We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Pirin Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pirin Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Sandanski
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is my third stay at this SPA hotel and much to my regret it has lost its value. If you are looking for a place to recover your energy and take your time at leisure as in a normal SPA, don't go there. It is anything but a five star SPA, kids jumping over you in the swimming pool, running with their trolleys over you in the restaurants, lobby everywhere. Nouvelle riche showing their money, branded clothes, and vehicles. Definitely not a place to go for common people. Good luck to the personnel working here.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the river are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mimoza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is the best hotel you can ring in whole country. Far from town. The hotel is rather new and well-maintained, but the service is still poor. Perfect SPA. Perfect pools. Strange guests from USSR times. WE stayed in the best suite they have which was good, but nothing very special. No view. Lack of power sockets, uncomfortable bed. Have to pay (!) for cappuccino during breakfast, which was strange itself - no many choices, totally empty plates 30 min before buffet closing. But, anyway, you can't ring something better than this property.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The location of the hotel is a 5-10 minutes drive from the city center. The hotel has a shuttle bus to take you there. If you have a car, like we did, be very careful. The police often stops cars with foreign plates, tells the drivers that they broke a law and there is a fine, which can go away if you pay them off, as they inform you.

The hotel has bellhops whose job apparently is to point you to the elevators.
I booked a double deluxe room, which was smart, because it was in the main building. The standard rooms are situated across the main building which means people going to the spa had to walk lightly dressed in the open air and during winter it can be cold.
The room was spacious with a balcony. The TV was large with wide screen. Unfortunately most of the programs are dubbed in Bulgarian. Nevertheless, there are a couple of documentary and sport channels in English, and occasionally you can find a movie which has not been dubbed.

Wi-Fi is reliable. However, the signal was low and I was on the second floor. Not sure how reliable it is if you are further up or away from the main building.
The air-condition works well and there is a thermostat to regulate it. It makes noise but if you are not noise sensitive you can get used to it.
The mini-bar is well equipped and the prices are fair. However, we were charged for an extra bottle of water that we did not take. In the end, the hotel subtracted it, but I would have preferred to avoid the hustle all-together. I would advise you to go to a super-market and get what you need. It is worth it, because you will also find known products (L’Oreal, Garnier, Veet etc.) in very low prices.
There is a safe in the room which I was unable to operate, but I did not try really hard as well.

The bathroom is spacious, with a bathtub and separate walk in shower, and good quality toiletries (albeit they only provide one toothbrush and one shower cap for a double room). They also provide slippers and bathrobes.

Breakfast is rich with enough options. Only minus is that there are only two choices of eggs, boiled and scrambled and they need a new recipe for the latter. Also don’t make the mistake to take anything from your plate to your room; they will charge you the full price of having breakfast in bed.
Dinner, like breakfast, was a buffet. In all honesty if it was not included in the package I had purchased, no way I would eat it. The food was not kept warm, did not taste very good, not enough vegetarian options, the menu was repetitive and sometimes I got the impression that yesterday’s food was re-warmed and re-served.
The wine list is decent with good prices. For some weird reason if you order a bottle of wine they do not leave it on your table. They keep it on the bar, away from you (??). The restaurant where breakfast and diner is served is not impressive and needs redecoration. Also make sure to go for breakfast before 9.15, because you might have a problem finding a seat. There is a second restaurant in the hotel which I have not tried.

The hotel is family friendly. They have day-care station where children can play while being supervised by the stuff. I was unfortunate to have on my floor a couple of families with many children whose parents thought it was ok to let them run noisily up and down the corridor outside the rooms, bang on the doors and yell until midnight. My relax package started being relaxing only after these people checked-out.

Hotel guests have free access to the Jacuzzi and the Sauna. Unfortunately there is only one Jacuzzi and it is always occupied. The saunas get overcrowded as well. There is an indoor pool, an outdoor pool with warm mineral water (spiced with a bit of chlorium) and a big outdoor pool (good for the summer).
There is a good variety of spa treatments. However, the execution of the treatments is average or sub-par. Another minus is that I was charged for a treatment I did not order (I had ordered a hair mask. The hairdresser also straightened my hair and charged me extra for it. I realized that what she had done was not part of the treatment when I saw the receipt.). I advise you to pay attention to the receipts they give you to sign. Also be aware that the treatments you will find on the hotel internet site are not the same with those actually offered.

The most basic problem was the language barrier. I find it unacceptable that not even the receptionists or the hotel manager could speak more than rudimentary English. I could not get explanations of what each treatment included, or why they had a different program from their site, or why they did not leave our bottle of wine on our table. I could not explain to them that there was no sign instructing not to take any food you had not finished to the room and I did not even attempt to explain that I was charged for something I had not ordered or complain about the noise on my floor. Each time I tried, what I got was a blank stare and a “not understand”. It was really frustrating, and although the stuff was not rude per se the fact that they would never address you or they would quickly shut you down due to the language barrier was annoying at best.

You can pay everything at the hotel with Euros and you can do the same with pretty much all the stores in the town, except for the super markets. The local stores will charge you 1 euro for 2 levs which is great. The hotel will take 1 euro for 1.90 levs. So it’s preferable to withdraw money from an ATM and pay the hotel and supermarkets in levs and use euros at the local stores.

Do not expect to do any sightseeing in the town. It is not a beautiful place. The Museum is closed and under reconstruction and there is an extensive EU funded restoration project going on regarding the Roman and Early Christian ruins that were discovered in the town, but it is far from over. You can take a walk in a large beautiful park in the town. Most stores can be found on Makedonia Street, which is a pedestrian street. If you have a car, take some time and drive to Melnik and the Rozhen Monastery. Beautiful nature (protected by Unesco), picturesque villages and many wineries you can visit.

To conclude, I will not be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building if you want to avoid being cold while walkin to/from the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pantina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great 5 star hotel type low-rise building with greenery, great atmosphere, excellent service and delicious food. The best hotel in Bulgaria and one of the best I've ever been . Spacious rooms with luxurious furnishings. No remarks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetoslav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We organized our usual summer friends' gathering in this hotel. We stayed 5 days with our two children, and we were accompanied by six other families, so we gathered 12 adults and 13 chirdren, aged from 2 to 16. The choice we made was perfect. Rooms are very spaceous and comfortable, espacially family suite in the aparthotel. Cleaning is impeccable, staff is frendly. Outsaide pools are excellent, the big one is suitable for swimming and playing, and chirdren love the small one. The inside pool and spa are also very good, though we hardly used them. Food from the buffet is good and variable. Restaurant is nice, with professional service and tasty food, though a bit overpriced. I can highly reccomend Pirin Park Hotel as one of the best hotels in Bulgaria.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Big rooms, great bathroom, spotless. The Spa center is great, especially the thermal pool and the saunas and of course the outdoor pool with hot water. The fitness center is also great, clean and with good equipment. The only thing that was not up to the 5 star standard was the food i.e the so called Mediterranean restaurant, not much too choose from...Maybe the other restaurant, i think they call it Balkan restaurant was better, although with loud folk music, but it was crowded all the time and impossible to make a reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms by the river, they're more private and quiet, and you can enjoy a drink on your balcony ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We've been there several times and every time we love it more and more! The best hotel in Bulgaria! The rooms are big and clean, the food is delicious, the staff is polite and the SPA center is a real SPA center!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bambina_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandanski
1.1 mi away
Interhotel Sandanski
Interhotel Sandanski
#1 of 14 in Sandanski
185 reviews
2.6 mi away
Panorama Hotel Sandanski
Panorama Hotel Sandanski
#9 of 14 in Sandanski
17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Vrach Hotel
Saint Vrach Hotel
#6 of 14 in Sandanski
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spa Hotel Sveti Nikola
Spa Hotel Sveti Nikola
#12 of 14 in Sandanski
23 reviews
19.3 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
19.3 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirin Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirin Park Hotel

Address: Hydrostroy 27, Sandanski 2800, Bulgaria
Region: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Sandanski
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Sandanski
Price Range: £71 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pirin Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandanski climatic and SPA resort is the best natural healing centre in Europe for treatment & prophylaxis of bronchial asthma. Pirin Park Hotel ***** in Sandanski offers year-round SPA tourism opportunities. It is also a wonderful place for business events, cultural, historical and religious tourism, hunting, eco and active mountain tourism activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pirin Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing