We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
274
208
78
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
208
78
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering pissouri bay air con relaxing holiday hired a car per day shop on site plenty of sunbeds greek night rooms are basic cooking facilities pool area studio apartment rooms were cleaned beach shoes cleaned every day met some lovely people
Filter
Updating list...
519 - 524 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2009

As a family of four we were in two appartments, we knew this when we booked. We were 3 doors away from one another I thought we might have been next door. However one appartment which my husband and son (aged 9) shared had the towels changed 4 times however mine and my daughter (aged 10) were not changed at all. The bedding was not changed in 2 weeks and it was extremely hot so imagine sweating all night for two weeks. The rooms were in need of up-dating. The pool was lovely and the children loved it, however I did not agree with the rule of only drinks and food from the bar allowed by pool as these were served in glass and both my son and I had pieces of glass in our feet. I used to take a plastic bottle down for us to drink and no-one said anything. It was safer. We hired a car from Pafos and it was brought and collected from appartment. A very good deal booked on the internet. Noisy at night families drinking until 130 and talking and laughing loudly on their balconies, don't mind people enjoying themselves but a thought for others around you at night would not go a miss.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4topswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Hi

We have been going to Pissouri for 11 years, we have seen Hylatio develop in this time. So this year we thought we'd give it a try. Our apartment was one of the original one bedroom ones. It was a little tired around the edges, but clean and tidy never the less. It was cleaned and the beds made everyday bar one in our two week stay, sheets and towels were changed three times ( and plenty of spares left too , and a spare set of sheets ). We didnt rent the air con, but hired a fan ( as suggested by the girl on reception ) , at 2.50 euros a night this is a better option than forking out 12 euros a night for air con. ( tip - try it before you commit to the air con .....) .

The pool was clean and well kept, with plenty of sun beds ( and spares). The on site store is slightly dearer than those down the 'Jetty'. But on site stuff like that usually is, lets face it , you only use it for milk etc ...dont you ? .

Bar and restaurant .. we have our own 'bolt holes' we use in Pissouri . We didnt use the Ammos restaurant on site, and therefore I can't comment on them . From the price list the restaurant seemed expensive on some items, and about par on others. BEWARE , those that are expecting the " excellent food" of a couple of years ago , may be in for a disapointment. I believe that chef has left now ....

As for the Owner , Vlad. The fairest thing to say is he lacks any people skills. True we didnt use his ammenities, but basic civilities like ' Hello/ Morning / etc' cost nothing.
His final encounter with us ( and 6 other guests) came when waiting in the reception for the transfer coach to the airport. The coach arrived, we all grabbed our cases and made our way to the door. Vlad appeared from his office, at this you'd expect just a " Goodbye, save journey, hope to see you again etc "..... would you not ?....... apparently not, he brushed past us all without a " By you leave , kiss my a*se , or goodbye " . Odd little man , his attitude does seem to vary wildly dependant on how much you spend . After all said and done , I would use Hylatio again .

Other stuff ,

Car Hire ... Olympics is expensive , Tarantos ( up on Ampelhori ) or Select ( Down the 'Jetty' , next to the Black rock dive centre) have never let me down. You get the pink receipt, which states how much you've paid inc insurance etc , the terms and conditions etc, and therefore you are covered by Cypriot law. ( tip - you need Collision Damage waiver - Cypriot excesses are expensive.

The Village - when they talk of " the Village" they mean the one up the hill. It doesn't take 20 mins to walk , it takes just over ONE HOUR. If you are fit, or used to hill walking , fine. if not DO NOT ATTEMPT to walk to the village.

Final tip - best restaurant ? . The Ampelli , turn LEFT out of Hylatio , then second right ( walk up the hill ( past the shrine thingy) to the T junction . Turn left ( under the arch) , walk straight on , the AMPELLI is in front of you. Andreas and 'Jimmy' run a very tight ship. Good food, service, well worth the walk up the hill. :) . Takes about 10 mins to walk.

Pissouri never has been and hopefully never will be the 'budget' end of the holiday market. if you want English pub, Fish and chips, 3 courses for 13 euros , night clubs and puking in the streets , go to Aiya Napa .Pissouri isnt for you . Pissouri delivers what Vlad say he offers in his 'Welcome pack' ..a holiday with that personal touch . But unfortunetally these day it comes at a price.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahams_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

this was a last min holiday and was a bargain.the studio apartment was clean but the sofa bed was very lumpy, great power shower . it is a very quiet location, on our first week nearly everyone there had been before and it was not that welcoming as they seem to want to treat it as some private members club , got better in the second week when more new people arrived.The bar staff are great and the cocktails are fantastic.The owner did seem a bit grumpy but then the only thing he could hear was all the british visitors complaing at how expensive everything was and not spending any money at the bar.I would of spent more money at the bar restaurant if he had made a bit more of an effort.Car hire is essential, we hired from the rep then got a much better deal from perrys next to the co-op bank. The old village is great and the cyrpus night is a must.Walk along the beach and fined the agamenon cafe, its reasonablely priced and my son said it was the best kebab he had ever had,praise indeed..Cyprus is not cheap but shop around and there are some bargains, the grill house in the village does a fantastic range of dishes and is cheap, best pork chop of my life.I would go back to the hylatio and use this place as a base to see more of cyprus.We did pay for air conditioning but we expected to , we where charged 6 euros a night.all in all not a bad place they just need to encourage the new visitors a bit more

Date of stay: June 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornflake13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

In addition to travelling to long-haul destinations, this was our tenth consecutive year at Hylatio, and we shall be returning next year. We have watched Hylatio develop over the years from the small complex it was to begin with, to the larger completed version 3 or 4 years ago, and its expansion has been sympathetically undertaken and has never detracted from the pleasure of our time spent there. The owner, Vlad, has always been courteous and friendly, and nothing has ever been too much trouble. When Hylatio was much smaller he had more time to spend having fun with the guests. Perhaps some old reviews will give the impression this hasn't changed, but he and wife Maria now have to work very hard to ensure the smooth running of Hylatio. As for guests being ignored if they don't spend at the bar/restaurant, given that's where Vlad spends most of his time working, he will not have a chance to speak with you unless you put in the occasional appearance.

For those who think Pissouri too quiet – read the brochure before you travel. It makes it plain that you need a car to make the most of the area. Do your homework – seek out cheap car hire on the internet and book it before you travel. If you are simply looking for somewhere to chill by the pool for a week or two, and transport is not an issue, you can hardly do better than this location. Stunning pool, beautiful gardens and apartments and public areas kept spotless by the staff. If your idea of a good time is noise around the pool, boisterous behaviour and loud music 24/7, try Paphos or Limassol. Again, Olympic make it clear that's not what Hylatio or Pissouri is about, and amen to that.

We didn't find the mini-market any more expensive than others. It is a convenience store, and you will always pay slightly more than supermarket prices for the convenience whether at home or abroad. The food and drink were competitively priced compared with other restaurants in the locality. Yes, eating out would be cheaper in Paphos, but we found the resort bordering on a ghost town compared to other years, so competition for what trade exists is fierce there. Prices overall are up, but that's largely down to the exchange rate.

Congratulations to Vlad and Maria on maintaining a very high standard in a difficult year for trading. We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be of a high standard and the pricing fair. A large percentage of guests return, as we do, year after year. That should tell you this place is getting it right.

Caterx4 Suffolk

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JASHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Just back from Hylatio Tourist Village. Despite the lovely gardens and pool there is nothing else to recommend it. Owner never once even glanced at us, the other, mostly Romanian staff seem to take their lead from him. Air con, absolutely essential was E12 a day. Only ate there once and must say I have never had mousaka that was crunchy. with the tiniest bit of aubergine and so unpleasant I could only manage three or four spoonfuls. Greek salad had around a square inch of feta. It is essential to have a car but the rep- Olympic holidays seeks to organise these at around E140 for three days with a day thrown in 'free'. For one day it is E70! You will be warned off other companies. Don't for goodness sake have any disabilities or become ill. The rep didn't know where the hospital or health clinic was, only their own private doctor - kerchung. The pharmacy was closed for the week in the village. When in desperation I asked Olympics main office if they could contact our rep asking her to call at a pharmacy on her way in, I was rudely told she is not a messenger!
The shop on site, should be named the 'highwayman'. A four hundred yard taxi trip cost E7. You may think you have a bargain holiday but it will end up costing a great deal.
Service - nil, Humanity - minus zero, overall cost very high.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CotswoldsCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews