We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in the Loire countryside”
Review of La Levraudiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Levraudiere
Ranked #1 of 10 Cheverny B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home in the Loire countryside”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Sonia and Thierry run an immaculate B&B in their beautifully converted farmhouse, ideally situated to tour the Loire chateaux - Chambord, Cheverny, Chenonceaux, Blois etc- and medieval villages of the area.We stayed 4 nights and found them to be very concerned for their guests' welfare, and providing much information about the area and good places to eat. Communication was good. The room was a reasonable size and tastefully furnished and cleaned every day. The bed was particularly comfortable. Breakfasts were a communal affair around the large farmhouse table, with cereal, eggs, toast, coffee and Sonia's special hot treat. Table d'hote is available some nights of the week with prior booking. One suggestion - tea & coffee should be freely available for guests after tiring journeys. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at La Levraudiere during the Easter Period and we are 100% satisfied with everything.

The rooms are cosy and clean, breakfasts are fresh and delicious, and more importantly our host Sonia is kind, informative and welcoming. We also had great fun playing with her dog. We completely enjoyed our stay and will recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to the region. (do try the eggs served at breakfast from chickens fed by Sonia, and the toasts are great with Sonia's homemade jam).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed two nights, the room was comfortable, very tasteful and very well equipped (although there was a shortage of powerpoints for charging phones). Everything in the bathroom worked well.

However, we felt that there was a penny pinching approach. Although tea and coffee making facilities were available, there was no tea, coffee or milk, and we felt reprimanded when we asked for a tea bag. Breakfast seemed rather paltry - little pieces of baguette, then an omelettte to share, and, on the second morning, French toast to share - boht cooked dishes were small serves. While we would not have mind if there was not a hot component to breakfast, we would have appreciated more baguette, or even a cold boiled egg. Similarly there was a lovely open fire place where there had previously been a fire, but not whle we were there, so we did not feel comfortable in the lounge area and resorted to our own room.

The visitor tax as we paid came as an unexpected shock too, having not been asked for that at previous places we have stayed.

Sonia, the owner, seemed to be very keen to make the place attractive, but at the same time seemed to be trying save pennies at our expense.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BillThompson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEVRAUDIERE, Propriétaire at La Levraudiere, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
First of all, thank you for having stayed at La Levraudière. We have noted your suggestion to find a continental breakfast instead of a French breakfast.
Joint Union of the Pays des Châteaux introduced a visitor tax per night from the 1st January 2007. The collection of this tax occurs throughout the year. The product of this tax helps animation and promotion actions to strengthen the tourist attraction of the Pays des châteaux.
Not included in our prices, it appears on your availability request, and also on your booking confirmation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My family and I stayed at La Levraudiere for 3 nights recently, the owner, Sonia, was a very very nice French lady who always wanted to proactively make everything from the french experience, the food (I had breakfast there), the travel (the sight seeing around the area), the stay perfect for the travellers! She was very friendly to welcome the guests, she made it a nice place for the guests to hang out and exchange stories at the dining table during breakfast, she knew the area and the people in the area very well so that she always made very good recommendations on what is best to do according to the travellers' tastes. She made the guests felt very well looked after personally by a very experienced local.

The hotel itself was very beautiful and scenic. The rooms are very cosy, well furbished, nicely designed, and clean. They have a decent size garden so that you could relax there during the evening too.

At one point after I left La Levraudiere, Sonia actively contacted me as I left important personal belongings in her hotel. She was very responsible and offered to post my belongings back to me half way around the world. I really respect her sense of personal integrity. With such a good, caring person as the owner, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who goes to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

What a good place as a base for that part of the Loire Valley. Sonia could not have been more heplful; eg translating for us in English when we joined the other guests, all french speaking, for each full and varied breakfast. We did not have the chance to dine there as we had not thought to book that beforehand. However we did gather the talk at evening table was wholly in french so a chance to practice for those confident enough to try!
To relax of an evening, try the easy stroll round the grounds.
We stayed 2 nights only and should have made it more.

PS. That review from "starsmithcafe" could refer to Sonia's husband who speaks no english. I found him "precise" in his instructions on use of the shower and etc.. I gathered he welcomes guests when Sonia is out on an errand.

Room Tip: book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JoeCNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The owners, especially the wife, were the some of nicest French people I have met. Although my French is not great, she was sweet and friendly and spoke to me in French when I said I wanted to practice. She had great recommendations for places to eat and even arranged a private wine tasting for us one afternoon. The house is pretty and well-situated and the surrounding area is, of course, breath-taking. She had lovely homemade jams for us every morning too. A great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed there for three nights this week. The location and hotel is good. It's an excellent base to see Chervery, Chambord, Chaumont-sur-Loire, Chenanceau and Amboise.

However, the couple running this aren't nice and we felt quite uncomfortable. On a couple of times we were reprimanded. The door has a strange locking mechanism and one even we went out and when we got back we were spoken to angrily about not correctly locking the door. On another occasion, we tried to find a cork screw in a draw in the guest area where glasses etc were kept and got told off for that too. The rest of the time, we felt we had to do overtime being overly smiling to try to placate them.

Overall, we felt like we were staying in a strict boarding school...

Once we left we felt relaxed and realized how slightly stressed we had felt stung there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starsmithcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEVRAUDIERE, Propriétaire at La Levraudiere, responded to this review, 2 August 2016
You stayed in bed and breakfast La Levraudiere, which has never been an hotel. I found you and your boyfriend frisking in my personnal things. This kind of behaviour is unacceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheverny
1.0 mi away
Chateau du Breuil
Chateau du Breuil
#1 of 2 in Cheverny
3.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
1.8 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chateau de La Rozelle
Chateau de La Rozelle
#1 of 1 in Cellettes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Saint Hubert
Hotel Restaurant Saint Hubert
#2 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
20.8 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
22.3 mi away
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
Le Manoir Saint Thomas
#3 of 25 in Amboise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Levraudiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Levraudiere

Property: La Levraudiere
Address: 1 Chemin de la levraudiere, 41700 Cheverny, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Cheverny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cheverny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Bed and Breakfast in Cheverny, near the famous castle and golf.5 bedrooms including a master suite,a dining-room with a fireplace, a lounge with a piano, and 3 ha of tranquility in the garden to read, relax or picnic. Table d'hôtes on site. Free wifi. Private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Levraudiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing