We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful snow vacation. Looking forward to summer visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
THERESA Wellness Geniesser Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Zell im Zillertal
Certificate of Excellence
Marble Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful snow vacation. Looking forward to summer visit”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had the most wonderful winter vacation of a lifetime. Facilities were wonderful. Staff was helpful and friendly. Weather was perfect. We needed a special meal for one party and they went out of their way on a daily basis to fill our needs. What a beautiful place and location.

Room Tip: A back room overlooking the pool is a great asset. We needed a special diet and they were very eage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herewegotraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
85
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We have been staying at hotel Theresa for 12 years. This is a very special family run hotel, with the emphasis on family. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The food is second to none. The Spa is immaculate as is the pool areas. The gym has every piece of equipment you need. The sauna area is very good, but can get busy and the descriptions of the saunas are only in Austrian.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

All the staff here are amazing, I cannot recommend them highly enough. We are here on honeymoon and the care and attention to detail has made this the absolute trip of a lifetime, exactly as it should be. We cannot wait to return with our children as we know they will love it too. Hotel Theresa, you are beyond stars, simply amazing!! Thank you so much :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraggle81678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here in February and had an amazing few days. The hotel has wonderful amenities and is very comfortable and clean. We were staying in one of the older rooms which could have benefitted from some updating (hence the 4* and not 5) but that wouldnt stop me from coming back. The pool indoor and out is also very large and clean. Service from all staff was second to none and food was outstanding. A truly magical place to spend a long weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a modernised one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarazilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Short version: luxurious, beautiful, great facilities, as-advertised, great spa, out-of-this-world food, tremendous value, extra clean, amazing amenities, breathtaking pools and views.
Longer version:
FACILITIES: it's even more beautiful than it appears on the outside. fantastic, expanse area including more seating and relaxing areas than I can count both inside and outside, "silent" areas where no talking or noise is allowed (loved this), many interesting spas and steam rooms, very nice weight room (included in price), at least three pools and a hot tub, all different temperatures and including a saltwater outdoor pool where you can sit in the bubbles and look at the Alps, great bar and bar service, many lounging seats and areas, free pool towels and robes provided, fantastic atmosphere all the way around, very clean, very attractive, well-decorated, beautiful aromas, free spa tea, coffees and juices always out at various areas, comfortable loungers by the pools. see the Web site, it's spot-on.
ROOM: beautiful, clean room with fridge, fantastic shower and bath, nice pillows, free water provided, painted, decorated ceiling and art chandeliers. loved it.
NO A/C: sometimes a bit warm but typical in Europe.
SCENERY: you'll never see anything more beautiful, in my opinion.. hotel is situated in scenic village with Alpine views all around!
FOOD: I can't say enough about the food. The food alone (included in the stay somehow) is worth more than we paid for the whole experience. 3 homemade meals a day provided with incredible choices of 5 course meals each night. Homemade breads of all sorts every day at all meals. Amazing, expansive breakfast buffet with choices of eggs, omelets, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffees, teas, bacon (best I've ever tasted), sausages, mueslix, cereal, fresh hand-squeezed juices and more. Lunch is self-serve (super convenient for returning from hikes or outings) until about 4pm... great, fresh salad, a different super tasty pasta each day, a choice of meat, soups, fresh bread, etc. Dinner is Stefan's amazing creations night after night. Choices each night of salad bar for everyone, several creative appetizers, amazing soups/juices, entrees that include meat or vegetarian or fish or low cal or pregnancy-recommended (great variety)-- deer, veal, all kinds of fresh vegetables used such as pumpkin, local touches such as flowers we would see on hikes that were then cooked into dishes and sorbets, then dessert creations with apricots, sorbets, cheeses, custards, all kinds of incredible choices. I don't know how they do this each night.
ADVENTURES: Every day, different free activities are offered. Hikes were generally more difficult than we thought they'd be but we loved them. We just found them to be pretty steep and fast. Stefan or Hari may say there's just 10 more minutes but that may mean another hour! Take bug spray from home and be sure they bring water (free at the front desk) and hiking poles (free, as well). Besides the hikes, there were morning and afternoon exercise and weight classes, not too difficult but nice, and also some paid excursions such as a great hike and lunch with the hotel family. TAKE MONEY with you even on the free hikes because one time we got there and needed to have 6 Euro to ride a ski lift way up a mountain to hike. Also there is usually a restaurant or facility on the way where you can buy a beer, water or a snack. We loved the hike. I believe we went approximately 6 miles or more the first hike (pretty steep, too).
OTHER ACTIVITIES: I don't know how they afford this, but they have a room full of fantastic bicycles you can take for free with helmets, you don't even have to say you're taking them, and you can ride in the mountains or on the bike path that goes forever along the river from town to town. These bikes were new and fantastically maintained. Very impressive. The weight room has treadmills, ellipticals, rowing machine, lots of opportunities. They arranged for us to have a paid excursion of learning to shoot a bow and arrow (I think it was $35 Euro) and they gave us a ride in the hotel van (free) to get there, and the archery folks gave us a ride back when it was over.
WEIRD SMELL: One day on our visit I should mention that the adjacent farm cut the grass and sprayed manure and made the hotel literally uninhabitable for almost a day. This came with no warning. There was sometimes a vague smell of cow pasture prior to this but the spray was so overwhelming, nobody could stay at the facility. Quickly following were hundreds, if not thousands of flies. They came in everywhere. Thank goodness it only lasted a day but it was pretty bad. If we had known it was coming, we would have planned an outing that day. I don't know if they do this once a season or once a week-- more likely something in between-- because nobody explained it. But even this would not deter us from returning...that's how much we liked this place.
SERVICE: We couldn't expect anything more of service. It was amazing. The housekeepers were immaculate, the family staff were so sweet and catered to our every need as best they could. The servers, chef, cooks, everybody was so friendly and well-meaning and helpful!
MASSAGE: I had only one massage because I wasn't that thrilled. The gentleman spoke no English but nobody asked what sort of massage we wanted or if we had problem areas, etc. He stood there waiting for me to disrobe as he watched and I had to motion for him to turn around (he did the same to my teenaged daughter and she gestured for him to leave the room while she disrobed--we thought it was a little odd he just stood there and looked at us, we've never had a masseuse do that before). The massage was ok but he spent most of the time on my thighs and I was mentally begging him to move on. He seemed disinterested. Didn't touch my feet, shoulders, neck... just did the same sort of motion over and over on my thighs. At some point I looked up and he'd walked out--I guess the massage was over! So this was not the best experience. My sister had a female masseuse and very much enjoyed her massage. The facility is beautiful, smells great, they sell a lot of terrific products.
HEATED CHAIRS IN QUIET ROOM: There are so many special touches, I can't mention them all but one of my favorite was the heated lounge chairs in the silent room. Wow!
CHAMPAGNE GREETING: I was very impressed that upon check-in they greeted us with a champagne welcome. Afterward, they gave us a quick tour, which was fantastic. Too many hotels rattle off a bunch of amenities, hand you a map and leave you. But Hotel Theresa spent the time to orient us, which was very helpful.
TRAIN: The train literally drops you at the front door. Very convenient. Every half hour the train comes back and can take you to Jenbach, the main station, for about 6 Euros. From there you can catch a train to Innsbruck (45 minutes), Munich, or most anywhere you want to go.
TOWN: The small town is charming, clean and there seems to be no crime. There is a Billa supermarket a few steps from the hotel, a great Italian restaurant called Quatro, banks, shops, etc (no place to do laundry).
TIPS: I would recommend tipping special staffers at the end of the visit and leaving a general tip on the bill upon checkout which is split among whoever the family splits it amongst.
STAFF: Loved Theresa and her family, her daughter, her daughter's daughter, her son Stefan (chef and hiking guide extraordinaire-- so patient and interesting on the herbal walk), Hari--also so patient on the hikes and good humored in teaching exercise. Emir the server, just perfect! Franz (sp?) an attentive, young bartender. Just to name a few. They were all so nice and helpful.
CULTURE: We were the only Americans there at the time and we actually liked this. One staffer says they only have about 2% Americans. It was fun for us to be immersed in this foreign culture. This is a very safe country... you can roam around without worry. Nobody ever tried to overcharge us or cheat us or anything like that in any of the towns we visited. Seems to be an honest, friendly part of the world.
TO SUM: we felt pampered, and we also felt like family. They made this visit one to remember and we will make a point to return someday.

Room Tip: Higher floor may have less cow pasture smell and flies at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mushroom1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Even the Theresa website is very nice, the real experience was much more than we expected!!!
:-) We really enjoyed our stay in Theresa - great staff, family atmosphere, beautiful wellness and the stunning nature. We hoghly recommend to visit in the spring for a relaxation holidays!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.-Petersburg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We - me and my family - stayed in Theresa hotel during the first decade of January 2013 - Russian new year and Christmas vacations. Everything was perfect: services, dishes, spa, spacious rooms, interior. All of our family members: 76 years old grandmama and a boy of 12 and certainly me and my lady really enjoyed the stay. We used to begin our day with swimming in one of the 3 pools in spa area, following with tasteful breakfast with great choice of dishes. Then we went skiing or walking in Zillertal arena or took a trip to some place of interest nearby (I should mention the ice caves in Hintertux gletcher - a "must visit" place ). A ski-bus stops just in front of the hotel and it takes less than 10 minutes to get to the Zell-am-Ziller ski lifts. Also the Zillertal railway station is just a 100 m from the hotel entrance, so that one may easely get to other skiing or shopping places of the beautiful Zillertal valley. After skiing we used to take spa procedures (great choice, programs carefully matched to different purposes). Exellent dinners were served at 19-00 a-la cart with tyrolean specialities and exotic, diet and vegetarian dishes accompanied by diligently chosen wines from the hotel's cellar. The hotel’s restaurant and kitchen serve all day long, so one may get snacks, soup and drinks being back from skiing at any time.
The hotel is run by the Eggar family and we felt the really family atmosphere in everything. The staff was very friendly and attentive to the tiniest details. Eggar family members took interest and attention to wishes and needs of every client. I'd like to spend another holidays in this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zell im Zillertal
0.2 mi away
Das Posthotel
Das Posthotel
#2 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
76 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stock Resort
Stock Resort
#1 of 10 in Finkenberg
512 reviews
16.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel der Wiesenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Sport- & Wellnesshotel Held
0.7 mi away
Ferienhotel Sonnenhof
Ferienhotel Sonnenhof
#5 of 10 in Zell im Zillertal
36 reviews
7.7 mi away
Alpina Zillertal
Alpina Zillertal
#1 of 11 in Fugen
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THERESA Wellness Geniesser Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THERESA Wellness Geniesser Hotel

Property: THERESA Wellness Geniesser Hotel
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 15, Zell im Zillertal 6280, Austria (Formerly THERESA Wellness Genießer Hotel)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Zell im Zillertal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Zell im Zillertal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — THERESA Wellness Geniesser Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-guarded secret of the Ziller ValleyDo you value quality and a finer lifestyle? Then you are certain to be excited about your stay at the THERESA, a wellness hotel located amid the enchanting mountains of the Ziller Valley. Enjoy the stylish, family atmosphere!Perfect hotel comforts, elegant rooms, a wellness area covering some 3500 m² and featuring 5 swimming pools and whirlpool, Laconium, Osman steam bath, a magical Maharaja Bath for two, Finnish sauna and much much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your THERESA Wellness Geniesser Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Theresa Hotel Zell Im Zillertal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing