We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Cavanac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau de Cavanac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavanac
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed in Chateau de Cavanac for two nights in June 2013. I was impressed with the room which was large, comfortable and clean (but very dark). The pool area was dirty and was not a place you would like to lounge around for a day.

The breakfast was an additional €12.00 per person which was very basic, limited fruit and the coffee was dreadful.

We booked dinner on the second night in the hotel restaurant. It was €45.00 per person including wine. The food was horrendous and the wine had to be sent back and replaced with a wine we had to purchase separately.

There seemed to be a shortage of staff so trying to get information or any type of help took a while!

For €180 per night there has to be better places to stay in Carcassone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    149
    26
    14
    14
See reviews for
58
203
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

First the good parts. Rooms pretty four poster beds etc comfortable, Breakfast fine. Dinner at 45 euro fine but you do need to like shellfish etc and there seemed next to nothing on offer for vegetarians. The wine that came with the meal was a bit on the rough side.
Now the down side
We had booked two nights at this Hotel, sadly, along with millions of other travellers we were delayed by the French air traffic controllers Strike (June 2013). Despite sending two emails to the hotel from the airport explaining we would be late(one of which was answered) when we finally arrived exhausted at 2,30 am we were unable to gain any access,phone went to answerphone etc. We had the option of sleeping in the car park or returning to find another Hotel in Carcasonne. We would have appreciated knowing in advance that they would not open late despite the strike.(other hotels in the area made contingency arrangements for their guests)No apology next day,just a shrug and we were charged a cancellation fee! No one offered to help find our room (confusing because they have flower names not numbers)or offered any help with luggage etc. The curtains on the four posters are held with aging velcro and fell on me in the night, giving quite a fright.
Worst of all we found ants crawling on the floor and traced these to an unemptied waste paper basket in the bedroom, which contained the remains of the previous occupants picnic supper. Complain? Given our previous experience we couldn't be bothered. They also seem to have a real issue with people drinking wine in their rooms...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandjudycrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is our second visit here, the last perhaps ten years ago. There has been no significant updates since our initial visit. The room was very basic but clean. However the restaurant is far superior to the hotel. The all inclusive menu at 45 euros is very good value. With all the local wine you can drink with a super meal chosen from a comprehensive menu. Probably would not stay here again but would definitely eat here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigaldevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

One can't help but wonder if one hasn't been transported to the age of the Three Musketeers upon entering the Chateau de Cavanac's rather gloomy lobby. I guess that's part of this hotel's charm although I'd improve the lighting. The rooms are spacious and so are the bathrooms but they tend toward the basic and could use some improvements like better towels and sound absorbing carpets. Otherwise the place is quiet and charming and the breakfasts generous with its home made delicacies. Dinner at the hotel is a must. The number of patrons coming from afar to have dinner at the hotel's restaurant is testimony to its quality.

Room Tip: The closer the room is to the lobby, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

A group of six of us (three couples) stayed here in May. It is in the true style of a chateau and you are getting a real taste of the French experience by staying here. All of our rooms were good, with typical french decor and antique furniture. The real highlight of the stay was a dinner in the evening which comprised 5 courses with wine inclusive. The wine is from their own vineyard and I found it perfectly drinkable (despite other reviews) In fact, we drank it all afternoon in the courtyard because one thing to be aware of is if you arrive mid-day (as we did) there is no option to get lunch or a snack, they just don't do that. There is no shop and no pub in the town so you are really on slim rations until dinner, which is a veritable feast! Breakfast is one of the best I have ever encountered on my visits to France. There is a nice pool area to lounge at, which we did for a few hours whilst waiting for our taxi. The whole experiance is very relaxing. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandHolidayqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

If you want to visit the medieval city of Carcassonne, which is well worth doing but very busy, then forget about staving in the city but sample a true French experience by staying in this unique hotel. The Chateau de Cavanac is situated in the small village of Cavanac which is approximately 5 kilometres from Carcassonne.
The chateau has been in the same family for many generations and has been very carefully converted into a hotel retaining many of its period features. The reception area is very impressive as are the bedrooms and public areas.
Our bedroom was enormous and had a canopied bed and a separate shower and bathroom. It was furnished in a style to complement the décor. The room was warm and very clean.
Our first experience of eating in the hotel was breakfast which was outstanding with a huge choice so there was something to suit everyone. Evening meals are taken in the old stables and although slightly expensive are excellent value and something not to be missed. The chateau has its own vineyard so three bottles of its own produced wine are waiting on the table. The menu is varied and the staff very friendly and attentive. The food is cooked to perfection. We had intended eating in the restaurant just one evening but could not resist returning the next evening in order to repeat the experience.
This is a very special place to stay and is not to be missed. Several of the staff speak English. As the chateau is some distance from Carcassonne it is useful to have a car to visit the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richrun24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Having stayed at this hotel many years ago, it was time to stay again and we weren't disappointed. Many improvemnts had taken place and the restaurant was even better with excellent food and service. Being a converted stable, the decor and atmosphere created a lot of fun.as did the colourful display of food. The menu was inclusive of unlimited wine.

We will stay again, particularly as there was very secure parking...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavanac
1.5 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Cavanac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Cavanac

Property: Chateau de Cavanac
Address: Rue Etienne Guizard, 11570 Cavanac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Cavanac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavanac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Cavanac 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chateau has been in the family for six generations and date back to XVII century. The bedrooms individually designed by the proprietors wife, are decorated and named after flowers, incorporating the charm of the past with today’s modern comfort. Some are available with four poster beds or dramatic canopies, and all have ,air conditioning, WIFI, and en suite bathrooms,There is an outdoor swimming pool with a sunshiny terrace, a tennis court and a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau de Cavanac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Cavanac Hotel Cavanac
Chateau De Hotel Cavanac
Cavanac Chateau De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing