We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, beautiful location and fabulous service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Chambres de coco
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Cocos for three nights as we were going to a friend's wedding nearby.
We arrived much later than expected - due to flight delays and dodgy sat nav - but our hosts could not have been more understanding.
The rooms were all excellent and breakfast each morning was superb. The men enjoyed playing lots of snooker and the ladies loved sitting by the pool in the sunshine.
Vincent was really helpful and made all our taxi bookings for us so we could get to the wedding venue and post wedding party the next day.
Our party stayed in all five rooms and it is the perfect venue for five couples who want to get away from it all and catch up in luxury.
I would definitely recommend Cocos and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nerys22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

hello nerys,many thanks for the great review.glad you enjoyed the place and your weekend.it was a pleasure for us to have you here and to see you making the most of what's on offer.i hope we see you all again soon.best to you both and the gang.vincent and coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Beautiful location, stylish accommodation, and great hospitality. There is a lovely swimming pool and plenty of outdoor space to relax. We would definitely come again. The nearby village of Aubeterre is stunning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

eh up the yorkies,
thanks for the great review and I really do hope we see you back here again soon.
best to you both,vincent and coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We only had one night staying at this excellent b&b, but it was a lovely stay all the same. Vincent made us feel immediately welcome, pointing us in the direction of the beer (and soft drink!) fridge before ordering us a taxi for the short hop in to Aubeterre. Both Vincent & Coco are excellent hosts and more than happy to share their knowledge of the local area. The room we stayed in (one of the suites) was very nice, plenty of space, comfy bed and nice views of the garden and countryside. The weather was cool when we stayed so we couldn't make the most of the lovely garden and pool. We'll try to do that next time. Overall, a great place to stay if you are visiting Aubeterre and the local area. Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandDC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

hello dawn and simon,
thank you very much for your kind words,greatly appreciated.hope the house hunting is going well and i hope we see you here again very soon indeed.best to you both.coco and vincent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Vincent & Coco are wonderful people - blended with beautiful rooms to stay and relax in and a beautiful village to explore not only have we enjoyed our two stays whilst planning our wedding in France they have been invaluable in helping us to understand a source local knowledge and culture!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieKL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

hello you two,thanks for the great review,glad you enjoyed the place,hope we see you before the big day and we really do wish you the very best of everything for a long and happy life together.
best to you both.vincent and coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It's all-too-easy to notice when a B&B delivers sub-par service and amenities. But when everything goes perfectly, as it does at Les Chambres de Coco, you may not realize it until you have savored the experience for a few days or longer. So many winning combinations then become apparent: Coco and Vincent are proprietors who exemplify the best blend of broad-ranging English savvy and authentic French charm. Their establishment's ambience exudes a rare combination of luxury and informality, balanced sensitively for guests wanting a bit of each. Their demeanor as hosts offers a subtle blend of respect for guests' privacy combined with eagerness to share their prodigious knowledge of this lovely part of France; all you have to do is be interested, and ask. The amenities at Les Chambres de Coco check every box: spacious. comfortable, quiet rooms scaled to suit; luscious breakfasts served in a great room filled with whimsical and colorful antiques that reflect Coco's earlier professional life as a highly-regarded antiques expert and dealer; public spaces that invite relaxation, reflection, or a game of billards at a wonderful antique table that bespeaks Vincent's seasoned expertise as a collector. Les Chambres de Coco's location is dead-on perfect: close to everything that matters in this part of the Dordogne, near enough to Bordeaux to visit for a day or more, minutes from the highly regarded village of Aubeterre, and within reach of much of the glorious contryside for which the Southwest of France is so deservedly famous.

My two stays at Les Chambres de Coco, once solo and once with my wife, were in the shoulder-season months for private business trips with a dose of leisure time, so we were not able to enjoy the pool with its spectacular vistas from poolside. Our loss, for sure.

One added bonus at Les Chambres de Coco: you may be lucky enough to meet Bob. With his French canine sensibilities, he wlll prefer if you pronouce his name in proper French. (Look it up.) Scratch behind his ears and invite his attention, and you will be rewarded with an affectionate and playful response that--even for guests who might not be dog-lovers--will serve as a capstone of your Les Chambres de Coco experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 96LarryF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

hello larry and therese...
wow...what a cracking review..thank you very much indeed..
i want to say enormously gratifying ...and I suppose that will have to do until I come up with a better reply...!
meanwhile,I trust you will enjoy knocking your new house into shape and profit from your labours for many happy years to come.
very best regards to you both...vincent..coco and bob le dog.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We recently stayed with Vincent and Coco and were delighted not only with the lovely room, but our charming hosts...the location and attention to detail are fantastic! We look forward to returning soon!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Pascal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

hello you two,
thank you very much for your kind words..
a great start to the new year..
let's hope it continues in the same cheery way..
hope the house hunting is going well...
best to you both..vincent and coco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed in this fantastic place for 3 lovely days for a wedding we attended in nearby St Privat. It really is beautiful with the most welcoming hosts you could ask for. Vincent and Coco really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and Coco even looked after our dog for the day we were at the wedding. Above and beyond in every sense. Everything about this place is faultless and we will definitely return and would recommend to anyone. If you are in the area this is the only place to stay!! Our room was a suite room with lovely bedroom overlooking pool and countryside. The bathrooms are beautiful and big with lovely toiletries and big fluffy towels. Breakfast in either the dining room around a gorgeous big table or outside weather permitting. A great find in a stunningly beautiful part of France, most definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had Cerise which is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FranceVincent, Owner at Les Chambres de coco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

hello the lakeland first team,
thank you very much for your really kind review,especially welcome from someone with an hotel as well rated as yours,quite chufftyfying.
come back and see us again soon.
hope all is well with you and yours and the dogs...best to you all.
vincent,coco and of course bob the wonderdog.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Chambres de coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres de coco

Address: Bonnaud, 16390 Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente > Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Aubeterre-sur-Dronne
Price Range: £84 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comprehensive and sensitive restoration of a beautiful 19th century manor house set in the Charente countryside near Aubeterre sur Dronne. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing