We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvelous Mario, Fantastic La Fauvelle!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domaine La Fauvelle
Ranked #1 of 5 Thuir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marvelous Mario, Fantastic La Fauvelle!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A group of 6 friends stayed here while attending a nearby retreat. We could not have been happier! The environment is beautiful, well kept and peaceful. The rooms are "hospital clean" with comfortable, modern decor. Beds are supremely comfortable, having firm, supportive mattresses. Internet is fast and reliable. Breakfast is varied, fortifying and delicious. Touches of beauty dot the property: fresh flowers in vases, trees and potted plants on the patio, an aquamarine pool, plus uncluttered and nicely appointed interiors.


Besides these qualities, the best thing about this hotel is Mario: he does everything in his power to make "his" guests feel welcomed, relaxed and well cared for. He's a gentleman, multilingual, funny & fun. Treat yourself to a "little bit of heaven" by staying here.

Room Tip: If you eat dinner in Thuir, ask Mario for suggestions and booking of a reservation. The restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryRuthQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    22
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
40
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Friends and I were in the area for a wedding in Passa. We stayed at La Fauvelle with another couple and we had a really great time. Mario was a wonderful host, always helpful and welcoming. The grounds are beautiful, the wild blackberries are delicious and the atmosphere is quite peaceful. The rooms are modestly appointed but theres nothing that we missed or needed. In fact, we mostly spent time lingering over breakfast (so nice!), poking around the small towns in the area, and sitting by the pool. I would disagree with other comments that this place is geared towards business trips--I didn't get that feeling at all. I was also happy that there was an abundance of French guests in addition to us (3 Americans/1 German).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meggadeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had 10 wonderful days at La Fauvelle again. This was our third visit. The place and Mr La Fauvelle himself, Mario, did it again. We were 9 persons at most and we all left with plans to visit Mario and La Fauvelle in the future.

La Fauvelle is a small hotel with an excellent atmosphere and a nice friendly staff were you are not "one in a crowd". We get "our rooms", our table place and Mario welcomes us in his friendly way, advice us on what ever we want to do and helps out. Candels in the evening and most meals are served outside. For us this is perfect. This is not what you normally get at a big fancy hotel. Several of us travels often and often stays at 5 stars hotels. You don't get 10 different bread types for breakfast at La Fauvelle but the Croissanter you get are picked from a special place, the olives deliverer are specially chosen and this goes on and on. Nothing is done without a thought. That is La Fauvelle.

We love La Fauvelle and will love to come back to Mario and his staff again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a wedding in the local area. Beautiful hotel grounds in the stunning area of Thuir. Rooms spacious and clean with large shower room. Breakfast continental, croissants and bread, but also offered eggs and bacon, fruit and yoghurt. Wasps a bit of a pain due to time of year as breakfast served outside. Location about 10 mins walk from centre of Thuir, no taxis available in the area, but owner offered lift if available which was great. But still only 10 mins walk. Would recommend car hire if staying for more than a few days to tour area. Outdoor pool lovely. Fantastic stay and will definitely be returning here!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2013

La Fauvelle is a special place. It felt welcoming as soon as we turned into the drive. Mario, the manager of this excellent accommodation made us feel very welcome and showed us to our spacious rooms (the single room equally so); clean with relaxing décor and green views. Water temperature, quality and cleanliness of outdoor pool perfect. Dining area allows guests their own space and offers a satisfying breakfast choice. All diets catered for. Recommend the cheese omelette. Three course evening meal with wine most enjoyable. Mario and his team are very helpful and approachable. Mario knows the area well and pointed out the best places to visit and best routes. Thuir is just a few minutes walk away with its variety of shops, eateries and pleasant public areas. La Fauvelle is a great base to enjoy this beautiful region. Castelnou with its pretty cobbled streets and medieval chateau is a short drive. Do visit and enjoy award winning honey cake. The ancient walled city of Carcassonne – jaw dropping when viewed for the first time across the river; plenty to marvel at within its walls. Collioure – seaside jewel. I would recommend La Fauvelle to anyone still wondering where they should spend their next holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I spent last week at La Favelle with my OH and sister in law and I'd certainly recommend it. The driveway and first view of La Favelle is impressive and tranquil. We received a warm welcome from Mario who showed us to our rooms.

Our en suite rooms had patio doors onto the grounds, they were spacious & clean with lovely white bedlinen and towels. The furnitiure and decor was as I expected for a French B&B. Breakfast was continental style which is exactly what I want on holiday.

La Favelle is steeped in history, only a few minutes walk from the town centre of Thuir which is a small town with narrow streets, friendly locals, restaurants, bars and shops.

If you just want to chill out and stay put then you can relax on the loungers near the pool. Otherwise there are plenty of places to visit whether you like the coast or hills and I'd certainly recommend a visit to a tiny village called Castelnou which is about 5km from La Favelle.

Mario and his team are friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble for them

If you are reading this Mario - " We'll be back"

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cara70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadfield, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

La Fauvelle is a beautiful place - with a charm like nowhere else I know.
This was a second stay after a first solo visit and a chance to see new and familiar places. From the hotel there is easy access to the mountains or the coast, and a host of towns and villages large and small in all directions. If you don't fancy straying too far, it is the perfect chill out retreat with the relaxed life of Thuir only a few minutes walk away.
We were made to feel very welcome by the manager Mario. He knows the area very well and can advise on all aspects should you require a some local knowledge or for that matter further afield too. The staff are very friendly and always helpful.
Rooms are well proportioned, tastefully decorated and spotless.
One pleasure not to be missed - 3 course dining al fresco on a warm summer evening. Truly memorable.
This was a very lucky find three years ago. Whether travelling alone or with company, La Fauvelle is somewhere I would without doubt recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thuir
1.1 mi away
Casa9 Hotel
Casa9 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thuir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
9.8 mi away
Le Relais Des Chartreuses
Le Relais Des Chartreuses
#1 of 4 in Le Boulou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.6 mi away
Nyx Hotel
Nyx Hotel
#1 of 46 in Perpignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
La Villa Duflot
La Villa Duflot
#2 of 46 in Perpignan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
9.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Les Domes
9.4 mi away
Le Mas Trilles
Le Mas Trilles
#1 of 5 in Ceret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine La Fauvelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine La Fauvelle

Property: Domaine La Fauvelle
Address: 60 avenue Fauvelle, 66300 Thuir, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Thuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thuir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fauvelle is a bed and breakfast hotel in the most southern part of France, near the Spanish border. The atmosphere in La Fauvelle is relaxed and low-key, yet exclusive and comfortable. Contemporary design blends with the buildings from the 1840’s. All rooms have air conditioning and wireless Internet access. Large park and open spaces surrounds the 15x5 metre salt water pool, large enough to make your morning swim a real workout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Domaine La Fauvelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing