We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Cavanac
Nearby Hotels
Le Domaine d'Auriac(Carcassonne Center)
US$430
US$394
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Budget Carcassonne Aeroport(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premiere Classe Carcassonne(Carcassonne Center)
US$34
US$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fasthotel Carcassonne(Carcassonne Center)
US$56
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KYRIAD CARCASSONNE - AEROPORT(Carcassonne Center)
US$98
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$202
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montsegur(Carcassonne Center)
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel l'Etoile(Carcassonne Center)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (375)
Filter reviews
375 results
Traveller rating
156
158
31
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
158
31
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfoie grassnailsfaded elegancefour coursesthe fixed price menueuro pricesmall villageswimming poolpre dinner drinksfrench charman excellent restaurantfrench experienceperfect hoteltwo night stayrural francewalk in showerfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 375 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent several nights here a few years ago and knew that we wanted to return, even if it was out of our way. We got the chance this past April and stayed two more nights. The 45euro dinner with wine included is still amazing. Portions seemed a little smaller, but still gluttonous and worth every penny. This time we opted to stay in the least expensive room, located in the old stable I think, which set a different tone than staying in the main building. It was not the exciting room we remembered. But we did look at other available rooms, more expensive, and they didn't look worth the money. Having traveled far more extensively through France, the Chateau just looks rustic. That said, dinner here is hard to beat. And although the bed appeared rustic as well, it was very comfortable.

As we were travelling for seven weeks, we had started finding our own breakfasts at local boulangeries, but we would have been better served eating at the Chateau as the location is quite remote and boulangeries are few and far between. Since we had already seen Carcassone on our previous visit, we went to St. Hilaire, home of the first sparkling wine, and from there we drove up the mountain to a local Blanquette winery. Very enjoyable day.

Sometimes its better not to repeat memorable stays, but although a little disappointed in the lodging, we are still happy with two lovely dinners.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thinktravelCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

What a fabulous room, complete with half tester bed, marvellous huge shuttered windows, and enormous bathroom? It felt more like staying in someone's super Chateau, rather than a hotel and I mean that in a good way! Amazing dinner in the restaurant which was packed with locals as well as guests always a good sign. Had a quick dip in the beautiful swimming pool but it was so cold even for a hardened swimmer like me. 10 minutes to Carcassonne airport where we were picking up family en route for Spain. Would definitely recommend it .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joannaflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have no idea why this hotel is only 3 stars! Our room was big enough to hold a court ball in it, the staff were fantastic, the food was to die for, and everything about this place shouted style with a capital `S' - actually, that may be misleading and undervaluing it - what it actually has is CLASS! They just get it! Can't recommend it too highly, and only wish they would come and teach hoteliers in Oxfordshire a thing or two! Fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at Cavanac en route for other places. The rooms all have names and are decorated in a period style. Ours overlooked the courtyard and we could use either of two entrances/exits as the hotel forms three sides of a square. We discovered that there was a full sized billiard table this time, as well as a sauna. We were here on a Sunday night and the restaurant was open. A meal for €45 per head including an aperitif, white, rosé and red wine from their own vineyard is a great experience. We cannot go past the half lobster to start with, followed by a meli-melo of fruit de mer, and are spoilt for choice with the main course which offers lamb and beef grilled on a huge open grill. We liked the white wine well enough to purchase a couple of cases on leaving. The breakfast is very good as there is a good choice of fresh juices, cereals, bread and viennoiserie. Then there's cheese, cooked meats, eggs to boil and home made jam. My only caveat is that the swimming pool was empty of water - not that the weather was great, but I hope that people who expect to swim will enquire before they arrive if it is available for them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarB524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Food out of this world on both evenings we ate there. The menu offers great choice, superbly prepared and presented food, and is complemented by their own wine , which is excellent.
I would go there again in a breath!
Only negative comment is cleanliness.
The bedroom was generously proportioned, with a lovely king-size four poster. Spotless fine quality bed linen was perfect and the mattress supremely comfortable.
The bedroom had an armchair in it which was very stained and disgusting. The spacious bathroom had mouldy grouting on the tiles which further gave an impression of decay.
I love historic buildings and nice architecture. I love it even more when clean, and the hotel needs to address this matter They're stopping a beautifully atmospheric
hotel from being great !

Room Tip: All the rooms are named and individually themed. All to the same standard.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddie1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews