We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morel's

Morel's
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Found this restaurant as a happy accident staying in the hotel. Was not expecting to find a good value michelin standard restaurant on the doorstep. Must visit.
Slightly weird setting sitting next to a pool though.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Another fabulous experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a favourite for us when visiting the area and yet again we were not disappointed - with friends, family and children they catered for everyone from the a la carte, fixed menu and an 'off the menu/special request menu' for the children !! Well done. Good presentation and incredible flavours. Excellent service - and the restaurant was full. Top marks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice family dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Visited along with 13 other family members for a birthday celebration.
We all ate of their three course menu which was excellent value at around €30.
Everyone enjoyed their food and the choice was good.
We sat outside near their pool area which was great as we had 6 kids with us so it meant they had plenty of space.
Definitely recommend for a nice evening meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PKatVCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Fancy looking but average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Went here with a group of friends for lunch whilst on holiday in the region. Despite the rainy day, it was bright inside and the decor was ok.

The first problem was the menus. There were 2 fixed price options and the a la carte, but both fixed price menus has options at every course that included supplements, with a discount for getting more than one supplement. Some courses appeared on both menus too, adding to the confusion and leaving us wondering whether we would be charged correctly.

We got an amuse bouche of vegetable soup served in a shot glass (although mine had a chip in the rim) which was tasty and well seasoned.

For starter I had the trio of foie gras from the a la carte which was pretty good. A very generous portion of the usual stuff was tasty, a cup of whipped foie gras was excellent (best thing I had all meal) - nice and light, and finally a slice of the original fried liver. A couple of tarte fruit sauces went well and the bread was nice too.

For main I had rack of lamb with sweetbreads, potato and stuffed pepper. The lamb was overcooked, which surprised me - I was expecting the opposite if anything! The rest was nothing special and the stuffed pepper a bit stodgy.

For desert I had creme brulee which in this case was darker than I expected and had an extra ingredient that I couldn't quite put my finger on. It was a bit overset too.

Not sure where the Michelin star comments from other reviewers fit, it was no-where near that standard in my opinion! If you stuck to the fixed price menus without trading up, you could probably get lunch including wine for 30 euros a head, but we spend a fair bit more and it wasn't great value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Ate here with family, had a fantastic meal. We each had the set menu, 27 euro each for 3 courses. So much choice and the food was fantastic, each course was lovely, especially dessert which was yummy! Great service and fantastic quality, we will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglandCls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morel's also viewed

Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 

Been to Morel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing