We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful House and surrounds”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Descartes, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cvalen702...
Clydebank
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful House and surrounds”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Spent a lovely fortnight with friends in this gorgeous Gite. Furnished and equipped to a very high standard, the gardens and pool area were also well kept with a lot of tlc by the owners. Trevor and Sue were very accommodating, moving one of the single beds from the "dorm" to one of the other rooms upstairs with the double room so that we could all have a single bed each (all female party). The house/garden was big enough that we could all find our own space if required and at the same time be part of the company when preparing meals in the kitchen etc. Descartes had a couple of supermarkets which were amply stocked with everything we needed. Lots to see and do close by and again the Gite is well provisioned with information of the area. We made good use of the pool during the few sunny days that we got and made best use of the overcast days by visiting some Chateaux and towns. Would like to have spent more time in Amboise which we visited briefly at the end of a busy day out.
The Gite has obviously been a labour of love for Trevor and Sue and it was perfect for our party for the 2 weeks.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew g
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Gite we've had in France”
Reviewed 24 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

As the title says this is the best place we've had in France. Trevor and Sue are wonderful hosts with great knowledge that should be utilised. The place has everything you need. Plenty of space for everyone and plenty of things to do. I.E. games, satellite, playsyation 2 and dvd. We had all ages and the place suited all types. Look at Lebouchet.com for more info. All I will say is that the pictures really do not do it justice. It is much better in real life.
They cater for everyone. Everything you need is here. They even provide the Vouvray wine. Nothing is too much. The pool and the grounds are well maintained and looked after along with the Gite ( obviously).
There are lots of great places of interest all within a hours journey from the gite. Again all information on these are provided. Trevor and Sue have forgot nothing here they can even provide wine tours. I would definitely book this again without hesitation. They even provide a 7 bedded place next door that has Disabled accessability

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill B
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“These gites are simply superb and we would recommend them to anybody and everybody.”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second visit here, having stayed in the other gite Les Ecuries. Both gites are equally outstanding.
The main thing that stays with you after visiting these gites is the wonderful welcome and hospitality you get from the owners Trevor and Susan who seem to have the moto “nothing is too much trouble”.
The local village Abillie is a quick drive or god stroll away to buy delicious morning treats and freshly baked bread, and the small town of Decarts is a short drive away, where there are some lovely cafes and restaurants. In fact you don’t have to go far in any direction to find something interesting to see or do.
These gites are simply superb and we would recommend them to anybody and everybody.
Both gites are spacious, spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped. There is extra crockery and cutlery meaning no washing up after every meal – although there is a dishwasher so even this isn’t a hassle. All rooms especially the bedrooms are beautifully set out with some lovely furniture. The outdoor space is also well thought out with stunning gardens, although both gites share some common ground including the swimming pool they both feel very private.
Our children who were missing their own pets were soon involved with egg collection and goat feeding with Susan and fell in love with the family dogs and cats.
This is an amazing place to stay and we can’t wait to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam S
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Trevor and Sue amazing hosts. We loved it as soon as we arrived. So peaceful and quite easy access to all the chateaux and interesting points of interest. We had an amazing time and loved every moment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedrooms and living space is very comfortable
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horacesmu...
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“well equipped, comfortable and lovely pool”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very helpful owners made booking this site an easy and stress free experience. The site fulfilled our need for a downstairs bathroom, shower and bedroom for my disabled mum.Three extra bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs catered for the rest of the family. It was very warm whilst we were there but the 1st floor could be cooled by air conditioning units before bedtime and velux windows had blinds to keep out hot daytime sun.
The garden was private and peaceful and equipped with a large gazebo and garden table for eating outdoors which we did most evenings, making use of the charcoal barbeque.
The pool shared with the smaller gite was a pleasant temperature, very clean and provided with loungers and inflatable toys.
The kitchen had everything imaginable you could wish for and the open plan living area has a large table for meals - excellent for a large group.
There is a very good market in Descartes ( five minutes drive) on a Sunday morning and a decent sized supermarket. The family enjoyed a visit to the outdoor pool there, also kayaking and a very long, very expensive day at Futuroscope. For dining, we chose to stay in the garden as it was very hot although we did have decent pizzas one night from a takeaway in Descartes. A very restful week before returning to the UK to move house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely garden and pool
Liked least: Room with four beds meant child sharing with parents but we knew that when we booked.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathiLock
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Everything a family could want from a holiday home!”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Unfortunately the weather wasn't as nice as we had hoped ....... we would have been perfectly happy in and around the gite every day; enjoying the gardens and pool. There wasn't a thing we needed which wasn't provided..... very thoughtful of the owners. The rooms themselves were much larger than appeared on the website..... a lovely place for an extended family to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities
Liked least: wi-fi problems on last 2 days..... not in control of owners I believe
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P
Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing spot for a large group”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A total of 10 of us stayed for one week. We were there with 3 generations of the family, including 4 children under the age of 12. Our stay was outstanding. The property is spotless. Lots of room for everybody. A beautiful backyard to lounge in. The pool was a highlight for sure. This is one of those rare cases where the photos and information about the place were bang on. If anything, they don't do it justice.

We used the gite as our base for day trips. It was so nice to return to such a great place to relax at the end of the day. The owners were always nearby to help if needed but were never hovering and respected our privacy. Staying at such a great place contributed greatly to such an awesome holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and pool.
Liked least: We only stayed for a week!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing