We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
Review of Chateau Les Roches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Les Roches
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A small but delightful chateau set on one side of a beautiful valley. The food was first class and the staff both attentive and courteous. The room was as one would expect from a chateau of this quality, but lacked enough clothes hanging/storage space: that is my only criticism.
Would welcome here again? Definitely!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IthacaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    38
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
124
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were staying in Mont St Jean and were so pleased to find the wonderful restaurant at Les Roches. We ate 2 evenings on the terrace - superb meals each time with attentive service. We only wished it was open more evenings as they were by far the best dinners we had in France during our 10 day stay. We highly recommend the beautiful chateau and hope to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66Nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This property is well worth the drive and the breakfasts are fantastic in the gorgeous dining hall. Immaculately appointed large rooms and the property was pristine, with vintage style keys (love!). We had the room overlooking the valley, I had the opportunity to capture a sunrise, simply stunning!! We would definitely stay there again. We were VERY Surprise to find this hotel in a Medieval Village and wanted to stay longer. Thank you for your hospitality!! We are still talking about this gorgeous place.

Room Tip: We booked the Enchanting Room View, was amazing! Stay for dinner and have bubbles for breakfast :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We travelled with an 10 months baby and were afraid to go to a chateau.... Tobias and Marco were amazing! We felt so welcome.... Our bedroom, the views, the food..... Everything perfect.
It was october and the city was kind of sleeping but the hotel was perfect. I recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lusendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Mont St Jean is one of those amazing hilltop villages that arise from nowhere in the middle of nowhere, where there is always an ancient village, castle and church perched on the top. No, Les Roches is not the ancient medieval pile of tumbledown but a chic painstaking restoration of a turn of the 19/20th centuries lush residence. It is magnificently and lovingly taken back to its former glory but with all the comforts of modern life plus more. Guests want for nothing, except in our case, when we booked we had not realised they did not cook on Wednesdays. However, a table was reserved for us in the village auberge 'La Médiévale where we enjoyed a superb meal.

The grounds invite a stroll into the depths of the craggy rocks at the back, where pergola and sensitively placed tables deliberately offer relaxed comfort.

The public rooms almost order guests to sit and enjoy the plump easy chairs. Our room was at the top of a monumental spiral staircase and possessed a D shaped full width window giving a panoramic southerly view of the valley's rolling hillside. Thoughtfully placed chairs enabled comfortable reflection of the panorama. Our ensuite lavish bathroom offered a great view through the 'round window' up towards the village.

Breakfast was a feast of perfection in the period furnished dining room. You name it, it was there and delicious.

Marco and Tobias; Gentlemen, thank you so much for everything. Next time we shall come for dinner.

Room Tip: A room with a view. Ask for the one with the D shaped window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and our three children booked the "Maison au Monument" through the kind hosts of Chateau Les a Roches. We enjoyed meeting Tobias, Marco, and their animals when we arrived to pick up the keys and were happy to be able to make a dinner reservation for a few hours later.

The hosts proposed a lovely aperitif, a special kit made with Apple and earl grey liqueur and a local bubbly white wine. They prepared pasta carbonara for our kids, one of their favorite dishes, which they wolfed down with gusto.

Andrew and I enjoyed scallops as a starter and delicious main dishes. The moelloeux au chocolat was the best I've had in ages, with a melted chocolate center that makes my mouth water every time I remember it.

Tobias was also able to point us in the direction of some nice spots to walk and sightsee. I would definitely return again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We had two overnight stops here on way to the alps and back for a skiing holiday and had excellent food. We also had very comfortable beds in beautiful bedrooms with ample cosmetics in the bathrooms. Friendly welcoming atmosphere. Our hosts were bilingual, obliging, charming and could do no more for us. The house wine was smooth and the best we have had all holiday. We would recommend this as a perfect stop over for couples or families.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DocSLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mont-Saint-Jean
4.2 mi away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
12.5 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
8.2 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel du Val Vert
Hotel du Val Vert
#1 of 1 in Creancey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
7.8 mi away
La Chouette qui Chante
La Chouette qui Chante
#2 of 3 in Saulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Les Roches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Les Roches

Property: Chateau Les Roches
Address: rue de Glanot, 21320 Mont-Saint-Jean, France (Formerly Les Roches Chambres d'Hotes)
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Mont-Saint-Jean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mont-Saint-Jean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tobias and Marco acquired Les Roches in 2003 and completely renovated the building for the purpose of creating a boutique B&B with five spacious bedrooms each unique and with private bathrooms and a junior suite. After 18 months of renovations, they opened for business in 2005 (also one of the great vintages for Burgundy wines!). Les Roches offer table d'hôte dinners five nights per week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Chateau Les Roches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Les Roches Hotel Mont-Saint-Jean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing