We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domaine de Palatz
Nearby Hotels
Hotel d'Alibert(Caunes-Minervois)
US$111
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel La Marbrerie(Caunes-Minervois)
US$122
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Top du Roulier(Capendu)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin(Carcassonne Center)
US$149
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
hotelF1 Carcassonne(Carcassonne Center)
US$38
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Audotel(Carcassonne Center)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveller rating
98
17
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
17
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrural francehonesty barfabulous placelovely pooldenisegitesprivacysonos
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 119 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We have recently returned from a wonderful stay with close family at Domaine de Palatz. Our stay was a much appreciated and very generous wedding gift.
We very much like the rural location and peacefulness of this beautiful area.The property has been tastefully restored to offer all modern amenities whilst retaining an atmosphere of rural France. We stayed in the Emerald Room which has a wonderful view through a round window of the vineyards beyond.
The room is beautifully furnished and very comfortable with a huge adjacent en suite bathroom and separate toilet.The salt water pool was spotlessly clean with plenty of sunbeds around. The location is very quiet and peaceful. Our hostess Iola gave us a wonderful welcome and attended to our every need.On arrival the shops were closed so she immediatley made us a lovely lunch .
We would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a peaceful holiday away from it all. We founds lots to do within a short drive and intend to return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wylliecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

When you reserve hotel, gite, whatever using internet you may worry that pictures are better than reality. Not in this case - domaine de palatz looks better although on the pictures is really nice. We were in Lavender - the smallest gite but it occurs bigger than described: logia was a nice living room connected by stairs with quite big sleeping room on the next floor. Kitchen was very well equipped so we could decide to go to restaurant or to stay home. Also swimming pool oversized our expectations - clean, enough deep and big, with umbrellas and sunbeds. There is a decorated patio, grill area... As our neighbours said: everything is lovely here.
We were also satisfied by location: in the countryside, 2 km from the nearest city but with car very close to several attractions like castles, beaches, mountains.... You need just decide what do you want to do: see great catars' castles, visit nice cities, go on the seaside with wide sandy beaches or to the mountains. There is also great choice of vineyards and restaurants to visit in the neighbourhood. Moreover, it is quite close to Andorra and to Spain. Or you can just stay at place and enjoy it :-) All possibilities are good.
Iola, the owner is a very friendly and helpful person. She suggested us very nice restaurant in Trebes and helped to make reservation as we are not French speaking. We really enjoyed this!
We spend excellent two weeks here and felt like home. We had long way to this place as from Poland we had app. 2 thousands km but it was worth to do!

As at the end small hint for those who are worry how to find domain de palatz: there is a map close to the church in Laure-Minervois and there you will find direction to area called Palas; after 2 km you are there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarzyna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is the second time we have visited Iola and we had a fabulous time. Iola is a fantastic host and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was any trouble and she was happy to book restaurants for us and share a bottle of wine with us all. It is in a great location for exploring lots of areas such as :La Cite, La Grasse, the Minervois Gorge and there are lots of little villages nearby where you can experience truly authentic French cuisine at very reasonable prices. It is also only a 20 min drive from the airport so is easy to get to and great for a mini-break.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greaves39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

My partner and I had been looking for a quiet peaceful 2 weeks and a good friend recommended Domaine de Palatz and am I glad she did.
I was already blown away by the lovely views but the welcome we received on arrival just topped the begining of what i knew was going to be a nice holiday.
The room we stayed in was nicely and tastefully furnished with all functioning facilities such as fridge, tv, kettle with tea and coffee provided.
Having a french breakfast in the mornings freshly prepared with such good service was a joy and Iola always greeted us with a warm lovely smile. You just didn't see her as the owner after a while but a friend who shared her own experiences of life and travel and was more than happy to sit and listen to ours.
Although we were there as a couple, there was also a young family who seemed to be having just as much a good time as we were in the beautiful surroundings.
My partner and I felt really rested after our stay there and I know for a fact that the surroundings, the food, the room, the exceptional service from Iola made for this experience and will definately be back next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetchocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Domaine de Palatz was recommended by another B & B that was full. What luck! We had the emerald and ruby rooms--beautiful, large and furnished and decorated like a home. The views looked out over vineyards, and off into the distant hills--wonderful. It was very hot during our stay so the AC was welcomed (and efficient!) and the pool was great. Strolling in the evening with the cicadas chirping was really enjoyable. This was just a delightful spot to stay!

Breakfast was good, served in a dining area off the main courtyard. Iola (the very nice owner) also has "gites", units with kitchens suitable for more people/longer stays. I didn't get to peek into one, but the sheltered large patio looked wonderful.

The location is about 20-25 minutes from Carcassonne (check the directions, it is off the beaten track), but close other small towns such as Caune Minervois just a few minutes away where we had a nice dinner. We didn't have much time to explore the area and I hope to come back to do that. It was so nice to be away from the crowds, out in the countryside in such lovely surroundings and accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlendaleJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews