We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUP - like this place a lot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Brasserie de la Place

La Brasserie de la Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Brasserie de la Place is a stylish brasserie in the beautifully renovated ‘Beau Villages’ of Aubeterre sur Dronne. Owned by Sydney and Audrey Murphy-Brandmayer (previously of La Tapazzeria) this tastefull restaurant offers a fresh modern twist to a classic brasserie menu, featuring their renowned 250g Burgers, as well as Duck and Chicken options, not forgetting their Spicy Vegetarian Burger with tzaziki sauce. These dishes are complimented with huge Salads with inventive ingredients and imaginative dressings, along side some traditional brasserie classics such as local Confit de Canard, Ribs in spicy sauce to mention couple. To follow their famous desserts such as White Chocolate and Raspberry Cheescake and Tiramisu tempt even those who are not sweet toothed, with Chocolate Orange Brownies or be spoilt for choice with the Café Gourmand. La Brasserie prides itself on home-made dishes from fresh local produce and has a special section for the kiddies with an ice-cream cone for dessert. With air-conditioned indoor dining or under the trees of the village square La Brasserie welcomes you all to a smile and a little bit of France...
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“YUP - like this place a lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Nice little restaurant with good food and drink. Audrey is lovely and a great host. I would not only recommend the burgers but also the full on English breakfast on a Sunday. The duck sausages are a must. Make sure that you book well in advance as the outside tables soon go. Only downside is that Audrey is Irish and they won the rugby but hey!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank psh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey M, Owner at La Brasserie de la Place, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor - it is very much appreciated.

But go on, go on, go on.....we did deserve a win after how many years.... Next time come and watch live at La Brasserie and we can battle it out.

Best regards,
Audrey & Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    49
    14
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant, relaxed with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The service was warm and friendly. The food couldn't be faulted. We had burgers and due to other reviews the white chocolate and raspberry cheesecake. It lived up to the recommendation! A must...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey M, Owner at La Brasserie de la Place, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Many thanks for taking a moment to share your experience of La Brasserie de la Place and we are so pleased that we lived up to the reviews that recommend us. No pressure, whew!!

We hope to have the opporturnity to welcome you 'chez nous' again soon.

Regards,
Audrey

Audrey & Sydney Murphy Brandmayer

Merci pour avoir trouvée un moment pour partager votre experience à La Brasserie de la Place. Nous sommes heureux d'avoir été à la hauteur de vos attentes en fonction des autres commentaires sur TripAdvisor.

Merci et à bientôt,
Audrey & Sydney Murphy Brandmayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Really nice lunch in a great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed so much, we are returning for breakfast on Sunday. Great burgers, great service and I particularly liked the pale ale.

Thanks Audrey

Helpful?
Thank yob2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey M, Owner at La Brasserie de la Place, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi guys,
How nice of you to find the time to write a review for us. It is always a pleasure to host you and delighted you like the Brasserie Brew - our new pale ale.
Looking forward to seeing you all again on Sunday for Full Franglais Breakfast....
Regards,
Audrey & Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Its a Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

For the only pint of Murphys in the Charente and great food and service you must get to La Brasserie.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank srcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey M, Owner at La Brasserie de la Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review - Coming from Cork in Ireland and being a Murphy - there was no other choice. Glad you like it. Our pump system and gas is the original for Murphy's and gives it its depth and character as one expects.

Also delighted you like our cuisine and our delivery - we love what we do and hope that comes across.

Hope to see you again soon,

Audrey & Sydney

Merci pour votre gentil commentaire. Je viens de Cork en Irlande comme le Murphys alors nous avons choisi le meilleur les deux stouts Irlandais (notre avis!!).

Nous aimions notre métiers et nous sommes fier que vous avis compris et aimez notre cuisine et service - toujours une sourire....

A bientôt,
Audrey & Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really nice lunch...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

A must try... the owner a irish lady is just a lovely person and her food is just so so good. We will come back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolas i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audrey M, Owner at La Brasserie de la Place, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review - I remember you visit and would like to thank you for taking the time to write.

We are so pleased that you appreciated and enjoyed what we are trying to do and as we both love what we do it is lovely to have clients appreciate it all from food, to menu, to service, to surroundings.

We hope you see you both again (apologies for not responding sooner but had problems with our tripadvisor account access)
With regards,
Audrey & Sydney

Merci pour votre gentil commentaire.

Nous sommes trop contents que vous comprenez et appreciez notre style de cuisine, deco, service et tous. Merci - nous faisons nos métiers avec amour.

A bientôt,
Audrey & Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Brasserie de la Place also viewed

Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 

Been to La Brasserie de la Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing