We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRULY HEAVEN IN SRI LANKA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Heaven's Edge
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ella
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“TRULY HEAVEN IN SRI LANKA”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We arrived on the delayed train from Colombo on the evening of 4th April during heavy rain and no taxis were available outside the station to transport 11 of us to Heavens Edge.We therefore called the hotel and the owner very helpfully managed to arrange transport including his own car,despite the lack of warning that he would need to do so.
We had booked this hotel as it was able to accommodate our entire family of 11 people.None of us had previously visited the Ella area therefore first impressions were all important.From the final steep uphill drive to the hotel entrance we received a warm welcome.After being shown to our lovely spacious clean rooms and freshening up,our personally catered for dinner was waiting for us in the large imposing dining room. The owner personally supervised the waiting service in order to ensure that everybody got exactly what they wanted,including the kids.Throughout our stay at Heavens Edge the owner made it his business that all our various needs were well taken care of,to the extent that we were very sorry to leave,especially given the ideal climate.Upon being awakened with a nice cup of 'bed tea' which we enjoyed on our panoramic balcony or inside our beautifully appointed double aspect room.We have travelled extensively around the world for many years particularly within Sri Lanka,and would definitely say the owner's standard of service is second to none. Given the all round pleasure of being at Heavens Edge in breathtaking Ella , we are already planning a much longer return visit. With the anticipated addition of a spa and gym resort will be complete.
We had pre booked a second hotel for a further 3 nights for just the two of us which confirmed the general superiority of Heavens Edge.Anyone visiting Sri Lanka should make it a high priority to visit Ella and experience the non-necessity for heating or cooling,very unusual in a tropical country.!
'POOR' rating for the fitness centre only reflects the fact of non installation .

Room Tip: Corner room for a double aspect panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maleetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    23
    28
    22
    16
See reviews for
43
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a new hotel high on the hill side with fabulous views. All rooms have heavenly views, the manager is charming and competent, his staff are desperate to please and the chef produces excellent meals for a set menu.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tw1ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We really enjoyed our two days at Heaven's Edge. To call the view from the rooms breathtaking is an understatement. The hotel is new and there are a few areas still to be finished, but it is very nice as is and you can see as business picks up and they complete the hotel it really will be a resort. The owner is an exceptionally nice guy - he's there quite often, though I believe his son runs the place. We arrived LATE on our first night and they asked at check in if we wanted them to prepare anything for dinner as the kitchen was closing. The pool is beautiful (though a bit cold in Feb). They served excellent coffee to the room each morning (but you need to call and ask) and even had a hair dryer to loan to my wife. The only negative to our visit is that we found out at checkout that they only accept cash. We didn't have enough and it took an hour to run into town and hit the bank. Sri Lanka is still a developing country and these types of problems are not unusual, but was a bit disappointing given how excellent the rest of the service was. All in all, if you are headed to Ella for holiday, I'd strongly suggest Heaven Edge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafbizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Beautiful place!Good food n service!Friendly n helpful staff! Nice pool n view!Really clean!Just 5min to Ella town by tuk tuk Rs250-£1.20!Just think the curtains in the room should be thicker, cuz 7am the room's really bright!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

absolute beautiful view. the hotel is still not finished yet. the downside is the noise, make sure u book a room a far from the swimming pool as possible.
no wifi in the bedrooms.
Probably the worst breakfast and pineapple juice I had in sri lanka.
they seriously need to install better curtains in the rooms since the sun just blinds you in the morning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Objectively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Amazing hotel with stunning view. Easily the best location in Sri Lanka. Large bedrooms and bathrooms spotlessly clean.Spacious balcony Excellent Sri Lankan cuisine. Warm and friendly staff. Breath taking sunrise have to be seen to believe in natures glory on Heavens Edge. Can recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: All room have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surakshi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a beautifully designed hotel – with all the facilities - very calm and relaxing with amazing view. Climate was awesome. We had a totally pampering stay here with whole family. Our mistake was only staying two nights in the heavens edge.
The setting was breath taking - a beautiful hill all around covered with mist in the early morning, Rawana Ella is in eyesight - and the air felt so fresh. Sun rise through Ella gap was truly memorable.
The rooms were large and clean, enriched with all the facilities. Rooms had an amazing view which was so relaxing. Bathrooms were clean and modern. Staff had a great hospitality.
There was a lovely swimming pool and indoor playing area including pool table, video games etc. And the foods were absolutely delicious and plenty of it! We tried both Sri Lankan and Western dishes and all were excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyanNSithara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ella hotels
1.4 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 11 in Ella
1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mountain Heavens
4.0 mi away
Feelin'good Resort
Feelin'good Resort
#4 of 11 in Ella
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Secret Ella
The Secret Ella
#2 of 11 in Ella
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Vista
Hotel Alta Vista
#7 of 11 in Ella
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Country Comfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heaven's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heaven's Edge

Property: Hotel Heaven's Edge
Address: Kitalella Road | Ella, Ella 90090, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Uva Province > Ella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Heaven's Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Heaven's Edge Ella is a 27 room property approved (pending) by Sri Lanka Tourism Development Authority. Located in Ella, 11 km off the cooler climes of Bandarawela, it enjoys uniqueness with its own features. In close proximity to Ella Railway Station, Ella Gap, and Rawana falls, it has created a safe haven of comfort, blended with scenic beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Heaven's Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing