We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very original beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant des Isles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel could also be lacated in either Scandinavia or Long Island New York, as it is really cosy with scandinavian/new american interior in white. Great breakfast and restaurant and very kind staff. The beach is just in front of the hotel and if wheather is bad or water is low, you can always enjoy the nice pool area. A nice spot as center to go to Cherbourg, Granville or some of the beautiful landscape routes along the coast line.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ThFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed at 2 Logis d'Exception in France and were so looking forward to staying at Hotel des Isles. A friendly welcome greeted us, and the hotel was across the road from the lovely beach But room 302 on the top floor was very small and disappointing as you had to skirt around the bed sideways a rather tricky manoeuvre. I'm glad we only had a small case. The round table was difficult to sit at as there was insufficient room to pull out the chairs. There were no robes, slippers or tea facilities. We found empty crisp packets left by a previous guest, but the worst thing was a large crack in the sink which was black and ingrained. We did mention this to the receptionist and the manager who just shrugged his shoulders and said he would mention it to the owner! This had not been recently cracked. However, the restaurant was attractively set out with blue runners on white tables. You could select from a self service buffet starter and dessert which we thought was disappointing, so selected a la carte. Our starters of guacamole and scallops were tasty and nicely presented and the lemon sole was nicely grilled, plus there was a nice selection of wines.
If you want to be truly spoilt at an amazing Logis d'Exception you must go to Fouday, in the Alsace region and stay at Chez Julien. It has everything you want and much, much more, there was no comparison and our stay at the Hotel des Isles was disappointing.

Room Tip: Elect to have a room on the ground or first floors as there is no lift and the staircase from the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just back from a three night stay at this lovely hotel. Very friendly welcome and charming and helpful staff throughout our stay. The room had a spacious balcony, in fact a long balcony serving about 6 rooms, overlooking the sea. The room was airy and light and the bathroom neat and big enough!

The food was such good value. We feasted on the buffet for breakfast and dinner and at €13 and €28 respectively, strong on fish and seafood but, sadly rather lacking in green salad and vegetables. Hard to get my 5 a day!

Fell in love with the décor. This was gentle muted seaside colours, natural woody textures, handsome lamps but no kitsch. More than a hint of Californian style. Big squashy sofas, bar with an outside deck. All in all utterly relaxing and restful with the beach across a quiet road.

Would we go back? Absolutely!

John Northover

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great location, great and very hospitable team, nice rooms, wonderful food, reasonably priced wine list.........Overall: an ideal spot for a vacation or short get-away! Cannot wait to get back there!!

Room Tip: best rooms are facing the sea and/or are at the side with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyFrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We found respite here after 2 weeks of tent camping. The service was superb from all areas of staff and the location is great- on the beach! Our room was nice, but needed a lick of paint (but who cares when you are watching the sunset over the beach/ocean. Bathroom was v nice. Food was good and they have a surprising amount of v comfortable lounge space in case the weather turns and you don't want to be stuck in the room. You are paying for location, style, and service. Felt expensive at first, as it was relaxed, but it became evident after our 2nd day that it was good value and it gets top marks from us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Comfortable without being luxurious, our room overlooked the ocean. The hotel's dinner buffet was a lavish display of fish and seafood, and the breakfast buffet was more than adequate. All the public rooms are inviting, and the staff was welcoming.

Room Tip: No elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We spent our last night of 22 nights touring France in July 2102 - in generally poor weather. We arrived in Barneville-Carteret in torrential rain which did not help, and the whole place just seemed like a wet British seaside town. We paid 175 euros for a double room with sea view which was very expensive for what we got. With the tide out, the view is far from special and the room was so small that it was claustrophobic, and the en- suite ridiculously small. We ate in the restaurant which was good, but again expensive in comparison to the rest of our holiday. The bar area was charming with very tasteful furnishings. Maybe if we had seen some sun our stay would have seemed better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CardiffZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barneville-Carteret
1 mi away
Hotel de la Marine
Hotel de la Marine
#1 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
291 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel des Ormes
Hotel des Ormes
#4 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jersey
Hotel Jersey
#3 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 2 in Bricquebec
221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#5 of 5 in Barneville-Carteret
138 reviews
16.5 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant des Isles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant des Isles

Address: 9 boulevard Maritime, 50270 Barneville-Carteret, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Barneville-Carteret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Barneville-Carteret
Price Range: £95 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant des Isles 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Restaurant des Isles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Isles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing