We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely night out”
Review of Joondalup Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Joondalup Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Connolly
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely night out”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We didn't stay at the Resort but were invited to dinner in Bistro 38 to a relatives birthday. We arrived very early so had a drink and watched some football in the Kangaroo Arms. We found it a lovely little bar and the staff were great. Buffet dinner in Bistro 38 was very nice, lots to choose from - whole salmon, oysters, prawn, musells squid plus salads, curries and roasted meats and casseroles. Plenty of sweets and cheese but the great thing was a flat white coffee!!! Often buffets just have filter coffee. The staff were really nice and we had a great evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    82
    37
    26
    13
See reviews for
50
65
3
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We didn't stay at this gorgeous hotel but we did play golf, dine and spend time at the bar on a Friday night. Wait staff here is very friendly, generous and attentive. They were quick to make suggestions for food and drink to us as visitors to Australia. An outdoor patio bar around the pool with a DJ or one man band made for a couple pleasant nights of music and drinks with friends.
On another night we enjoyed an outstanding meal prepared by chefs Pat and Kevin. If you do dine here ask for the duck or lamb. Again, fantastic service from Bianca and her staff of Brooke, Adam, Connor, Iqbal and more.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TowelboyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

this resort is beautiful and there are a lot of nice things about it. however we stayed overnight with a special deal and finding a few aspects about the stay negative, we wouldn't pay full price to stay again unless these things were improved. the positives are: great location with beautiful gardens and grounds overlooking the pool or golf course. even our room which overlooked the car park was ok because of all the trees creating a nice enough outlook. our queen room was big with 2 queen beds which suited us and our 2 children. the room was also very well maintained with lots of towels, toiletries and crockery etc. the bathroom was lovely and bed comfy. walking around the resort was relaxing because of the gardens and two storey walkways (having an almost tropical feel like some hotels overseas). the food in the restaurant was great and the service good. buffet breakfast was sufficient and yummy although the pastries weren't the best. the large pool with baby pool and spa is well designed and we as a young family enjoyed this part of our stay. now for the negatives: we asked for a non smoking room which seemed ok unless you want to sit out on your verandah as then you are surrounded by smokers in other rooms smoking on their balcony/ verandah. not great. the garden beds were littered with cigarette butts and even a beer bottle. the outside areas of the rooms and pool didn't seem to be as well maintained. dirty paving, dirty sun lounges and lots of bird poo (though id prefer bird poo over cigarette smoke any day). probably the worst part was finding a cigarette butt floating in the spa with tobacco through the water and a cigarette lighter in the pool. im guessing there just aren't enough staff around to keep check of all this as its not bali right? so even though we would stay there again for the nice parts, I wouldn't pay more than a special promotional price because of the yukky parts. its a shame a few things or disrespectful people can let such a beautiful place down.

Room Tip: our queen room for a family of 4 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meljabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I booked accomodation over the net and the photos looked great, and the price led me to believe the standard would be high, but unfortunately the place just didn't come close to meeting expectations.

The rooms are dated and tired looking, the room smelt musty and the outdoor furniture on the deck needed cleaning before you'd want to sit in it. The pool didn't look at all inviting, with crows feeding and splashing about in it. It looked a little green but to be fair that may have just been the colour that the bottom of it was painted.

We also found that the rooms are extremely noisy - wedding guests chose to have a party in the neighbouring rooms and we were pretty gracious till after midnight (you have to expect that I guess) but around midnight we rang reception (3 times over about 2 and a half hours), but no action seemed to be taken and the party eventually petered out around 3am when we were finally able to get to sleep. Not what you expect from a resort that touts itself as a restful place for relaxation.

We also dined in their Restaurant, Bistro 38. The food was OK, but if you order a steak, for example - that's pretty much all you get - a lump of steak - if you want a meal you actually have to order vegetables or a salad on the side - I thought this practice had died out long ago!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Connolly hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed one night a month ago and had a great time. We played a round of golf and then checked in to our ground level room. Check in was easy and quick and staff very helpful. The room is a motel style with no cooking facilities. We were lucky to get a room overlooking the golf course and pool. The bed is comfortable. The resort is well away from any roads so there is no traffic noise. There is a small patio with outdoor chairs and table at the back of each room, which is a very relaxing place to be with a glass of wine. There is also a large grassed area which leads down to the golf course. Plenty of shady trees as well. We did not have dinner at the resort but we did have breakfast which was superb. Downside of not eating at the resort is having to drive some distance to find a restaurant. If you enjoy playing on a world class golf course and coming back to a clean and comfy room then this is for you.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room overlooking the golf course (quite a few rooms overlook the carpark!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill_chris58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Nice resort, however the rooms need upgrading. Our view was of the carpark. We booked the standard room, which is the lowest option, however at a resort, we expected a little better. They are outdated. Shower had great water pressure.
Resort itself is lovely in a beautiful setting. Beautiful places to walk on the grounds. The breakfast was fantastic, probably the best I've had in a long time.
Volume from music was clashing on the Friday evening between the DJ outside, and the wedding in the marquee. Don't feel that was very considerate to the wedding party.
I would recommed this resort to others, however it has much room for improvement.

Room Tip: ask for your room to NOT face the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

It's such a breath-taking place and memorable one since we went there for the reception of my sister's wedding. The place is very refreshing and everything is almost perfect! We actually stayed here September 15, 2012 and I only made a review today. There's no option to choose the latter year.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harukasantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connolly
10.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
1.3 mi away
Joondalup City Hotel
Joondalup City Hotel
#4 of 4 in Joondalup
46 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mindarie
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
291 reviews
5.7 mi away
Quality Resort Sorrento Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joondalup Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joondalup Resort

Property: Joondalup Resort
Address: Country Club Blvd, Connolly, Joondalup, Western Australia 6027, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Joondalup > Connolly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Connolly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Joondalup Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Joondalup Resort offers an oasis of relaxation, perfect for a getaway, Play & Stay golf experience, corporate function or wedding. Tucked away and surrounded by natural bushland, you'll feel the escape of the daily hustle and bustle whilst still being just 25 minutes from Perth CBD, just 5 minutes from the ever evolving city of Joondalup and even less to the white sandy beaches of the Sunset Coast. A stay at Joondalup Resort invites you to enjoy one of 70 spacious accommodation rooms and suites, each with your own private balcony or courtyard. Relax by the outdoor lagoon style swimming pool and spa with a cocktail from Bistro 38, or stay active with our mini gym, tennis courts and of course, our world class 27 hole championship golf course, for which special discounted rates apply for hotel guests. The Resort invites groups of between 6 and 900 for private functions, corporate events, weddings and corporate golf days. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joondalup Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joondalup Hotel Joondalup

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing