We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This place is truly heaven! With views almost as good as the service you will not regret your stay at Heaven's Edge! Rooms were large, cool and clean, food was excellent and service was the best I experienced in Sri Lanka! Especially over the busy Christmas/New Years period.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kishan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    23
    28
    22
    16
See reviews for
45
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a stunning hotel set in the scenic Ella area. Not only is it overlooking numerous tea estates it is set amongst them!! If you are adventurous enough, as we were, we even traversed the rows lush green bushels down towards Ella township (less than 10minutes on foot)- its not as easy at looks, lots of laughs however! But you can also take the more conventional route!

I personally fell in love with the mesmerising "Rawana Rock" from which "Rawana Ella" (translated to: Rawana's Waterfall- linking into hindu mythology) originates.

The hotel itself is brand new and eating in the dining room is a truly heavenly experience. Absolutely divine in white marble, with large windows and views to match, it's hard to describe let alone beat. The service was impecable!!! I dont understand how the hospitality staff were trained, because they made me feel like a king at every meal. The polite and gentle owner was frequently present in the lobby and dining room checking if guests were enjoying their stay and I often over heard him going out of his way to make other guest as comfortable as possible. We however were very comfortable. A definite highlight was tiki touring to near by banderawala and seeing some real Sri Lankan Culture. There are numerous activities and treks which are easy to access from Ella township.

I am back in New Zealand now, but will return to Sri Lanka and especially to Heavens Edge because there is no other place that I found so tranquil and able to unwind and let my western stressors go!!

Bring a camera for some great panoramic shots!!

Keep up the good work!!

Aakash, Dunedin NZ

Room Tip: All rooms have superb views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aakash C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect stay here. THE views grom THE hotel are magnificent. Nice room, large balcony, good shower/bathroom. THE staf was very correct and service was great. Evry special wish we had was taken care for ommediately. Diner and breakfast was very Nice and fresh. I would recommandeer this hotel to everyone, onze of THE best 10 hotels we HD in Sri Lanka. Seeing earlier reviews they improved, because everything was perfect clean and we had new towels and blankets.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Overall a great experience. The staff was very welcoming and service-minded, and even though we wanted to switch dates and room-size due to change of travel-plans, there was no problem :-)
The view is amazing! Definately worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise-fly-low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This "hotel" was awful. It is run by untrained young male staff. The room itself was filthy - the floor looked like it had never been washed and was sticky and dirty. The bathroom had disgusting old dirty towels, no hair dryer no toiletries The glasses in the room were disgusting - looked like they had never been washed. There was one tiny dirty piece of soap. The room had no safe, no security lock on door and the door to the balcony did not lock - we asked for a key and was told there was none. There safe in the room. .We went to the Bar - and was told "you have to understand this hotel is not complete" there was no bar no restaurant. For dinner you are served an awful 3 course meal and breakfast egg and toast - all served by one very young man who seems to be the only person around. The photos on the web site look really good - don't be fooled this is nothing like that, Our room was better than others that we spoke to - they had wires hanging out the walls - this needs to be shut down until the building is complete and staff trained

Room Tip: There are no god rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thewilkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ella hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Had a good time with my family. Great hospitality, friendly staff, short distance to Ella town & Railway station. magnificent view towards Rawana waterfalls and Ella Gap,Great relaxing sensation in Heavens edge hotel.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are having great views and can see the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I appreciated the view. The hotel itself makes you feel you are in a hospital. And i dont mean the cleaness by saying that.
On the website it says there is free wifi in the room, but when you are there they try to charge you for this.
We wanted simple vegetable curry for dinner, and we got something completely different, we never ordered. Asking them why we get this food, we were told that this is what we ordered.
Perhaps i should mentioned that they had daily dinner buffet, and what we got was exactly what was served on the buffet. So they simply ignored our wish for the vegetable curry - i assume they did not wanted to have the extra effort for less money.
It was also a fight for the wifi in the room. First i was told that there is wifi only in the lobby, and on the room they charge for it. Then i showed them whats written on the website, and - surprise - i got the password for the wifi access on the room. Also the room we had looked different then what they show on the website or even here on tripadvisor.
Our room looked poor. No mosquitonet at all. Very small TV. Small room.
The beds are equiped with sheets only. No plankets! But in this spot in sri lanka it can get really cold, because its in the mountains. And so it was also that night. I was freezing and i was happy when the night was over. Right after the breakfast we cancelled the second night and decided to go to udawalawa one day earlier.
The heavens edgde hotel is not a place where I felt home or welcome... Unfortunately!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
0.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
1.4 mi away
98 Acres Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
94 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#3 of 11 in Ella
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakshmis Hotel
Lakshmis Hotel
#5 of 11 in Ella
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heaven's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heaven's Edge

Property: Hotel Heaven's Edge
Address: Kitalella Road | Ella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Heaven's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Heaven's Edge Ella is a 27 room property approved (pending) by Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority. Located in Ella, 11 km off the cooler climes of Bandarawela, it enjoys uniqueness with its own features. In close proximity to Ella Railway Station, Ella Gap, and Rawana falls, it has created a safe haven of comfort, blended with scenic beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Heaven's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing