We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just another place of interest to enjoy in Ella”
other travellers have booked this property
Triple room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Triple room
Inside room inside room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Triple room
Inside room
inside room
outside
outside
bathroom
family room
Room
family room
Triple room
Double room / Single room
At dinner
Room
Single room / Double room
Room
Guests
Room
Room
Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
B and B -
1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Ella, Uva Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Ishthiyaq...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just another place of interest to enjoy in Ella”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Even though I booked this place for just a night out purpose, me and my team were attracted by this hotel very much. We thought to stay here for an extra day and just spend time in this hotel. Pleasant environment, kind staffs with professional attitudes. One more point I have to mention and admired is, they prepared us delicious varieties of Sri Lankan food even though the kitchen was closed and we ordered it late night. I am very thankful to the staffs regarding this. The hotel environment was like 'feel free at home'. We can just stay in that hotel and inside the corridor for whole day and spend time. Dust free and very clam place. Rooma were very big with 3 double beds. Very spacious and comfortable.
Prices were absolutely reasonable. Foods were delicious and not too much oily and hot. Tea and coffee were wonderful where they provided is in a pot rather than giving it in a cup, and we had more than once. I really like this approach.
The owner was very friendly, polite, kind and professional. I like his personality very much. Very helpful and frequently met us and tried to fulfill our needs. He speaks more than 3 languages I believe. So there won't be a problem for non English speaking foreigners.
I highly recommend this place to any people who comes as team
Or family. Best of luck

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay"
sincerely
Sonny & Sujatha
Grand Peak Hotel Ella.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Guesthouse in the centre of Ella”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed here for a couple of nights during our tour of Sri Lanka. A 5 minute walk from the train station and conveniently placed for all Ella has to offer.
The room itself was spacious and had 2 double beds and a private bathroom. The beds were reasonable, but my husband and I did find ourselves rolling into the middle as the night went on! Could do with a little updating, the fridge and tv didn't work and there wasn't enough plugs, but overall it did the job.
The bathroom was clean and the water was hot, so no complaints here.
The wifi was poor and even when we sat near the box it was almost impossible to get any! Ok for me, but my teenage daughter wasn't so impressed!
The breakfast was enormous! So much food we couldn't eat it all, and really really delicious.
If you want a budget stay in a beautiful part of Sri Lanka you won't go far wrong, would be great for backpackers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
“thank you for your review - I’ll take your views into consideration”
sincerely
Sonny D. Ranathunga
C E O
Grand Peak Hotel Ella.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeline...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best stay on trip”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was the only hotel of the 7 booked on our Sri Lanka trip that sent me a welcoming note a day before my arrival. The 3 earlier hotels enquired at check in if I had made payment. This hotel had reservations perfect.
Large beds in spacious rooms. Good bathroom. We were on ground floor so super convenient. Attentive manager who understood our requests. Breakfast generous with refills of hot milk for coffee and tea superb.
Just 2 doors away is an excellent restaurant and undoubtedly best dinner we enjoyed on trip. Thank you Ella Grand Peak!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
"" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay" Sonny.D.Ranathunga C E O Grand Peak Hotel Ella."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tharindu...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Hotel was nearby the Ella railway station as well as it was close to many attractions nearby. We got a family room - a room of 5 for Rs. 7500.00, which is cheaper than most of the places. Manager Sonny and the rest of the staff were friendly and helpful. Sonny can speak in Sinhala, English and I heard him speaking some French also. He gives you information about the attractions you can visit etc.

The room was spacious. There is a ceiling fan, sometimes it might get hot in the day time. The attached bathroom was clean and hot water is available. The beds are comfortable. There were 2 mosquito nets but they were not required since there were no mosquitoes. There are suntan chairs outside every room which I saw many relaxing. Wifi was reliable.

The breakfast was delicious. It includes freshly baked pancakes, eggs, toasts and juices.

We will visit again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay"
Sonny.D.Ranathunga
C E O
Grand Peak Hotel Ella.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra K
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Photos are deceptive”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Positives - The manager is bi-lingual, close to the railway station (only one among may other hotels in the area), free Wi-Fi, and fan in the room.

Needs improvement - Unfortunately, our experience at this hotel was not too grand. We were greeted by a cockroach and a lizard in the washroom. The room held an unpleasant odour (mostly like leaking toilets), the towels were stained so I'd recommend carrying your own towel, the lock on one of the window in the room was broken and this isn't very safe, the mosquito net had several holes in it - fortunately, there weren't too many mosquitoes when we visited, and one of the caretakers had a habit of continuously staring.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Dear TripAdvisor community .
This person had reserved 1 Triple Room and 1 Double Room for the 2 days of 8th & 9th April 2017. At their arrival they requested for a room similar to the triple , instead of the double which was a request that there was no way i could full fill according to our room categories & prices . About 2 hrs later they showed up again & asked to serve their Break fast at 6.00 A M. As the kitchen staff starts only at 7.00 Am i kindly explained them that i am unable to full fill their request but provided a quality take away Break Fast instead.All her allegations are false & far from truth.Last 258 Revives of our BOOKING.COM Customers only itself , will prove that all her allegations are totally false. Not a single guest of ours had made this sort of allegations in our decent past against GRAND PEAK HOTEL. As they had not come on an internet reservation they were free to check out our Hotel any time they wanted to. If they were not happy of our Hotel Rooms i wonder why they stayed & enjoyed the facilities of our Hotel for a further 2nd day.
Thanking you Sincerely
Sonny.D. Ranathunga
C E O
Grand Peak Hotel ELLA.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The owner, sonny, is so warm and welcoming and gave us great information about where to go in Ella. Clean rooms and beautiful garden. Great location! Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grijskalf
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We paid only 70€ for our familyroom for 5 persons. The delicious breakfast ( with freshly baked pancakes, eggs, toasts, juices...) was included. The owner speaks fluently french and english. He gave us the real official rate when we changed our money. Thanks for that.!! Nice place..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
" Thank you for your review _ it was great to have you stay"
sincerely
Sonny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing