We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the heart of historic Figeac!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel-Cafe Le Champollion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Figeac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel-Cafe Le Champollion
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Figeac
Tasmania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of historic Figeac!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Want to wake up and look out into the square at the heart of old Figeac? If so, then stay here! Had just one night here on a trip through the Lot/Aveyron and would happily stay here again. Great spot for exploring this historic town. Lots of shops, restaurants etc on your door-step here. Sure it is a bit noisy outside until the bar closes, but that's the price you pay to be amongst it all. Popular with locals, always a good sign! Free and reliable WiFi. More than adequate breakfast.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the square, if you want a quieter spot, maybe ask when booking if they have other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TasDevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
23
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We sat in the courtyard for a drink before dinner --- quite busy for a Sunday evening so there was a good vibe. Coffee was excellent - wife had a very cold beer - served with spicy olives and salty peanuts. Great place for people watching

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inukshukasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We passed one night at the hotel as we stopped in Figeac travelling around the valley of Lot. This was a positive experience overall. The room was small, Parisian way, but quite neat and with two windows, one of them opening on the nice old square in front of the hotel. The bathroom was simple but clean, although we were puzzled by the absence of the curtain. After two of us took the shower, there was water on the floor. The breakfast was substantial, with juice, coffee, pastries and bread and jam. The place seems to be run exclusively by women, and all members of the staff were very friendly and ready to help. Overall, we left quite satisfied. This is not a chic accommodation, but quite value for money and located right in the middle of the old town, which is remarkably well preserved. There are several parking areas, including at least two gratuitous – one of them situated on Rue Emile Zola leading to the hotel. On arrival, we parked right there and walked two hundred meters to the hotel with the luggage.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel-Cafe Le Champollion on a bike trip; it is right in the center of the city, and everything is walkable from this spot. They were wonderful about finding a safe place for our bikes, and the breakfast was particularly special. We had freshly squeezed orange juice, and fresh, warm croissants, chocolate croissants, and baguette with the tasty butter of the region. It was magnificent! Not only was the breakfast great - the people working there were so helpful and friendly that they made us feel as if we were "family" and that they cared about us and our enjoyment while visiting Figeac. The beds are extremely comfy, and the room is ample. It does get a bit noisy when the bar closes at night if you have your window open - but there is a quiet air conditioning unit in the room so you can have it on and enjoy a totally quiet sleeping experience. We can highly recommend this great spot!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Right in the middle of town, across the square from the Champollion Museum, this is a bar/cafe with rooms above. My room was the one right over the bar entrance, and despite the fact that there were people there until the wee hours, they've done a great job with sound-proofing and I slept like a rock; the bed was really good, too. The room is smallish but perfectly functional, great view of the busy town square over geranium-covered tiny balcony. Breakfast was croissants right from the oven!!! and other nice things. Wonderful personnel, helpful and friendly, honestly hotel stays don't get much better. And what a great town!

Room Tip: My friends had a room on the side street and kept their window open all night, so they had a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbondanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stopped over at this hotel on our way across from Bergerac to the Cantal. This is a lovely small hotel with a very friendly proprietress and generally friendly staff. But that was our problem - it only takes one member of staff to be rude and unhelpful to bring a potential 5 rating down to a 3. The lady who checked us out seemed to think I was trying to defraud her personally when the card machine abandoned the transaction (because of the slow connection), she refused to try it again and I don't appreciate people holding the palm of their hand up to my face to emphasise their point. We gave her my wife's card (same account) and this went through no problem.
The other negative point is that nobody told us about this terrace area, that everybody raves about; our French is pretty good, but it was only when we were half way through eating our breakfast alone in the foyer area that the waiter mentioned this alternative.
The hotel is clearly better than the rating I have given it, but I can only rate on the experience we had.

Room Tip: The top floor is a bit of a hike - no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

very very nice experience. very ggod value for money. 50 euros per night. The asset of the place is the possibility to have ur breakfast in the cafe nearby on the biggest square of the village. It starts with a real freshly squeezed orange juice (something u get in 4 stars hotels normally.very rare in France) and the second asset is the wonderful owner of the place. A joyful open minded always available woman. Always willing to make ur life easier. Ok maybe the rooms are a bit noisy, you hear everything but it doesnt matter. this place has charm and a spirit. it's really worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leonard75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Figeac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Quatorze
Hotel Le Quatorze
#1 of 5 in Figeac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Pont d'Or
20.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
La Bastie d'Urfe
La Bastie d'Urfe
#1 of 1 in Naussac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Murier de Viels
Le Murier de Viels
#1 of 1 in Causse-et-Diege
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.1 mi away
Logis Auberge La Diege
Logis Auberge La Diege
#1 of 1 in Capdenac-Gare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Cafe Le Champollion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Cafe Le Champollion

Property: Hotel-Cafe Le Champollion
Address: 3 Place Champollion, 46100 Figeac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Figeac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Figeac
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing