We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Denied they had our booking” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chumphon Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chumphon Gardens
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Chumphon
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Denied they had our booking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I really do not like whinging but i'm sorry i have to write this review. We booked months in advance direct with the hotel for one night 8th January and another night 24th January 2012.
Never being to Chumphon before we couldn't find the hotel so we asked a motor bike taxi guy if he knew where it was. He asked around and was given directions. He kindly offered to show us where it was so we followed him. Luckily we had him as Chumphon was a bigger town than we thought it was. Arriving the bell boy was quick to take our luggage inside. The girls were shown a copy of our original booking and the hotels own email reply confirming our booking. They denied they had our booking and they denied it was their own hotel's email address. We were apparently disturbing their daily viewing of their local soap on the TV as they ignored our questions and continued to discuss the soap with the bellboy . We picked up our luggage and drove off the premises. Good luck to the next person who stays here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckyJellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    21
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
22
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel is located not so far from the train station with walking distance to some restaurants nearby. The plus points are reasonable price , clean , free wifi. We stayed only a night before taking another trip to Koh Tao which we can take a free shuttle bus of Lomprayah Catamaran to the pier easily ( just opposite the hotel ) We didn't try their breakfast since we needed to leave early morning to catch the ferry. For a short stay, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo_HBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

On the plus side, the hotel is well located within a ten minute walk from the train station and five minutes from Farang Bar (across the road), a shopping mall, seven-11 and food stalls. The room was clean and tidy and with a reasonably comfortable bed.
Less positive was the shower, which was a small trickle of lukewarm water and the general staff, none of whom could speak English.
Overall, good for a one night stopover on your travels as it is extremely cheap... Would not want to stay any longer!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedarieux
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

at 7;30 in the morning the staff started to move everything from the next room; table,chairs etc...at 9 am good new, you can go to try to sleep again, good job...
I do speak thai, at the reception, they just don't care people still expect to sleep, it's already 7;30 !!!

Room Tip: Don't be in a room next to the one the staff starts at 7;30 in the morning.to put all the table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruno r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chumphon hotels

Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Having made a visa run to Kawthaung in Myanmar, a sad and very hot place, we gave up on plans to take a train straight to Bangkok and opted for the Chumphon Gardens Hotel across Ta Tha Taphao from the Farang Bar and the office from which you catch a minivan to Ranong. The only fault I found in our room (less than $20 for two) was the light in the bathroom could have been placed better for shaving. With a couple of pictures on the walls it would have competed very well in the U.S. Breakfast was decent at "sixty bath."

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yala
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

No complaints whatsoever: clean, silent, tv, fridge, towels, free bottles of water, etc... but none of the free wifi spots worked! when I pointed this out to the staff, a (proper) reply was non-existent. In other words: nobody knew why it didn't work and the NOT-LOSING-FACE code of the thai receptionists resulted in some nervous laughing ( = laugh with a problem and the problem doesn't exist anymore). A bit disappointed about the service (to Non-Thai speaking customers). The latter is rather typical in Thailand where workers aren't always able (let alone skilled/trained) to communicate in English.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank rudibever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat Thani, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

I have stayed at the Chumpon Gardens hotel dozens of times since it first opened. Never had a problem and found it good value and centrally located.
The last time I stayed with girlfriend and daughter we had a very unpleasant experience. To sum it up, the bellboy stole some of our belongings and we caught him trying to run away from the premises with our property. I managed to physically catch him so took him back into the hotel and asked reception to call the police. The receptionist refused to call the police or a manager and the bellboy refused to identify himself. Eventually my girlfriend walked to the police station and brought them to the hotel. Big smiles all round from bellboy, reception staff and police, seems they were very familiar with each other(wonder why...). They refused to file a report, not even an apology, nothing. So we had no choice but to leave, not happy customers you might say!

Room Tip: Check the window lock is secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cavalrycross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chumphon hotels
1.4 mi away
Tanisa Resort
Tanisa Resort
#1 of 19 in Chumphon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
A-Te Chumphon Hotel
A-Te Chumphon Hotel
#2 of 19 in Chumphon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwong Chumphon Hotel
Suriwong Chumphon Hotel
#5 of 19 in Chumphon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chumphon Palace Hotel
Chumphon Palace Hotel
#13 of 19 in Chumphon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
7.8 mi away
Novotel Chumphon Beach Resort&Golf
0.0 mi away
Loft Mania Boutique Hotel
Loft Mania Boutique Hotel
#10 of 19 in Chumphon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumphon Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumphon Gardens

Property: Chumphon Gardens
Address: 66/1 Tha-tapao Road | Tha-tapao, Chumphon, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chumphon Province > Chumphon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Chumphon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chumphon Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located at the centre of Chumphon city, near the market and the business center area. All 68 standard rooms are tastefully furnished and equipped with standard contemporary amenities. We have Wi-Fi internet access in every room. There is a wide area of parking with security guard. Our conference room is large enough for 1200 people. We can arrange any conference, banquet and wedding party to meet your budget and needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chumphon Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing