We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Cavanac
Nearby Hotels
Le Domaine d'Auriac(Carcassonne Center)
US$424
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Carcassonne Aeroport(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premiere Classe Carcassonne(Carcassonne Center)
US$34
US$32
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fasthotel Carcassonne(Carcassonne Center)
US$56
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel l'Etoile(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KYRIAD CARCASSONNE - AEROPORT(Carcassonne Center)
US$99
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montsegur(Carcassonne Center)
US$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
156
158
31
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
158
31
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfoie grassnailsfaded elegancefour coursesthe fixed price menueuro pricesmall villageswimming poolpre dinner drinksfrench charman excellent restaurantfrench experienceperfect hoteltwo night stayrural francewalk in showerfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A real chateau, with large bedrooms, a little bit dark breakfast room.
Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit juices and delicious cheese and salami.
The restaurant was great. No menu in English, pitty!
Helpfull hotel staff, but no one speaks English. Pitty!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venezia_Livne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I have a holiday home about 30 mins from the chateau. We have eaten here many times and it never fails to deliver. We have stayed overnight sometimes as with the wine provided with the meal driving afterwards would not be an option. The set menu is so varied that the choice is wonderful. They seem to change the menu every year but keep some of the main dishes. A great venue for a special occasion. If its in the summer it is essential to book a table outside as it is too warm inside in high summer.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and each is very nice
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My French family has eaten at this restaurant many times over the years and I was lucky enough to join them in August for dinner. The food was a real treat and the atmosphere was great. For the starter I had pan fried foie gras with fig, followed by magret de canard and then creme brulee for dessert. I would highly recommend the restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keenou89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

After seeing the website and visiting the hotel, we were really impressed...by the website photographer. What looks like a little gem of French luxury turns out to be a rather overpriced victim of the passage of time. You can feel the individual springs and horsehair in the upholstery and the last time I heard water that noisy, I was overlooking the falls at Iguassu.
But I forgive them everything for the restaurant. I swear there were more people in there on a Thursday night in October than in the rest of the town, and with good reason. This was a quality offering. Five courses to satisfy the most discerning palatte with lobster, foie gras in fig sauce, suckling pig, langoustines, local cheeses. The wine would win no prizes, but then, as the receptionist put it, this is not Bordeaux. I could not possibly stay more than a night, as my liver would not take it, but if you like your hotels quirky and your food sublime, this could well be the place to stay when visiting Carcassonne

Stayed: October 2012
5  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on our way north, well worth a visit, and only 10 minutes by car to the centre of CARCASSONNE.

The Hotel is a big old house, the rooms all have names and i assume all a bit different, so if you intend to stay here , check out their web site to choose a room. they do a room only rate, with Breakfast an extra at 12 euro a head. rooms are big, with AC, but decorated with old style furniture, and tiled floors. we had the rose pompom room, wich had a great view over the vines at the rear of the Hotel.

A bottle of water in the room and a couple of real glasses would have been nice ( they had plastic glass things in a plastic sealed bag ).

the pool area and tennis courts were a little sad looking when we were there, it was the end of September and a bit out of season

we would go back again if we were in the area, it's just to far south to go more often.





The restaurant is the real star of this place, a great set menu for 45 euros a head, with 3 bottles of wine included, the red and rose were not to bad, but the white not to our taste. again look at the web site to see the menu, you will not be left wanting more, we sat there for 3 hours. Booking is a must.

we did ask reception for an iron, as my wife wanted to press a few things, we had ben touring around for over a week. but they said there was no iron, or house keeping service.

the Chateau is in a small village with no other bars or Restaurants.

Room Tip: check their web site to pick your room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bamboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews