We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing building, garden, pool, location. Relaxing and easy to chill.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Couvent des Ursulines
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing building, garden, pool, location. Relaxing and easy to chill.”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Beautiful location for a home away from home ( ... only better .... cool building, with a pool and a massive, welcoming garden), with easy access to local shops and the wonderful Saturday food market (including the oyster lady and amazing chicken) all makes the Couvent a very easy place to simply hang out, cook, walk, ride, swim and indulge .... inside or out.

Landlady and Lord are lovely, on site and available to help at any time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigourney76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Our family's intention was to find a place anywhere in France for a period of two months, that would give us safe, apartment-style accomodation for ourselves and our three children aged 6, 11, and 13. We had never heard of Pezenas before, nor had we visited the Languedoc region of France previously. We feel amazingly lucky to have chosen the Couvent and this particular region of France! The large, enclosed garden offered plenty of room for the children to safely run around, and many peaceful moments in the hammocks and on our own terrace. Because we were studying French (using a local tutor) and keeping up with schoolwork, we were grateful for the ample space inside the apartment with easy Internet access. The newly renovated kitchen was perfectly fine for preparing our meals, which were always a joy thanks to the amazing local ingredients (there is an incredible weekly market, and lovely fresh seafood from the nearby Mediterranean and Etang de Thau!) As we did not wish to have a car during our long stay, we were delighted to find that it was an easy walk into the quaint, historical center of town which is full of tempting food shops and restaurants, as well as a wide variety of gift shops and artists studios. We could not have been better situated for our long stay in France! And we were most happy to make the acquaintance of the proprietors and their two fun children!

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferfrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We really loved this place so much that we're going again this year! I wish I had a garden like this with the most beautiful trees. Emailing with Nikki in 2010 was always a lot of fun and the welcome by Jean Francois was warm, there was water en cola (biological) in fridge. Our apartment was made babyproof with fences for the stairs and a babyseat. The bedrooms en bathrooms (2) were beautiful, we slept really well.
Ideal for young children (ours were at the time 4, 3 and 1) because in the garden they had enough space to play and couldn't get out of our sight (there's a wall around the garden). The pool was great (no chlorine), in the sun and everyday there was this lovely breeze. In the evening it was lovely to sit outside. From the couvent you walk in a view minutes to the center of Pezenas, superb city (a lot of tourists but still great). The bakery is 1 minute walk and a small supermarket about 5 minutes.
Take your time to enjoy the garden and don't plan every day sightseeing

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarijeAghina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tribeca, NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

A must for couples, families or friends to relax. Run by very friendly couple and their two adorable kids, I could not have chosen a better place to relax with my two teenagers. I also liked the friendly owners Jean Francois & Nikki as well as their well mannered 2 toddler boys. As for me it will be my annual retreat for a very long time.I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoukiTribeca_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Do not be put off by the one bad review below. My husband and I had a lovely 2 weeks here with our 2 young children here. The garden is lovely - very peaceful - lots of shade - with a special feel to it. For the first time in his life my very busy 4 year old buy spent some time "chilling" by himself in the swinging chair seats and hammocks. The appartments are as exactly as you would expect from the careful descriptions on the web site. My only "complaint" would be that the metal spiral staircase along with the open mezzzanine was not the most pratical with an active toddler - but don't let that put you off. We fully recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

We stayed here over a fortnight period with various family combinations ,as we had a 19 year old boy , two 14 year old girls and a 6 year old girl , plus Grandparents. The teenagers stayed for one week and then a couple went home to be replaced by the pensioners !
I have never written a review before but am compelled to write this ..............
We all adored it. The teens lazed about by the lovely chlorine free pool and were able to wander safely into the charming town of Pezenas. The inclusion of wi-fi meant they could get their occasional "Techno fix" ! Our youngest had all she needed too... a pool and space to wander with shady spots and hammock /swingseats etc. ....and yet all within the safe confines of Convent walls ( so we could see her at all times though she couldn't see us !) We all completely relaxed here. The appartments were beautiful.... tasteful and clean ! The bathrooms and bedrooms were very comfortable and we loved the stylish decor....a mixture of antique and modern. The hosts are a delightful couple with 2 lovely sons. They also own a gorgeous coffee shop which my husband says makes the best coffee in France ( and he should know....he is a coffee bore !)
Go there ! You will not be disappointed !!

  • Liked — The appartment rooms
  • Disliked — going home!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandRuthLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We booked this property for the first week of our 3 week holday based on the hyperbole on their website (and which is reproduced in a guidebook). We were unpleasantly received and were appalled when we entered the euphemism for a garden which is just scrubland and totally uninviting. There was a tiny terrace with a couple of chairs and one hammock to share between the 4 properties (thoughts of the German towel race) which in fact faces the washing line with the refuse bins behind. We could not face the green coloured swimming pool expecting it to be full of tadpoles or newts so remained inside. The interior consisted of a large uncomfortable leather sofa and a dining table and chairs. The kitchen was minutely situated in a corner and was only just big enough to turn round in. We couldn't face using the cooker. The spiral staircase made suitcase carrying very difficult going up and almost impossible coming down. On the mezzanie floor is a dreadful futon and a TV apparently showing French TV only ( didn't even try it). The bedrooms weren't much better. We left as soon as we were able to arrange other accommodation the next day !

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Writs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFM34, Propriétaire at Couvent des Ursulines, responded to this review, 2 April 2009
It's the first time we got this kind of comment and we're sade about it! This our house and by welcoming our guest, we only wish them to have a good time. This place is very family oriented, therefore as the many site that referre us, I believe it describe very well the environment. This retired couple mentioned "garbage" wich is very different from a compost area!
I hope however these people will have enjoy whichever other place they will have found.
For inquiries, don't hesitate to call us, we want to be sure you'll get what you expect and more...!
JF & Nikki & Neal & Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pezenas hotels
0.3 mi away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
0.2 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
Le Grand Hotel Moliere
#3 of 6 in Pezenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Vigniamont
Hotel De Vigniamont
#2 of 6 in Pezenas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Germain
Hotel Le Saint Germain
#4 of 6 in Pezenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Pezenas
B&B Hotel Pezenas
#5 of 6 in Pezenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Galeries de Beaulac Chambres d'hotes de prestige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couvent des Ursulines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couvent des Ursulines

Property: Couvent des Ursulines
Address: 23 avenue de Castelnau, 34120, Pezenas, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Pezenas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Pezenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couvent Des Ursulines offers four bright, spacious apartments in a converted convent in the heart of Pezenas in the Languedoc, South of France. The Couvent des Ursulines with its "secret garden" is an ideal place for a weekend break (or longer) in the South of France. The garden is completely surrounded by a wall and has open spaces with benches and hammocks as well as mature trees so you will always have the choice of sun or shade. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing