We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizzeria in France!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tapazzeria

La Tapazzeria
Price range: US$11 - US$22
Cuisines: French, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We serve Pizza from a woodoven, fresh made curry's and tapas on a romantic sunny terras. The terras is called: "La plus belle terras de Aubeterre" and its placed in the garden of an old building (ca 1400). Our staff is waiting to serve you and children are very welcome.
salisbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best pizzeria in France!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Great pizzas, great ambience, good service. Sometimes difficult to get a table, a negative for us, but a positive for them?!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank verluisant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey B, Manager at La Tapazzeria, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Hi there,

Many thanks for your great comments and informing clients that tables were difficult to get when you dined with us as it was always helpful when people booked as no one was disappointed.

The team from La Tapazzeria are now running La Brasserie on the square in Aubeterre and would be delighted to welcome you with the same warm welcome and service. Pizzas are not available on the new menu, but we are already renowned after 4 weeks for large tantalizing salads, pasta dishes, ribs, lasagne, and most of all our 250g burgers incl beef, duck and chicken...EVERYTHING is homemade and fresh.

There is inside dining with air-conditioning or outside on the square under the trees watching french life pass you by....so please call to book to have the table of your choice. Tel : 05.45.78.38.45

Regards,

Audrey, Sydney, Sandra & James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    33
    15
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Fabulous pizza and more in a super little courtyard setting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is a hidden gem tuck up the hill from the main square at Aubeterre. With a small heart the restaurant opens to a fabulously enclosed courtyard setting, partly covered, that gives a great family venue. Offering more than just pizzas its a great little informal dining location at the heart of the Charante. Give the pizzas a go - coming straight from the oven they are superb!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey B, Manager at La Tapazzeria, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Amanda C,

Many thanks for your lovely comments about La Tapazzeria and the fact that you felt so delighted by the fireplace and the garden behind. Sydney and I have moved from La Tapazzeria and opened an new restaurant in Aubeterre square called La Brasserie. We opened on the 13th April and have been thriving since. You can see the La Brasserie on Facebook or we hope for reviews soon on this site.

Very best regards,

Audrey & Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service, friendly owners, shame about the pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

I visited La Tapazzeria a few years back, when I recall the pizza being incredibly tasty and well made and cooked. The gentleman manning the oven at the time was very proud of the oven itself and he told us all how he had to start firing it hours earlier to get it up to temperature and how quickly the pizzas cooked, as well as telling us a little of the process used to make the dough.

None of this upon my recent visit, the pizzas me and my two friends received had been severely undercooked - only one of them showing anything resembling colour on the crusts and the pizza being pretty soggy right the way through. My friends' pizza toppings were delicious and possibly a sliver lining to the cloud that was the pizza, but my own topping (pepperoni) was bland and flavourless.

The various tapas we had prior to the pizza were tasty. If you're a pizza connoisseur though it's probably best to stick to the other dishes on the menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey B, Owner at La Tapazzeria, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear SimonK,
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding us and the service provided at La Tapazzeria. I must say I am glad to hear that you all enjoyed the tapas and sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your pizzas. We strive to ensure that our cleints are happy throughout their meal by checking mid way through each course if all is as wished for by the clients, and are always only too happy to re-fire or replance any dishes, incl pizzas be they under or overcooked according to the taste of the client. It is a pity that we did not have the chance to do this for you. I also regret that you found (I guess it was the salami (? - we offer chorizo or salami but not pepperoni) bland, and again would have gladly changed the pizza for a spicer one if so wished, had we known at the time..
As regards the fire and the making of the dough - it is still fired up 2hours before service and the dough is made by hand with natural yeast and left to rise naturally until the optimum moment for cooking. Although we are new owners - the tradition has not changed.
We certainly hope that if you are in the area again that we will still be running La Tapazzeria and you will give us the chance to change your current opinion to a more positive one.
With regards,
Audrey & Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant- a real find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

This beautiful little restaurant is slightly hidden away up a side street in Aubeterre but well worth the visit. Wonderful owners and staff make you feel welcome and especially good with children. Varied tapas and fantastic pizza's cooked in the wood burning oven led to us returning a number of times. Atmosphere was relaxed but fun and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angieo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey B, Owner at La Tapazzeria, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We know what it is like to dine out with children and we like them to feel as important to us as their parents. We are also thrilled that you like the ambiance and that the dishes from both the tapas menu and the pizza menu were liked by the whole family and we enjoyed hosting you the few times that you came to see us.
Take care and best regards to all the family,
Audrey, Sydney and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great pizza and good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We tried our luck on a Friday night without booking and they were very accommodating and squeezed the five of us in. The atmosphere was lovely with a guitarist/singer in the restaurant. The menu was a combination of tapas and pizza. We all had the pizza's which were excellent. The tapas also looked good. We are certainly going back again before our holiday is over.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Orms114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey B, Owner at La Tapazzeria, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you so much for nice comments and taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased that you and your 4 guests enjoyed the guitarist and his traditional Cuban music.
The next time you will have to try the Tapas - my personal favourites are the ribs & gambas!
It is a real compliment for us that you take time out your holiday to write a review - and we look forward to seeing you before you go back!
Audrey, Sydney and the team at La Tapazzeria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tapazzeria also viewed

Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 

Been to La Tapazzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing