We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Chambres de coco
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We recently stayed with Vincent and Coco and were delighted not only with the lovely room, but our charming hosts...the location and attention to detail are fantastic! We look forward to returning soon!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pascal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
hello you two,
thank you very much for your kind words..
a great start to the new year..
let's hope it continues in the same cheery way..
hope the house hunting is going well...
best to you both..vincent and coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in this fantastic place for 3 lovely days for a wedding we attended in nearby St Privat. It really is beautiful with the most welcoming hosts you could ask for. Vincent and Coco really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and Coco even looked after our dog for the day we were at the wedding. Above and beyond in every sense. Everything about this place is faultless and we will definitely return and would recommend to anyone. If you are in the area this is the only place to stay!! Our room was a suite room with lovely bedroom overlooking pool and countryside. The bathrooms are beautiful and big with lovely toiletries and big fluffy towels. Breakfast in either the dining room around a gorgeous big table or outside weather permitting. A great find in a stunningly beautiful part of France, most definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had Cerise which is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
hello the lakeland first team,
thank you very much for your really kind review,especially welcome from someone with an hotel as well rated as yours,quite chufftyfying.
come back and see us again soon.
hope all is well with you and yours and the dogs...best to you all.
vincent,coco and of course bob the wonderdog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Wherever we stay, passing through on business as we do, quality and comfort and peace and quiet are particularly important to us. So we were delighted to be welcomed in and not fussed over unnecessarily. We knew our hosts were close-by if we needed them. Great facilities and a great breakfast. Good value all round. Thank you. Rob and Lynn

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
hello rob and lyn,
thanks for your really kind review,glad you enjoyed the place,hope we see you on your next visit to the area.
best to you both,
vincent and coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We've stayed in a lot of Chambre D'hotes in France and I can say without reservation that this is the best we've ever found. The rooms are without fault - spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished with every comfort thought of, from the HUGE, supremely comfortable bed and the sumptuous wetroom, to the ipod docking station and the thoughtful little cakes that appear in your room each day. Best of all though, is the welcome from the wonderful hosts, Vincent and Coco (not forgetting the very well behaved Bob the dog....) - we were made to feel like one of the family, with nothing too much trouble, including the preparation of an 'emergency platter' of cheese, bread and pate one evening when we were too tired to venture out to eat at one of the many excellent local restaurants. We celebrated my birthday while we were there and our delicious breakfast that morning included a card and jar of Coco's own preserved cherries and a beautiful flower from the garden - so thoughtful. Vincents dry, Lancashire humour is the perfect foil to Coco's effervescent, enthusiastic and bubbly personality - we just loved them both! We will definitely be back......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
hello the harley lovers,
thanks for your really kind review,absolutely magic to know you enjoyed yourselves so much and that you spotted so many of the bits that usually go unnoticed,you certainly have an eye for detail and a way with words.much appreciated.
see you again in february I hope,if not sooner.
best to you both.vincent and coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed for just 1 night whilst visiting a chef that we were booking for our forthcoming wedding. Yes it was a short stay but we had a lovely time!! Vincent and Coco were delightful hosts. Breakfast was excellent, just what we needed before heading off for the day. The house, grounds and the lovely Bob meant we would have absolutely loved to stay longer!

No doubt we'll be back after the wedding next year and you can be sure that if i had to recommend somewhere, it would be here! (in fact i've just enquired about availability for my mother-in-law to be!).

Pretty perfect all in all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
hello the didsbury gang,
thank you very much for your really kind review.great to know you enjoyed yourselves and I hope we see you back here soon.best wishes for the wedding,I hope all your plans work well.
best to you both.vincent..coco..and of course..superbob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a beautiful place in a lovely location and I am so sorry to be writing a poor customer service review. The décor is very tastefully done and we stayed in a suite ''Nectarine'' 160 euros per night as a special treat. A large room with two settees, very comfortable bed, a big bathroom with a walk in shower, all spotlessly clean. Sleep occasionally disturbed by traffic on the D2 road running near the property about 200 metres away, but we do sleep with our windows open. Breakfast was delightful, typically French with breads , pastries, jams and even fresh figs from the garden served by the charming, hospitable, chatty Coco, the owner (a lovely French lady) in a very large dining room with views across the garden & pool.. The nearby village of Aubeterre sur Dronne is really pretty with an interesting church in a grotto, we were visiting for a wedding in this spectacular location. HOWEVER BEWARE Coco's husband Vincent (the English host) who has been to The Fawlty Towers School of customer care. He lost his temper, had a very aggressive attitude shouting at us to get out and never come back when I queried the bill. I had queried the charge of 15 Euros for a late plate prepared for my wife and ten minutes later she decided not to have and went downstairs to advise him. She was anxious about having changed her mind as he had been very insistent earlier, despite her assurances, that he would not like her to go hungry if she was staying in. The late plate of cheese & fruit had already been prepared when she arrived downstairs & she was quite happy to pay for any loss & apologised for putting them to the trouble. Unfortunately my wife cannot eat cheese and did not know this was what was being prepared. When I saw the charge on the bill of 15 euros it seemed very expensive for the preparation of a plate of cheese & fruit which we did not consume, happy to pay but 15 Euros was too much. Apparently this was not our only misdemeanour - we arrived late on a Friday evening at 8.30pm, Coco in an e-mail to my wife advised she thought the journey would be an arrival time of 7pm, we had phoned ahead to say we were lost on our way from Limoges and to apologise for the delay, obviously we had failed out test. Apparently another bad mark was that we did not eat the prepared breakfast every day and caused his wife to get up earlier than usual. Coco had never indicated we had caused her some hardship, and we did oversleep one morning but we were on holiday! I am sure he had other wrong doings on his list but we beat a hasty retreat and left - Such a pity because up to this point we'd had a really enjoyable stay and would have readily recommended the property along with the many other positive reviews. Every one has a bad day but Vincent's bad tempered, aggressive display was very distressing and left us disturbed all day. I do not recommend this B & B if you are likely to get lost, might oversleep, don't like cheese, don't like bad tempered angry men or are unhappy about paying dearly for what you don't get !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbsy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
what a horribly unfair and dishonest portrayal of events,but unfair and dishonest seems to be your stock in trade,i might add nasty and vindictive.
yes I did find your failure to let us know of your late arrival a bit rude,i wasn't too happy when you got coco (61 years of age)out of bed exceptionally early to prepare a breakfast which you didn't bother to turn up for.
as for your unfortunate memory lapses regarding how many nights you had stayed and the rate agreed,memory lapses which curiously disappeared when I offered to provide the copies of your e mail confirmation,yes I did find all of that more than enough.
still,having accepted that you did indeed owe us as billed for your suite,you then decided to try and avoid paying for a whole tray full of food ordered and prepared specially for you.
why would you think it unfair to charge you for this simply because your plans changed ?
I have to say there was a major attitude problem here,yours,and that is why you were asked to leave and not return,something I would repeat again now.
we go a very long way to care for the guests who choose to come here,but the kind of abuse which seems to be your speciality we absolutely do not need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This oasis was a fantastic find. As other reviewers have said the welcome and care throughout our stay was excellent and the standard of accommodation superb. The best pain au raisin I have had in years.

Our stay was short and very relaxing (3 nights) and we even got to use the pool in late September.

Although there are no restaurants in a short walking distance if you have a car there is a wide choice of excellent restaurants. Coco is on hand to give you a personal review, provide directions and will make you a reservation if required.

We were disappointed to find the kayaking had ended earlier in September however the reduced numbers of tourists meant there were no queues at popular attractions.

We felt a real sense of disappointment the day we moved on.

Room Tip: We stayed in Citron which has a wonderful shower and overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackieann21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
hello jackie and mark,
thank you very much for your really kind review.i've said it many times before but it truly does help the day along,a few words of encouragement.good to know you enjoyed yourselves and I hope the rest of your break was equally successful.
come back and see us again soon.best to you both..vincent and coco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
1.6 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord
Hostellerie du Perigord
#1 of 1 in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
131 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Braisiere
La Braisiere
#1 of 1 in Saint-Romain
52 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Vieille Maison
Hotel La Vieille Maison
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paul-Lizonne
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Les Tuileries de Chanteloup
Les Tuileries de Chanteloup
#1 of 2 in La Roche Chalais
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
Chateau Le Mas de Montet
#1 of 1 in Petit-Bersac
94 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Grange de Lucie - Chambres d'hotes en Perigord
La Grange de Lucie - Chambres d'...
#1 of 1 in Auriac de Bourzac
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chambres de coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres de coco

Property: Les Chambres de coco
Address: Bonnaud, 16390 Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comprehensive and sensitive restoration of a beautiful 19th century manor house set in the Charente countryside near Aubeterre sur Dronne. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing