We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and quiet at its best”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stibars
New Ross, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet at its best”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lemonie gites are located about 50Km from Angouleme. There are lots of small and interesting villages and towns in the locality. But the gites are in the countryside with numerous walks of varying length in the vicinity. It's within easy driving distance from St. Emilion - famous for lovely red wines of the region!
The welcome we received was so much appreciated after our long drive (but because of motorway, not too taxing) from Cherbourg. There was a lovely homemade light supper, bottle of wine, homemade 'lemony' cake and the essentials to keep us going until we had a chance to do a grocery shopping!
The owners, Terry and John were like personal concierges who were a wealth of information and guided us on what we could do or gave us information about things we wanted to do. Thanks for the handy tips and hints about parking, etc.
The gite was immaculately clean and very spacious. There are three double bedrooms, all en-suite, a large living room/kitchen/dining area. Wifi and English TV are both great assets. The gite is well-kitted out with every convenience you could think of. And if you need something that's not there, the owners live next door and will have it for you asap!
This gite and the other one beside it, La Vieille Maison are both dog friendly and there is a resident dog called Brandon who's the quietest dog I've ever encountered (I'm a bit nervous around dogs) and a lovely cat called Pineau!
The garden is well worth exploring but unfortunately it was out of season to enjoy the fruits that grow here. But I'd imagine the freshest of fruits would be delightful!
The garden also has a bbq area for each gite, a 12m swimming pool and plenty of seating.
We had the MOST relaxing holiday we've had in a long time and we'll definitely be back here. Thanks John and Terry for helping to make it stress-free!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thank you Pauline and Feargal - it was a pleasure to welcome you here. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkphil
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stay.”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Following recommendations from friends, we booked a very long weekend at Lemonie Gites (La Grange) for early April. It is in a beautiful location on a hillside overlooking the Dronne valley. The gite itself has been tastefully decorated with modern facilities, a lovely kitchen diner and a small garden to the rear leading to the pool.
Upon arrival we found a delicious cake that had been baked by Terry, one of the owners, and a handy local guide was available in English and French.
The bathrooms were modern, all rooms had heating and the beds were very comfortable. Above all, it was amazingly peaceful and relaxing. We wandered down to the river one day for a picnic and spent a couple of days travelling to local towns to stroll around. Aubeterre (about 8km away) was a lovely village with good restaurants and set atop a hillside. Bergerac (about 1hr away) was a lovely day trip.
All in all it was just lovely. Lemonie gites feels like home - and we look forward to returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thank you Phil. We enjoyed having you both stay. Come back for longer next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mixty
Whitstable
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem in lovely countryside....”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a lovely surprise to walk into this striking brand new barn conversion with its stylish fixtures and fittings and tasteful decor. It was comfortable and immaculate throughout and the hosts, John and Terry, went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. An ideal spot to get away from it all without being more than five minutes drive from amenities. An ancient, functioning, bread oven- ideal for home made pizzas - and bar in the garden made it unnecessary to go out at all. The garden is a delight particularly the charming little individual area overlooking the pool. The situation would be ideal at any time of year for exploring the countryside or just relaxing in lovely surroundings. With wifi available what else do you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private garden
Liked least: Booked too short a stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thank you. It was a pleasure having you both stay. Hope to see you again before long!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobblin
Salisbury
1 review
“Perfect rural stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautifully furnished and equipped gite in a peaceful, rural , idyllic setting. The warmest welcome from owners who live next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Thank you Bob & Anna for your review. It was lovely having you stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulears
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation in a very lovely area”
Reviewed 8 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We decided to look around for something to do at fairly short notice when our diary dates gave us just a short time to get away, and my sister suggested as it was nearing the end of the season, we might be able to get into Terry and John's place where she had just returned from.

So we got ourselves a flight from Stansted to Bergerac - a small, basic airport around an hour's drive away from Les Essards. We got the car and had no problems finding Lemonie - which is not in the nearby Les Essards village, but on a low rise opposite a small lake. The property is a number of lovely old building, brought up to very moderns standards inside, but retaining the quaint local look outside. I've pretty well honed my travel requirements into a few important areas. It has to be clean, comfy and have just a few essential features. A decent shower or bath, modern loos, a comfy bed and a kitchen able to knock up my favourite stuff. Wifi and electricity that is effective (so many aren't) is also a must have. Lemonie exceeds all these requirements easily - not a tiny kitchen, but a proper one - a good size so even a family would fit properly, and bright. Everything I needed and more.

Anybody who has never seen a real starry sky needs to visit this gite - the milky way slices through the night sky and the stars are simply amazing.

You need transport, as apart from a few other homes, it's probably five to ten minutes to get to the source of your breakfast croissants, and a bit further to big supemarkets.

The locals we met were not bothered in the least by my feeble attempts at French. We found none of that snooty behaviour so many other destinations have. Ali and I went for a fifteen minute walk to feed the donkeys a nearby farmer keeps in a field near the river. The walk was a simple one. Turn left, then follow the lane down to the river. We found a french chap fishing, and he happily wished us good morning and didn't flicker at my schoolboy French reply! Just past the donkeys there is a widening of the river, a weir with stepping stones and a wonderful view of a small chateau. At the time we visited all the fields were either sweet corn or sunflowers - and amazing sight! The gites are on a seldom used, very quiet road and the silence would be broken by the occasional distant donkey - but pretty well silence. On one of our walks, we took the owner's daft dog as he's a native. He wasn't much help and vanished into the sunflowers, but luckily he arrived back at Lemonie about half an hour later.

The gites have a really nice pool, shared with the other guests and I'd estimate it to be around 10m long so plenty of room, and clean and well looked after. We bumped into the other family staying when we were there and it's big enough to allow separation and privacy if you want it, although we spent a long time just chatting!

Terry and John are full of useful information on where to go and what to see, and we found wonderful villages, small towns, ravines, rivers and even river beaches - areas where proper beach sand had been brought in to create beaches on the river, which is clean and swimmable. Plenty of old things to see - churches built into cliff faces, beautiful old buildings along the river, terraces of old houses that vaguely made it more like Italy than France. In the big regular street markets we found all kinds of interesting stuff, and wishes Ryanair had more affordable excess baggage charges. Food is everywhere, and lots of different styles. One place we were recommended was a workman's style cafe - you pick a starter from the buffet, they serve you a main course and then you help yourself to desert - quite cheap and again, nobody bothered we were English. Plenty of very nice 'proper' restaurants with helpful staff make eating out easy.

We will certainly be going again - more exploring to be done. Weather while we were there was hot and dry. If it turned, we could easily have kept ourselves busy - we just didn't need to!

In fact, I'd consider this area if we every decided to sell up and move somewhere abroad.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: not having good enough French to chat to more locals, they were great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Hi Paul And Ali,
Thank you for your lovely review. The pool is 12 m x 5m and heated. Looking forward to seeing you next time you visit.
Regards John & Terry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KA105829
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing Holiday!”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a 2 week stay at Lemonie Gites in 'La Grange' which is the 3 bed gite. We were instantly taken back by how beautiful the grounds are and how welcoming John and Terry (the owners) are. We had seen photos on the website and as stunning as they are, they really don't do it justice! The interior of La Grange has been beautifully renovated and has a particularly spacious open plan living area which is perfect for a family. John and Terry had kindly left a welcome pack of essentials; milk, bread, eggs, soft drinks, a lovely tea set and even wine and a freshly baked homemade cake! Which was delicious.

The brand new pool was a huge hit with our two young children and it was difficult to prize them away to visit some of the beautiful places that surround Lemonie Gites. There are so many places to go that we didn't have time to do it all so we are planning to return next summer. Some of the highlights for us were the local towns of Aubettere and St Aulay as they both have lovely river beaches and plenty of restaurants to choose from for relaxing lunches and evening meals. We also visited Brantome and St Emilion which are both breathtaking places to visit in their own right.

Another highlight of our stay was the fact that John and Terry were kind enough to take us to a couple of local village festivals where you get to experience real local life. This is something you wouldn't normally expect to do during a family holiday and the fact we had the privilege to experience this will leave lasting memories for our family, it was such a nice touch.

Another nice touch was the fact John and Terry hosted 'pizza nights' each Friday which brought everyone together where freshly made pizzas were baked in the outdoor stone oven, it was lovely. It's worth pointing out that all of this was entirely optional and there was no pressure to go along. I'm glad we did though as the night markets and pizza nights proved to be the best nights of the holiday!

In truth there was absolutely nothing negative about our stay at Lemonie Gites and we cannot recommend this place highly enough. We will be back again in August 2017!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Kelly, Laurence, Izzy & Fraser, Thank you for your wonderful review, We are so glad that you had a fantastic time. It was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to seeing you next August.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decolady2...
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing rest and relaxation”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This is a new gite complex nestling in Les Essards. I have been here for the best part of a week and it has been a while since I slept so well. Mine hosts Terry and John go out of their way to ensure that everyone is happy and catered for. The accommodations are beautifully finished and light and airy (see photos). The property is set amidst beautiful fruit trees and flower borders, and it benefits from a recently completed 12 metre heated swimming pool. The third member of the hosting team is Brandon, a griffon, and the Gites are dog friendly. On Friday night we had a pizza night where everyone chose their own toppings and the pizzas were then cooked in the outside pizza oven, with wine flowing freely and a convivial atmosphere. The Gites are only 10 minutes from Aubeterre and there are plenty of things to do within a short radius. I can't recommend this place highly enough. I will be back!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Nicky, Was lovely having you stay here and we look forward to your next trip. John, Terry & Brandon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing