We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing peaceful friendly retreat in a beautiful...”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the house from the rear, with the large swimming pool overlooked by a substantial balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the house from the rear, with the large swimming pool overlooked by a substantial balcony
The rear of the house is south-facing, benefitting from all day sun - with parasols for the shady... View of the house with the village in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
View of the house from the rear, with the large swimming pool overlooked by a substantial balcony
The rear of the house is south-facing, benefitting from all day sun - with parasols for the shady...
View of the house with the village in the background
The adjoining paddock - perfect for kicking/throwing a ball around - or indeed for a game of croquet
The covered BBQ area - perfect for entertaining late into the evening!
Breakfast on the balcony - with fresh charentais melons, a local speciality
The dining room by day...
...and set up for the whole group to enjoy by night
The drawing room - a relaxing space to escape from the sun, or for some peace and quiet
The 'snug' - a separate sitting room with Sky TV, Xbox and DVD library for the occasional rainy day
The 'Pink' bedroom in the house - double bed
The 'Striped' bedroom in the house - double bed
The 'Blue' bedroom in the house - double bed
The family bathroom in the house
Breakfast on the balcony, with the village in the background - a stunning view
The apartment's own terrace
Aubeterre village square - Sunday is market day
The village square on a Sunday - bustling market and a social hub of locals and visitors alike
The Church of Saint Jacques at the top of the village
Apartment sitting room - with its own Sky television setup (freeview)
Apartment main bedroom - double bed with day bed / additional single bed
The picturesque town of Saint Emilion - a short drive away and the centre of right bank clarets!
House kitchen - fully equipped for preparing and serving food.....and wine
Apartment kitchen/dining area - gives directly onto the pool, doubles as a summer kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
patgeoffw...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing peaceful friendly retreat in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed 28 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Easy to find property, well appointed family home from home. Our French friends joined us from the south of France and enjoyed a relaxing stay with a lovely pool, comfortable property, clean , peaceful garden with lovely outside area for eating and drinking. They found all the information left by the owners very useful for visiting the area. Very good local produce sold in the market held in the village, good local butchers bit expensive but very nice. A lovely area to keep coming back too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
D W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Stay - TOTALLY RUINED by unacceptable and unbelievable damage claims”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A story of 2 halves....

Very important to state that our party of 12 young boys aged 10 - 16 and 2 adults had a fantastic time on our cycling holiday. The location was great and the house really suited us.

Some confusion with the pool alarm that we were told was compulsory but had apparently been turned off by the owners but we all had a great stay.

Our trouble seemed to start after one small accident where a small pane of glass got broken in a door. The door in question had no stopper but opened straight onto a radiator dial that was set at 90 degrees rather than set flat.

We immediately contacted the owner to explain what had happened and fully expected to have to pay for this.....

However, what followed was a series of phone calls and emails where claims against our damage deposit have gone from the ridiculous to the sublime.

The matter has been passed to Trip Advisor to investigate so won't cover all the details but examples include 1 X sheet (£28) 2 x Towels (£36) 1 X Double duvet (£80) !!!

We left this house thinking we had a great time and already planning to come back next year. However we are left with the VERY bitter taste of unfair and totally excessive damage claims that appear to be way of taking extra money from us.

Perhaps this is why the visitors book showed so few visitors this year....

We have passed the matter to TA to investigate as we have no other way of trying to get our deposit money back.

Will update, once they have concluded their investigation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Dear Darren,

I am very sad that you have felt the need to post this review. We have consistently good feedback from all previous guests (in fact most are return visitors), but we've never had to deal with the house left in such a state, with so much damage (ruined linen, broken table football table, urine-stained mattress, badly stained armchair, maggot infested bins). Nor have we ever had to retain any damage deposit in the three years that we've rented our family house - there are always little bits and pieces which get damaged, but this is part and parcel of having a lived-in home that we put down to standard wear-and-tear, rather than taking from a damage deposit.

I hope you come back to the area, as you are right - it's wonderful for all things outdoors. However, our house is much more suited to families (such as ours) than it is to a large group of teenagers, especially given the quality of furnishings, linen etc.

Kind regards,
Jon & Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsharvey3
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful house - perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The well-planned space in the house allowed group gatherings for mealtimes but also allowed the various 'factions' of our family enough space and private time when needed. The addition of the pool was a really welcome treat as, luckily, the weather was glorious. We were in Aubeterre for my daughter's wedding and I know that staying in this fantastic house added to what was truly an unforgettable time.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W
South West
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in wonderful setting”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a long weekend here with friends and thought the house was fantastic. The 12 metre pool was a treat, as the weather was really hot so it was great to cool off. The house has everything you could possible need for your comfort. The village itself is quiet, so we were not disturbed by traffic, and there were lots of interesting places to visit in the village and within an hour's drive. Thoroughly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hersham, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful family holiday”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in October 2015

My family and I stayed here for a week- my husband and I and our 2 young sons (4 and 2). The house was beautiful with plenty of space indoors and out and was also very child friendly. The local area is lovely and the house is ideally situated next to the village- 1 min walk from the main restaurant which overlooks the house. The weather in Oct wasn't quite warm enough for pool hanging and we can't really do this with young children anyway so we hired a car and did spend quite a bit of time travelling to the neighbouring villages and towns. We found lots of great attractions to keep the kids amused and we saw a great deal of rural France which was lovely. The owners were very welcoming and helpful and the house is easy to get to know with lots of useful information for guests on the local area. I would highly recommend this property and location for both a family or couple's retreat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing