thank you ever so much for your nice and most encouraging words,
With best regards,
Ella Jungle Inn
WILD HOLIDAYS GROUP
27th.June,2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Ella Jungle Inn is 13km from Ella down the main valley road, the tuk tuk ride costs 1000 rupees and is quite quick. The hotel entrance and restaurant are next to the main road, which is not very busy but the rooms are all well away from the road down little forest paths, although one room is located across the road from the hotel. Our tree house unit was accessible by a little bridge and was completely isolated with breathtaking views of the valley, although a few trees were chopped down to make the view and left underneath the window. The plumber probably needs to return to fix the bathroom fittings which are worn and a little hard to operate. The hotel is very well built and well decorated and the price is very reasonable for the standard. The hotel staff took us to a private section of waterfall on their property which we were able to swim in all by ourselves.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view as some face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessapau t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you very much for being a good admirer of our location and also for notifying the small deficiencies we had in the washroom which has been already attended to.
We request you to drop by during your next visit to our beautiful Island.
Best regards,
Ella Jungle Inn
WILD HOLIDAYS GROUP
27th.June,2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We came to this gem by accident because my girlfriend had to go to the bathroom. After that we stayed for a coffe in there jungle treehouse office and discovered that they had rooms. They showed them to us and we were so fascinated by the natural design with a rock shower, open windows and the most amazing jungle view balcony that we changed all our plans and stayed for the night. It was like a loft with three floors. We loved that place. The monkeys woke us up when they were on the roof in the morning. We felt so relaxed and the breakfast on the balcony made us feel like in heaven. The staff is sooooo nice and friendly. An absolut must for nature lovers.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper room. They are nicer than the lower ones but more open so you can see a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We were very pleased to read your comments and were persuaded to do better with your grate observation during the stay with us. The most important of all is that, your visit to “Ella Jungle Inn” was not pre planned, it was just a “drop by” and it has been great for you to have got the feeling to inspire your mind to stay back and spend the night with no influence from our end. Thereafter to speak about of your really enjoyable stay by expressing it to the hilt with your own words “Just Wow”
Thank you very much and please drop by when ever you visit the Paradise Island.
Yours sincerely
Ella Jungle Inn
WILD HOLIDATS (PVT) LTD.
10th.May,2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Ella Jungle in with amazing secluded rooms in a totally private jungle setting. Views are spectacular. We did a day of adventure activities with our 3 kids and had a great time with zip lines, jumps into rock pools, rock slides all on a clean and beautiful environment. The staff all were helpfull, attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We appreciate your comments and are very pleased to hear that you’ll enjoyed the stay with us, (specially the 3 kids) and are bound to remember the adventure activities which you’ll performed for life long. The Hotel and its staff are bound to remember you’ll, specially the 3 kids. We request you to visit us once again for a much better experience during your next visit to Sri Lanka by which times the kids too will be grown and will be able to enjoy the waterfall’s activities much better.
Finally we must not forget to thank you for awarding us the highest rating of 5 stars for the Resort, its food & services.
Yours sincerely
Ella Jungle Resort
WILD HOLIDATS (PVT) LTD.
30th.April,2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This place is excellent.Tree house n the view from it..wow..feel like in heaven.. everyone with a smile n welcome us with a nice meal.in d morning we went down d hills n it was fantastic. Rever, padifield, jungle, birds, peacocks n lot of activities to do in there...climbings, rafting, bone fire...
Better go with a gang to do all d activities. ..

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rajitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Comments posted to wrong Resort..! This should go to "Ella Jungle Resort" and not to "Ella Jungle Inn"
Wild Holidays (Pvt) Ltd.
22nd.April, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at Ella Jungle Inn for three days and we did enjoy our stay.

The place is quite a stretch from Ella centre which is not a problem as long as you are aware of this. We stayed in a relatively big cabin with balcony, which was located a few hundred meters from the reception area, in what felt and actually was – the jungle. The views were fantastic!

Still, we felt a bit isolated in our cabin. On our arrival we were not given any information about the place, nor the activities that the hotel (surely) offered. This was a shame, considering this place's great potential. That being said, when asked, the staff was very helpful (I was sick during parts of my stay and was given a lot of help to get prescriptions from a doctor)

Another drawback was the tidiness of the place. Off course, one cannot expect sterile cleanness when you're in the jungle, but gecko faeces (?) in the tub and a bat roommate puts you off a bit..

The food was good :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank badeanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaminda P, Guest Relations Manager at Ella Jungle Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Many thanks for selecting "ELLA JUNGLE INN" to spend your holiday. But very sorry to hear that you'll had an additional room mate (a Bat ) This happens in a Jungle when you have the doors opened. However, if you had called the "Room Service" they would have send the fellow off and cleaned it once again to your complete satisfaction.
{Please do visit us again, when you next arrive in Sri Lanka.
Yours truly
WILD HOLIDAYS (PVT) LTD.
Ella Jungle Inn.
22nd.April, 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
28.7 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
28.7 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 10 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
28.5 mi away
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Hotel Heaven's Edge
#8 of 10 in Ella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Ella Jungle Resort
Ella Jungle Resort
#4 of 86 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
28.7 mi away
Ella's Edge Resort
Ella's Edge Resort
#27 of 140 in Ella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
28.4 mi away
Ella Nature View
Ella Nature View
#20 of 140 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ella Jungle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ella Jungle Inn

Property: Ella Jungle Inn
Address: Karandagolla, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ella Jungle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ella Jungle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing