We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Bliss!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Domaine de Palatz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine de Palatz
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Romantic Bliss!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

My partner and I had been looking for a quiet peaceful 2 weeks and a good friend recommended Domaine de Palatz and am I glad she did.
I was already blown away by the lovely views but the welcome we received on arrival just topped the begining of what i knew was going to be a nice holiday.
The room we stayed in was nicely and tastefully furnished with all functioning facilities such as fridge, tv, kettle with tea and coffee provided.
Having a french breakfast in the mornings freshly prepared with such good service was a joy and Iola always greeted us with a warm lovely smile. You just didn't see her as the owner after a while but a friend who shared her own experiences of life and travel and was more than happy to sit and listen to ours.
Although we were there as a couple, there was also a young family who seemed to be having just as much a good time as we were in the beautiful surroundings.
My partner and I felt really rested after our stay there and I know for a fact that the surroundings, the food, the room, the exceptional service from Iola made for this experience and will definately be back next year!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetchocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    16
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
38
41
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

Domaine de Palatz was recommended by another B & B that was full. What luck! We had the emerald and ruby rooms--beautiful, large and furnished and decorated like a home. The views looked out over vineyards, and off into the distant hills--wonderful. It was very hot during our stay so the AC was welcomed (and efficient!) and the pool was great. Strolling in the evening with the cicadas chirping was really enjoyable. This was just a delightful spot to stay!

Breakfast was good, served in a dining area off the main courtyard. Iola (the very nice owner) also has "gites", units with kitchens suitable for more people/longer stays. I didn't get to peek into one, but the sheltered large patio looked wonderful.

The location is about 20-25 minutes from Carcassonne (check the directions, it is off the beaten track), but close other small towns such as Caune Minervois just a few minutes away where we had a nice dinner. We didn't have much time to explore the area and I hope to come back to do that. It was so nice to be away from the crowds, out in the countryside in such lovely surroundings and accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuttgart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

For the first time travelling to the south of france on my own by car, i had no problem finding the place even late at night, thanks to a very efficient gps! Wow, i was taken by surprise when i entered that beautiful and romantic domaine building furnished so very special and exquisitely tasteful, furnitures having been designed and made by the owner, i just couldnt stop looking and gasping. i was very impressed by the entire antique-like thick stonewalls, falling in love immediately with the whole set-up and surrounding countryside.
I loved my room, huge comfortable bed, the whole arrangement spotless clean,
felt very much at ease and at home, being spoiled by IOLA, be it breakfast, or spontaneous lunch resp.dinner arrangement, when i didnt want to go out !!!
The only pity was, i couldnt stay but a few days, but i surely will be back for
longer time. I just couldnt imagine, that i would like a place so much, and above all,
the whole area full of history of the 'Catare people and others. Super!!
I will be back hopefully very soon with friends and, of course, I am recommending
and praising the place to all my friends who love the South of France ....

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrosvith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

I liked...
Large spacious and clean room (emerald), Large Bathroom
Tea making facilities -kettle and fridge
Nice breakfast
Gorgeous views and lovely picturesque location

I didn't like..
Not being able to find the place. I asked for a map or directions but was told 'everything you need is on the website but call me when you get to Laure Minervois'. It wasn't. Owner then didn't answer the phone. Spent half an hour driving round laure minervois with a very fed up toddler in the back seat of the car.
All the personal possessions in the bathroom cupboards, half used toiletries, hair curlers, tampons etc. very strange
No fresh milk for making tea/coffee (or milk of any kind), no sugar (only sweetner) and only two tea bags.
Waiting 15 minutes outside the locked dining room in the drizzling rain with other guests for breakfast which was supposed to be at 9am
Worst thing - travel cot for baby smelt of cigarettes.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calamityjane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

I stayed for 4 nights in the Domaine de Palatz run by Iola. The location of the property is ideal as it is in the countryside but not far from Carcassonne. I stayed in the "Emerald room". It was a spacious room, very tastefully furnished (Green theme) with all the facilities in the room. i.e TV, fridge, kettle. The bathroom was also very spacious.
The room and bathroom were spotless.
The breakfast was served in a dining room also very tastefully furnished and consisted of fruit, cereals, croissant, yoghourt, bread and home made jam, tea or coffee.
I found Iola very friendly and helpful. She made sure that I was happy in her place.
My only regret is that I did not stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dascleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

I had a fantastic stay at Domaine De Palatz where Iola the owner makes you feel most welcome and at home. The Domaine is fantastic with all the facilities available including a a lovely swimming pool and very fresh breakfasts (for B&B). Didn't have to ask for one thing all week and the owner was always on hand to provide useful advice and assistace. Treat the B&B/Gites and the local people/customs with respect and you will have a fantastic time. .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlGourock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

We really did not know what to expect, we had travelled through France staying at Sancerre, St Emilion, Fleurrie and condrieu. with mixed views
What a suprise! the buildings are wonderful, set in the country side overlooking vine yards, and then the biggest suprise of all was to be shown our room, the green room, I stay in many hotels on business but i have to say i have never stayed in a room like this, talk about attention to detail! every possible thing that you could wish for was there, and so tastefully decorated, and it was huge, the bathroom was bigger than most bedrooms we stayed in. The breakfast provided was more than adequate, with fresh fruit, cereal, breads and preserves, again presented very tastefully.
The owner Iola was very,very friendly and really could not do enough for you, even to the point of contacting a garage as our car refused to start on our departure. There were a lot of facilities that we did not use, like swimming pool, and a pool house to prepare and eat meals or bar b que, games room and even a small gym.
We were working to a busy wine shedule. i would have loved to have just relaxed by the pool, slap a steak on the barby and enjoy ----- would i go again ---------you bet i would

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgreatrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Laure-Minervois hotels
1.1 mi away
La Cigaline
La Cigaline
#2 of 6 in Laure-Minervois
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Le Massanous
#3 of 6 in Laure-Minervois
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau D'Argeres
Chateau D'Argeres
#6 of 6 in Laure-Minervois
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Palatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Palatz

Property: Domaine de Palatz
Address: D111, 11800 Laure-Minervois, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Laure-Minervois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Laure-Minervois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domaine de Palatz is a charming 17th Century country estate located in the heart of the wine growing area of the Minervois, Languedoc Roussillon, and offers luxurious accommodation on a Bed & Breakfast (B&B) and self catering basis. Recently renovated to exacting standards, the domaine retains much of its original rustic charm, and combines delightful period details with the modern amenities you would expect, all in spacious natural surrounds of 25 acres. There is a large private pool and summer kitchen, covered courtyard, ample parking facilities, numerous picnicking and BBQ areas, gardens, terraces and panoramic views. Surrounded by vineyards, this property is ideal for a peaceful, relaxing holiday. Local activities include fine dining, sightseeing, watersports, fishing, walking, horse riding, golf, or simply lazing in the Languedoc sun. Easily accessible by plane, train or car, Domaine de Palatz is one hour from the coast, 20 mins from the airport and medieval town of Carcassonne, and just a breathe away from countless cultural and historical sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine de Palatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing