We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, but lacks service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pissouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

After searching many reviews online my wife and I decided to book Columbia Beach Resort (CBR). We were slightly disappointed because we expected to be pampered the entire extended weekend. We have been to other beach resorts throughout the world with similar price points and expect a high level of service. Typically we would stay the entire weekend at the resort and you would find us at the pool or in our room. Unfortunately, CBR did not deliver in many ways and we ended visiting other beaches and restaurants during our stay. Here are some of our highlights and lowlights for the weekend...Pros: beautifully kept grounds, located in a secluded part of the island, Molton Brown bath products. Cons: inattentive staff (for example - bartenders at the pool never made rounds to help guests until I went to the front desk to make a suggestion), satisfactory restaurants, had to wait extended periods of time for golf cart transportation, spa gave our couples room to another guest and we had to wait 45 minutes, lots a kids at the pool. CBR maintains a beautiful resort but lacks in customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review; we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our service and kindly request, should you wish to return, that you contact us prior to your stay, as this is highly unusual and we would like to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Being a former GM of a hotel I was hoping for something special. What we got was extra special in every respect. Without doubt one of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere else in the world. The service was exceptional, the suite we stayed in was well appointed and spotlessly clean. Facilities in this hotel be it the bars, restaurants, spa or beach options were always well staffed. I would be very surprised if anyone would find anything wrong with what is a first class hotel.

Room Tip: Not on ground floor but preferably with either a pool view or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfsec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review, coming from a previous GM, we are truly honoured!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for many years now after a recommendation and we have never been disappointed. Usually in May then in August/September with family.
The rooms are wonderful, the bay and pool are without compare but the jewel in the crown is the staff. They are friendly, helpful and remember the guests year on year.
Our only negative is the evening meal. I appreciate the half board status is a free upgrade but it used to be a themed buffet every night, Cyprus, International, Mediterranean, etc. this visit it is just Buffet Night! All the dishes are so similar it could be the same ones every night.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RobFelpham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Many thanks for continuing to choose to stay with us every year! We have upgraded the buffet selection and there are changes on a nightly basis, and of course, we always offer a la carte too.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We got married in the chapel of the resort in May 2004 and this was our ten year anniversary present to ourselves to celebrate. With most accomodation in small buildings spread around the pool , The resort still retains the same charm. Each room is simply but tastefully and comfortably furnished, each in a different design but all to the same style.

The food is excellent, the staff were present and attentive but not intrusive or obsequious.

All still very much still the same high standard as ten years ago.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Many thanks for returning to our Resort for your 10 year anniversary, we hope to welcome you back for many more to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful the standard was fantastic and I would return over and over again X
The breakfast was amazing with plenty of selection and the local area offers lots of choice for evening meals X
The only criticism would be the pebble/shale beach but the pool area does help to make up for this X

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettynett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had the most wonderful stay in this hotel for 4 nights last month. I went to Cyprus for 7 nights and stayed 3 of them in the Londa in Limassol and both hotels were superb. This was a first for me travelling on my own, a bit apprehensive before I went but I absolutely loved pleasing myself and because the staff and people in the hotels were terrific I had a most relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Book a high floor pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us, at both our Resort and the Londa Hotel which we manage; we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at both hotels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our first visit to Cyprus, the Columbia Beach Hotel at Pissouri Bay was recommended to us by my brother. He's been four times and loves it. The hotel is very comfortable, the staff exceedingly friendly, a nice relaxed atmosphere envelops the whole place.

On my brothers recommendation we hired a car from Paphos Airport, AVIS was the best price and deal. Although the car had seen better days it did the job and ferried us all over the island.

The Columbia Beach Hotel was the perfect base for our holiday, we had planned sightseeing days visiting the Roman ruins at Kurion, a day investigating the Aphrodite myth, an exciting cross-border incursion into Northern Nicosia, plus I'd booked two days road cycling with the Bike Cyprus tour group based at the hotel. In addition we wanted to fit in a bit of walking, lazy lunches and hotel poolside chilling. We were able to do all that from the Columbia, and there is much more to do if you have the time and inclination. Or as quite a few of the guests seemed to be doing just relaxing in the pool area and beautiful gardens.

There is a wide range of ages amongst the guests at the hotel, from young families with children to quite a few retired folks, and everybody in between. Everyone we met was friendly and relaxed.

The food served at the hotel was good, breakfast excellent. The most delicious food served from the poolside kitchen, but that's probably because chips were available.

We will return to the Columbia Beach Hotel, it was just as good as the recommendations we had been given.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much for your great review, and to your brother for his recommendation! We look forward to welcoming you both back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pissouri
23.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 56 in Limassol
2,139 reviews
23.9 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
18.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#13 of 85 in Paphos
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hill View Hotel Apartments
24.8 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
21.7 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri

Address: Pissouri Bay | PO Box 54042, Pissouri 3779, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Pissouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pissouri
Price Range: £133 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Award winning Spa Resort on the south west coast of Cyprus, on the Bay of Pissouri. The architecture is derived from Cypriot roots of culture and tradition. The craftsmen used are all local and brought with them skills handed over through their generations. The Hotels merge harmoniously with the environment, like a chameleon, due to the local stone and wood used. The roofs are typical of the region. These "Reflections" are strongly felt in the interior warmth of the rooms and suites. Hebe Spa lies at the heart of the Resort with the 80m lagoon pool flowing right into it; Elemis is the main Spa range offered along with 5 treatment rooms, sauna, plunge pool, Jacuzzi, squash & tennis courts along with an aerobics hall and full activity program.Restaurants offer creative Mediterranean cuisines and Italian Gourmet, with fresh fish from the adjacent west waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri Hotel Pissouri
Columbia Beach Pissouri
Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing