We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Maison du Coin

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pezenas, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Brian N
Nr. Peterborough. UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely holiday home”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had such a lovely holiday in Penzenas as there was lots to see and experience in this historic town and surrounding area. This unassuming and comfortable hideaway is situated in an ideal location - not too far away from Montpellier, Beziers, Le Cap-d'Adge and Le Canal du Midi, but also within easy reach of those lazy hillside villages of the region. Beyond that are the valleys and gorges of the areas national park. However, the town of Pezenas itself offers plenty of scope for rest, relaxation and recreation. The house itself is situated in one of the oldest parts of the town.
Although the house is quite close to the rambling shops, cafe's and historic places of interest, we found that, because of the narrow alleyways and the sound structure of the walls, it was surprisingly quiet. Yet it was so amazing that within a very short stroll down the lane, you could find yourself in a very vibrant and colourful setting of Pezenas itself. We particularly enjoyed the wine festivals, the Saturday market and the late night opening hours of, not only the like of the usual tourist traps, but some interesting and creative shop fronts that were enticing enough to explore at our leisure. Try looking at the vast array of beads and necklaces in one shop, or sampling the biscuits or dips in another. Those summer evenings had a real 'buzz' within the town and we found that the place was always kept clean and tidy. With the extremely helpful tourist information, and the countless fliers along with a useful internet connection of Sue and Brian's home, we were never without ideas of places to visit.
The car hire place at Montpelier airport was very efficient and our little Toyota Argo travelled effortlessly along the wonderful French roads. A free car-park was close by and we never had any issue with security or, for that matter, vandalism and crime.
This is the second time we stayed in this house and we seem to enjoy its charm and practicality more and more as the days passed - and that was not because of our welcome bottle of wine and milk for our first cup of tea upon arrival! The kitchen had everything you could wish for and the spacious bathroom allowed you to ease your way into another phase of your holiday. This accommodation - surrounded by ancient medieval town houses - has two living areas ( all light and airy ) and a dedicated bedroom - just right for us. All the appliances worked a treat, giving us plenty of hot water and in no time at all the fridge was soon stacked with tempting good from the local supermarket. It was lovely to find we had access to a picnic basket and beach items which was a real bonus. No doubt we will be returning once more to this oasis of a carefree holiday home.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation of the property
Liked least: Nothing - I would like to write my novel there!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Reviewed 16 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: position of property
Liked least: compact
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experiance was fabulous. Wonderful area to explore.
Liked least: Car parking. But no big deal only 7 minutes walk away from the house.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John R
Warrenpoint
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Home from Home”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is for those who prefer the charm of an authentic house located on a narrow lane in the old quarter but want modern conveniences to go with. There are lots of steps up and down the apartment, but that adds to the charm. You get genuine shutters to open and, when passing tourists are too loud, close. The kitchen on the ground floor is cozy but well equipped. The bathroom, down a small flight of stairs then up a flight of stairs is large enough in which to play a game of football. It's great to have a washer and drier. We needed it. The sitting area on the landing is up a flight of stairs from the kitchen. Next to it is a large sitting room and off the other side is the bedroom. Everything used is of good quality, from the television to the coffee maker. The apartment is so centrally located that you will never need a car if you don't want one. And this is good because you won't get a car anywhere near the place. None are allowed in this quarter of the city. Brian and Sue are terrific, which helps a lot. If you want to experience 17th century France only with the modern conveniences this is for you. It certainly is our preference.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character
Liked least: steps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing, comfort, friendliness.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
contactsa...
Spalding
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful holiday home in excellent location.”
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking forward to our stay in la maison du coin because it's location in the medieval quarter sounded exciting and also convenient. We were not disappointed because literally seconds away from the front door we discovered a wealth of restaurants and artisan shops which would satisfy the most demanding visitors. The position of the house meant however that we were not at all disturbed by the hustle and bustle of the tourist throng. Although one of the main and most attractive roads in Pezenas was only 50 metres away the sounds of any traffic were completely absorbed by the quarters medieval walls. The house itself was a delightful home from home, very well appointed with everything needed for a comfortable stay. We were able to keep in touch with the Olympics on tv in the very comfortable living room upstairs. Overall, this was a most relaxing house in a wonderful and interesting town which itself is in a fantastic location for exploring beaches and the beautiful region of the Languedoc. We could have occupied ourselves here for at least two months!

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being in a home, not just a holiday home.
Liked least: Nothing to report
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jebel Ali, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable the house was and it's location
Liked least: To be honest nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.