We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Mediterranean Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pissouri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Columbia Beach Resort (Member of the Small Luxury Hotels SLH) is located on the shore of one of the most secluded beach fronts near the Limassol and Paphos Area. The hotel is a true oasis of calm and beauty with immaculate gardens and a magnificent range of suites. Go for the Sea View Suites for amazing views of the Mediterranean Sea. We stayed on a Panorama Sea View Suite that although a bit far from the central hotel services offered a truly unique view of the sea and great in-suite comforts and space. Note that the hotel is developed as a bungalow style resort, so be prepared to walk a lot in uncovered corridors and gardens. The pool grounds are spotless and the pool is one of the best I experienced in Cyprus, with the Four Seasons in Limassol the only one to compare. The service was friendly and attentive and the SPA is truly worth a visit. The Hotel offered a great American Style breakfast, as well as the choice of an In-Suite Continental Breakfast. The only part that I do find that the hotel is lacking is the restaurants on site that are only limited to an Italian and Greek Tavern (Although both of really good standard). I would expect more dining options for a resort of this caliber. For longer visits I would recommend a car rental for visiting the Paphos and Limassol area (approximately 35 km away). All in all a great 5 star-resort, for a relaxing beachfront holiday break.

Room Tip: All the hotels suites are of a good quality (Junior, Executive or Panorama), the sea view suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Peter431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for your great review and photos! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

First time going to the Columbia Beach and as we really needed a break we had built ourselves up to a frenzy of excitement before we went this hotel had a lot to live up to. Did it? Absolutely from the moment we walked in we felt all the stresses of life ebb away. Not sure how they do it but the hotel has a relaxed atmosphere, you wont be bothered by anyone, but you will also receive great service with all of them being attentive but discreet. If you want to know everything there is to know about the hotel, the staff or the village you need to be there when regular guests Stephen and Loretta are there. This lovely couple should be on commission (management take note!) they have been going for years love the place, the people and the village and you get caught up with their love for the place and also those other loyal Columbia visits (thinking Jane etc there are too many to mention). We loved the place so much we even looked at the possibility of returning in 2 weeks time! For information we went with one of our children (aged 7) and did the Bay Club which is their recent all inclusive addition I believe. Beware there is a lot on the food menu that isn't on the all inclusive and quite a lot of drinks to. I think they should chose to go all in on the all inclusive with the odd exception or stick with the half board. Having stayed there once we would probably go on half board so we could go out to eat I also think their food and drink is reasonably priced anyway. The food was good the quality of the burgers and kids menu was fab. The buffet was ok but not the standard or the variety you would hope for. That isn't a complaint as were not unhappy with any aspect of the holiday just some constructive feedback as we cannot wait to return next year with all three kids. A special shout out to Vlada who managed the impossible task of getting our son to swim he is a genius. This hotel is a real gem of a find. Thank you to you all those other holidaymakers (you know who you are), and every single member of staff we came into contact for making it so special we shall see you next year.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room no 601 but actually you are so seldom in the room that I wouldn't get to ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOWYATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank your for choosing to spend your family holiday at our Hotel! We very much appreciate your comments and constructive feedback and the Columbia team look forward to welcoming you all back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location and relaxing environment. However overrated mostly because of a non 5 star service provided.Starting from the 'where could I park my car' to get as an answer 'find a place your self,and to the complete lack of service at the beach front where you had to curry your towels from the pool area, make your sun bed, if any available, and get your drings from the nearby beach bar your self. This might be ok for a 3* hotel but unacceptable for a hotel of this class. Food quality was quite qood however not a big selection to choose from especially again to the very poor cake selection. The Italian restaurant was the star in matters of flavours but paying over 50 euro per person without the drings in my opinion was giving you a bad after tast at the end. At the end the seasonal personel was totally unexperienced and couldn't provite the expected service a fact very clear compared to other Ihotels I visit recently.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yiannis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, however, the title of your review and the content are rather contradictory, so kindly allow us to clarify your points:

Our Reception staff have been questioned and all stated that they would never answer a guest in this manner; our complimentary car park is available to all guests and this comment would be unnecessary. You can park anywhere within our car park or on the entrance road, at your discretion, or you can simply leave your car at the entrance and one of our porters will park it for you.

Should anyone need assistance placing their towel on their chosen sun-lounger, our pool boys are of course available to help everyone and there are also towels available at our Beach Bar.

Drinks and waiter service are provided, both at the Poseidon Swim Up Pool Bar and the Beach Bar; neither are self service.

We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied by our desserts, as we have our own in-house Pastry department with an award-winning Head Pastry Chef and this is the first complaint we have ever received about them.

Bacchus Italian Gourmet restaurant's price per person varies, depending on what is ordered, as with any restaurant.

With regards to your last point, we are unsure which staff members you mean as we do not separate our staff as "seasonal" and "permanent" as all are equally trained (we have our own academy) and in the case of a staff member being completely new, they wear a badge that states "Trainee" so that our guests are aware and can understand should the staff member be a little more inexperienced than other staff members. We all have to start somewhere! :)

We hope this has cleared everything up for you, but should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in the Columbia Beach Resort with our two daughters - one of the 5 months old, and the other 5 years old.
The resort is stunning. It has great views to the sea, our suite had a poolside view but we actually also enjoyed a seaview, the pools are very nice, and the resort lawn was so much fun. The resort is very spacious and quiet, you really feel this is a small luxury hotel.
The breakfast is very good, but the dinner (we stayed on half board basis) was a bit average. The beach is not really sand, the view of the sea is lovely but there isn't really any place for the kids to play.
This is a great hotel for kids, and our daughters had so much fun!
The only thing we have to remark is that the music being played from one of the restaurants until about 2230 is a bit noisy for a family with kids, and you can really hear the loud music in the room.
But all in all - a great hotel, we really had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank taliitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for choosing our Resort for your family holiday! We appreciate your comments and have taken them into account. We hope to welcome you all back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved the Columbia Beach Resort. We had room 222 which is an execuitve suite with panoramic view. It is extremely spacious and very, very well appointed. Molton Brown products are always a good sign. The Nespresso machine, and complimentary water each day, much appreciated. Wi fi was available everywhere, free of charge, which is great. It works superbly, which is not always the case. The swiming pool is wonderful at the Columbia Beach Resort, just about perfect in size and depth and never over busy. The lawned area just before the pebble beach is great for relaxing and the beach itself a delight. Food is great, breakfast stand out and all the staff and management welcoming, friendly and they care. An absolutely delightful hotel and an idyllic retreat.

Room Tip: Room 222, and neigbouring rooms have a tremendous view...and there are the buggy cars to whisk you b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dexter333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Many thanks for staying with us and for your glowing review! We hope to welcome you back to Pissouri Bay again, in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you want a good hotel in a quiet resort in Cyprus you would not be able to do much better than the Columbia Resort. Having said that, all the time we were there we had one of those difficult to express feelings that it wasn't quite 5* quality. Little things such as a 12-minute wait for a fried egg at breakfast, the 'fine dining' restaurant being Italian and therefore a lot of pasta, the 'no inflatables in the pool' rule being ignored by guests and staff not challenging it, and then there was the wedding...
It's undoubtedly the one referred to in recent review and don't get me wrong, I wish them all the best for their future and they looked fabulously happy but I was there on holiday too, and paying for it so to be woken at 6.30am by a man with a chainsaw trimming the palms outside my room and then cutting the grass to make the lawn look good for the wedding was more than a bit irritating. Add to that the reception, also right outside my window, went on until midnight before moving indoors and even when they moved the whole infrastructure - stage, disco, dining tables, chairs were dismantled and taken away, a process which went on until almost 2am, and our last day was a bit of a long one. We couldn't even eat in the fine dining restaurant because they closed it due to the wedding and obviously the garden was out of bounds from mid afternoon and all the sunbeds stacked on the promenade. So my advice is, before you book ask if there is a wedding on during your stay and if there is consider going somewhere else!
Otherwise it's a great resort hotel. We got an upgrade from a garden to poolside room at the time of booking and then, because our aircon failed when we arrived, we ended up in an executive beach front suite for our stay (which slightly backfired on the last night but hey-ho, the rest of the nights were good!) The pool and bar staff are superb, the food good and the rooms all come with fridges, nespresso machines, kettles and a kitchen sink. The Wifi is free and broadcast all over the resort, even reaching the beach which is outstanding and nearly worth the extra star.
I think that a truly 5* hotel would have been able to handle the wedding and the guests seamlessly with neither one inconveniencing the other. As it was it appeared that the (presumably) hideous total income from the wedding meant more to them that the more modest amounts paid by the 'normal' guests.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are cheaper but private and quiet while Poolside rooms more expensive but less private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us, for your review and great photos.

We appreciate your comments and have taken them on board, we would also like to inform you that we have reviewed our policy for weddings and functions and shall only be hosting weddings during 2015 that do not infringe on our other resident guests.

We would also like to clarify that we do not offer service and priority to guests according to the amount they pay; all guests receive the same service and are all equally important to us, whether a bride or a leisure guest.

We hope to welcome you back to Pissouri Bay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Columbia beach hotel is a well run hotel where the staff are polite unobtrusive and discreet. The hotel decor is in excellent order whilst the food is good but not exceptional. The resort itself is quiet and an excellent place to be if you just want to relax and watch the world go by. If you want to go further afield then a hire car is essential. In summary the hotel and resort are both highly recommended to those seeking a quiet break.

Thank Wmnick1405
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CBH-RManagement, Manager at Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review and recommendation! We hope to welcome you back to Pissouri Bay soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pissouri
23.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 56 in Limassol
2,172 reviews
23.9 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
18.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#13 of 84 in Paphos
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
18.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
21.8 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 56 in Limassol
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri

Address: Pissouri Bay | PO Box 54042, Pissouri 3779, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Pissouri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pissouri
Price Range: £143 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5* Award winning Spa Resort on the south west coast of Cyprus, on the Bay of Pissouri. The architecture is derived from Cypriot roots of culture and tradition. The craftsmen used are all local and brought with them skills handed over through their generations. The Hotels merge harmoniously with the environment, like a chameleon, due to the local stone and wood used. The roofs are typical of the region. These "Reflections" are strongly felt in the interior warmth of the rooms and suites. Hebe Spa lies at the heart of the Resort with the 80m lagoon pool flowing right into it; Elemis is the main Spa range offered along with 5 treatment rooms, sauna, plunge pool, Jacuzzi, squash & tennis courts along with an aerobics hall and full activity program.Restaurants offer creative Mediterranean cuisines and Italian Gourmet, with fresh fish from the adjacent west waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri Hotel Pissouri
Columbia Beach Pissouri
Columbia Beach Resort Pissouri Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing