We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Sonnenau”
Review of Apartment Sonnenau

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartment Sonnenau
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We booked a ski holiday for a group of 11 of us staying at the Sonnenau over New Year. It is located half way between the city centre and the Rosenalm ski station. We receive a warm welcome and the appartments were really lovely: clean, light and had a well equipped kitchen. One had a garden and one had a nice balcony. We ordered bread every morning for our breakfast and the local Spar is a five minute walk away. The ski bus stop is about 5-10 minute walk away and then I think the next stop on the bus is at the main station so perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and Josef was always on hand to offer advice or find information for us and he even took us to the ski lift on the first day and the train station on the last. If you are on a ski holiday I would maybe think about taking a locker at the lift station as you can walk there and back but in ski boots and after apres ski, this is a little far. Zell would be lovely in summer too and if we come again we will definitely go back to Sonnenau.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alw230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

These apartments are on the outskirts of Zell, about 10 minutes walk from the centre and 15 mins walk from the train station. There's a handy shortcut if you take the path along the river and then the underpass under the train track which brings you out very near the apartments, if you go by the main road it is a lot longer!
We stayed in a two-bed apartment which had all the facilities and kitchen equipment you could need. It was very clean and cosy. Some of the furnishings are a little dated but all in good condition.
The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful. He spoke very little english but luckily we had enough german to understand each other. He was very chatty and even drove us to the train station when we were leaving as it was pouring rain!
The only issue we had was that we were expecting beautiful views from the room balcony (as per the advertising for the apartments!) - all of the balconies are on the sides of the building that directly face other buildings only a few metres away, the nice views are on the side of the building that has the stairwells only.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank braystoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank 17dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank lars m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank eiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DBartlechner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MathiasW_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zell im Zillertal hotels
0.6 mi away
Apparthaus Hofer
Apparthaus Hofer
#3 of 38 in Zell im Zillertal
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Das Posthotel
Das Posthotel
#2 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
THERESA Wellness Geniesser Hotel
THERESA Wellness Geniesser Hotel
#1 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Alpenhof
Hotel Gasthof Alpenhof
#6 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lieblingsplatz, mein Tirolerhof
Lieblingsplatz, mein Tirolerhof
#3 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apart-Hotel-Garni Strasser
Apart-Hotel-Garni Strasser
#1 of 38 in Zell im Zillertal
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartment Sonnenau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartment Sonnenau

Address: Unterau 3, Zell im Zillertal 6280, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Zell im Zillertal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Zell im Zillertal
Price Range: £81 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartment Sonnenau 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartment Sonnenau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing