We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It felt more like staying in someone's super Chateau, rather than a hotel and I mean that in a good way!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Cavanac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Cavanac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavanac
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“It felt more like staying in someone's super Chateau, rather than a hotel and I mean that in a good way!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

What a fabulous room, complete with half tester bed, marvellous huge shuttered windows, and enormous bathroom? It felt more like staying in someone's super Chateau, rather than a hotel and I mean that in a good way! Amazing dinner in the restaurant which was packed with locals as well as guests always a good sign. Had a quick dip in the beautiful swimming pool but it was so cold even for a hardened swimmer like me. 10 minutes to Carcassonne airport where we were picking up family en route for Spain. Would definitely recommend it .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannaflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    149
    27
    13
    14
See reviews for
58
204
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have no idea why this hotel is only 3 stars! Our room was big enough to hold a court ball in it, the staff were fantastic, the food was to die for, and everything about this place shouted style with a capital `S' - actually, that may be misleading and undervaluing it - what it actually has is CLASS! They just get it! Can't recommend it too highly, and only wish they would come and teach hoteliers in Oxfordshire a thing or two! Fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at Cavanac en route for other places. The rooms all have names and are decorated in a period style. Ours overlooked the courtyard and we could use either of two entrances/exits as the hotel forms three sides of a square. We discovered that there was a full sized billiard table this time, as well as a sauna. We were here on a Sunday night and the restaurant was open. A meal for €45 per head including an aperitif, white, rosé and red wine from their own vineyard is a great experience. We cannot go past the half lobster to start with, followed by a meli-melo of fruit de mer, and are spoilt for choice with the main course which offers lamb and beef grilled on a huge open grill. We liked the white wine well enough to purchase a couple of cases on leaving. The breakfast is very good as there is a good choice of fresh juices, cereals, bread and viennoiserie. Then there's cheese, cooked meats, eggs to boil and home made jam. My only caveat is that the swimming pool was empty of water - not that the weather was great, but I hope that people who expect to swim will enquire before they arrive if it is available for them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarB524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Food out of this world on both evenings we ate there. The menu offers great choice, superbly prepared and presented food, and is complemented by their own wine , which is excellent.
I would go there again in a breath!
Only negative comment is cleanliness.
The bedroom was generously proportioned, with a lovely king-size four poster. Spotless fine quality bed linen was perfect and the mattress supremely comfortable.
The bedroom had an armchair in it which was very stained and disgusting. The spacious bathroom had mouldy grouting on the tiles which further gave an impression of decay.
I love historic buildings and nice architecture. I love it even more when clean, and the hotel needs to address this matter They're stopping a beautifully atmospheric
hotel from being great !

Room Tip: All the rooms are named and individually themed. All to the same standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The restaurant here is really worth a visit, and it seemed sensible to stay here for two nights while exploring the area. We found the reception staff charming and helpful. The rooms are fine, if a little tired. No real complaints, except that the armchair in our bedroom, Couronne Imperiale, was very dirty and stained. This gave a bad impression. However, the four-poster bed was spotless and very comfortable - nice to find a hotel that has not converted to duvets! Electric heaters in the bedroom and bathroom were sufficient to keep the temperature comfortable. Although the weather was fine, we were too early in the season for the swimming pool, but I'm sure it is a lovely spot in the sunshine. Overall, our impression was good and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aveedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Well worth a visit. Offering rooms with individuality. Charming establishment offering comfortable and spacious rooms. Well maintained and clean. Have stayed here a few times and never been disappointed. Restaurant is excellent value. Menu 45€ includes aperitif, wine,etc. Foie gras, lobster, etc on menu so price more than correct.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Fabulous restaurant set in renovated buildings. The menu is incredibly good value at 45 euros for 4 courses including the Chateau's own wine. Between us we ate lobster, scallops, gambas, seafood gratin, suckling pig, fillet de boeuf, local goats cheese and honey - all of which were delicious. The service was perfect, we could not fault the evening. We also stayed at the hotel and enjoyed a beautiful room with a four poster bed and view over the courtyard.

Breakfast was also very good offering a superb selection - set again in a beautiful room in the hotel.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again and enjoy the delights of the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGoodLife2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavanac
1.7 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Cavanac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Cavanac

Property: Chateau de Cavanac
Address: Rue Etienne Guizard, 11570 Cavanac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Cavanac
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavanac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Cavanac 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chateau has been in the family for six generations and date back to XVII century. The bedrooms individually designed by the proprietors wife, are decorated and named after flowers, incorporating the charm of the past with today’s modern comfort. Some are available with four poster beds or dramatic canopies, and all have ,air conditioning, WIFI, and en suite bathrooms,There is an outdoor swimming pool with a sunshiny terrace, a tennis court and a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Cavanac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Cavanac Hotel Cavanac
Chateau De Hotel Cavanac
Cavanac Chateau De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing