We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Taverne

La Taverne
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nonac, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We live in the area and know several people who have been to La Tavern. I am afraid that apart from the setting, there is little to recommend this restaurant. Our table of four was one of maybe 4 tables when we arrived. The staff seemed to do a lot of running around yet little work. We got menus immediately and then were asked if we were ready to order after about 3 minutes! We said no, but then sat without any attention or drinks order being taken for 15 mins. Eventually, we had to ask for apperatifs. We knew that the menu was fairly limited at dinner time, but the website did not say that no Tapas or salads would be on offer. After about another 10mins we had to ask for our order to be taken. This kind of service has no excuse - the place was not busy and had at least four staff. The order was taken for food and I ordered a goats cheese and filo parcel with sun dried tomatoes. Next, we had to ask to order wine, and we were unsurprisingly getting a little annoyed! Wine arrived quickly - the Graves already mentioned by some other reviewers - I am afraid we found it tannic, dry and thin - but hey it was only 14euros.
So the first 3 starters arrive, mine not to be seen, but then it appears. A massive pile of iceberg (yuk) half a hard tomato and two tiny rounds of toast with just as tiny amounts of goats cheese on top. I didn't even have chance to catch the waitress upon delivery. So I told her - sorry I have the wrong food. 'Oh your starter is off, this is similar' - charming! I said why didn't you tell us it was off? 'oh I just knew now and our menu is changing tomorrow'.
No apology - only an 'do you want to change for something else?' I didn't or god knows how long we would have to wait. It was as appetising as it looked. Far too much lettuce and not enough goats cheese.
Other starters - a seafood gratin with sabayon, basically mixed frozen seafood in thin bechamel shoved under the grill. This is not a sabayon. Carpaccio of beef fared better along with duo of duck.
Main course - I ordered a 'shepherd's pie' of duck parmentier. I got just that - tinned confit of duck meat under a mountain of thick mash, topped with a scab of tough cheese. No attempt had been made at flavouring the duck or a sauce. Overall, tasteless and un-enjoyable. Oh and with a side order of iceberg salad!
Other mains - the veal was ok, the accompanying vegetables were a mixed bag of under and overcooked. the fish of the day was 3 fillets of red snapper and three tiny over cooked scallops in a thin and tasteless 'butter' sauce. We were not staying for anything else.....
One of us popped down to the hotel at the bottom of Aubeterre to see if we could have cheese and dessert there - which we did! Lovely service with a smile (costs nothing - neither does an apology) and everything as should be.
La Taverne came over as indifferent to its customers in the extreme, both in the service and the quality of it food - and it is not cheap for what you get. There is some choice in Aubeterre and if you want the same boring 'french' cooking churned out for tourists hurry down! If you want a properly cooked fresh meal at a reasonable price (other places do set priced menus at night as well as lunch) with good service - give it a miss.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexade7163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    91
    30
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a lucky find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

A group of nine friends holidaying in France we stopped here for a coffee and decided to stay for Lunch, are we glad we did! We all ordered the Menu de Jour at €14.50 and the food as every one of our party agreed was absolutely delicious, everything was cooked to perfection. The service by two waitresses, one English speaking and one French was friendly, helpful and prompt. We also enjoyed the house white, beers and coffee between us all and should we happen to be in the area again we will definitely be back for more. Highly recommend (and already have) this restaurant to anyone visiting Aubeterre

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anbu109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riberac, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Food OK, Service appaling”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Ate here last night and although the food was ok the service completly ruined the evening. We arrived at 7.45pm and after being shown to the table we then had to wait a good 10 mins for anyone to come and offer a menu. The waitress dumped the menus on the table and sauntered off, without even asking if we'd like a drink.

After another 10 minute wait (with a restless 4 year old in tow ) the waitress reappeared and took a drink order, coming back 5 mins later with drinks she eventually decided that maybe we might want to order some food. Having witness the very very slow service and having seen no sign of food for any other tables, we decided it would be best to just order a main course as our child was hungry and getting bored.

1hour later, having seen NO sign of the waitress or any other staff we eventually went looking for somebody to ask if our meal would be much longer. The French waitress shrugged and wandered off, next seen taking an order from another table, and showed no sign that she had asked the kitchen about our food and certainly not making any attempt to inform us of an arrival time. Not once did she ask if we'd like another drink (having finished the 1st one more than 30 mins ago), or even come close to our table to check on us.

Eventually my wife went inside and asked another member of staff how long the food would be, and was told 3 mins. The food finally arrived 1hour and 15 mins after being ordered, by which time our child had no interest in sitting still and eating.

The food itself was passable, nothing amazing and the mushroom sauce with the veal was like water, but having waited so long my appetite was ruined anyway.

When we went to pay the bill the owner showed no interest when we told her how long we'd waited and I can only assume that as tourists we didn't really matter. Repeat business is obviously not a priorty for this place and we will certainly not be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewWC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This was our second visit to this Aubeterre region, last one was in 2012.
This year, we had 2 meals in La Taverne, both of which were very enjoyable, food very tasty and very good service and good value. It is open every day for lunch and dinner and has lovely outside area with good views. My husband loved the Cafe Gourmand dessert, try it if you go there and you are in for a great tasty surprise!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PollyDublin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Dinner for four at this snug little restaurant cost 125 E including two bottles of wine - which we all agreed was good value. The food was excellent and the service friendly and efficient. Loved the crepe suzette which was covered in flaming brandy at the table. This is what dining out in rural France should be like.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverne also viewed

Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 

Been to La Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing