We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An lovely small restaurant with quality fare.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Passe Muraille

Le Passe Muraille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent service, couldn't be faulted. Just right. Quiet ambience. Nice interior.Most importantly good food. I can recommend this restaurant. Went for the 1st time on my Birthday & we shall return.
La Souterraine, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An lovely small restaurant with quality fare.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We eat regularly at this restaurant, about four times a year, and are never really disappointed. Sometimes the 'Menus' have not changed much from our previous visit but there is always enough difference to satisfy. On the very odd occasion that the Menus do not appeal, there is always the 'carte'. The Menus range from the Menu du Jour at 12.5€, an interesting three course at 18€ to the five course degustation at 35€. The fare is typically French, with local produce & recipes often taking centre stage but occasionally surprising dishes such as this week's choice, Queue de lotte au curry, which almost tempted me. But this time we ate from the carte with a huge 400gr Entrecôte with a blue cheese sauce (doggy bag provided) & my personal favourite, Steak Tartare, prepared with care and skill at the table.
The Patron & his staff can never do enough to make sure that your visit will be memorable, in a good way of course. They are always attentive, without being in your face or hovering and arrive at the table when they are required and only then. We are happy enough to take friends and visitors to eat there, without any fear that they will be disappointed. In the summer, the terrace serves as a perfect place to eat and drink.
I must recommend this restaurant most highly, it is not Michelin starred, but offers a very high standard for a very reasonable price. It will be a favourite of ours for many years to come.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank le-dolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    48
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Lovely food served in a secluded terrace at the back of the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Local cuisine, reasonably priced. We ate there twice in three days, it was that good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mikey1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in calm surroundings.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Great service. Delicious food. Attention to detail was perfect. Can't recommend more highly. Eaten here twice & will certainly come back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachell0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not great. Order a la carte.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We ate here this evening, the 'menu traditional'. A three course meal each, and a bottle of wine. The price was fine after a stay in Paris, but the meal was a disappointment.

Our entrees were both ok (pie and veal) but mains were the problem. The trout was plain and without sauce with surprisingly overcooked rice and bain-marie carrots, the fondue (don't, it's potato wedges with a pot of melted Camembert, which the waiter did tell me when I asked about it prior to ordering, just not in those words) was not impressive. The desert of creme brûlée was really good, fantastic even.

I think that if you eat here the trick is not to order the menu. Go a la carte, the soup and the fillet of sole that others around us had looked really good and were well received, They made mayonnaise at the table to go with the sole. It was interesting that once we ordered no-one asked us how our meal was, or asked for any feedback, even when we paid for the bill we were not asked if we liked the food. We did not complain as there is no point once the meals are on the table, but as a warning to others, look around, see what the locals are eating, and if it looks good order that. The cheese platter looked fantastic.

Our waiter kindly suggested a wine which was very nice, I wonder if once we ordered a red with the fish they dismisses us as troglodytes. I hope not. The red was nice, and better than the food, creme brûlée excepted.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This restaurant represents French cuisine and service at its best. Very highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Passe Muraille also viewed

La Souterraine, Creuse
La Souterraine, Creuse
 
La Souterraine, Creuse
 

Been to Le Passe Muraille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing