We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place !”
Review of Charembeau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charembeau
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forcalquier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at the estate, 2 families & 5 kids. The hotel was recommended by friends, and they were right ! The location is very comfortable for day trips in Provence - 1-2 hours drive to all the major sites. Situated in the countryside, very green. You immediately feel classy ... The kids had a great time with the pool, tennis, tabletennis, voleyball courts and were busy all the time.
The rooms are beautifully designed and are spacious. Plumbing is a bit noisy, and we would have liked optional dark curtains (awakened by the sun too early every morning). The staff are great - kind, helpful, speak good English. The breakfast was wonderful and carried us nicely through the day. We rented bikes at the hotel - very convenient and technically good bikes, of course wonderful landscape for biking.
We used the staff to recommend restaurants in the area (only breakfast available at the hotel) - all their suggestions were excellent. it's important to reserve tables, all the places were full when we got there.
The hotel is not cheap, but it was a unique experience and a delightful stay, worth the cost. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Charembeau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at this lovely little gem in September 2012. Truly the most enchanting part of our trip. So serene and peaceful......the scenery was amazing! We were able to upgrade to a nicer room and it was so worth it. The scent of beeswax and lavender in the hotel was gorgeous! We found Sandra and her husband to be so helpful and friendly. I only wish now we could have stayed longer. Perhaps in the future. The little town of Forcalquier was charming. To the American lady with the baby who had so much trouble, I'm sorry for you. Surely there was something you could find delightful about this place. And yes, French culture is different, we travelled for 3 weeks in France and there were lots of challenges but looking back, I would do it all over again.......it causes you to GROW. I would encourage you to visit again, you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank phoenixfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is one of those places you hope to find by accident. I can say that it was the highlight of our travels in Provence and having stayed in room 4 for 5 nights while exploring the region, found no fault. It is a family run hotel set in beautiful gardens with sculptures, all in a rural setting amongst rolling hills. Our room (no.4) was large, south facing, classically Provencal, with a beautiful bathroom. The breakfast was no disappointment with the breakfast room arranged to catch the morning sun. There is also a cosy lounge with a computer and internet access. The pools are great! The hotel is located ~2km and an easy walk to the centre of Forcalquier between farmers' fields. A selection of quality restaurants is available for evening meals in Forcalquier, and although Hotel Charembeau doesn't have evening dining, guests can place an order (in the morning) for a cold plate that is indeed filling. A laundry service is also available, as is a in-room bar, both unusually cheap. This hotel deserves a higher rating and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This beautiful property is almost perfect. Possibly the only drawback would be not having a full service restaurant and the fact that the location is on the east side of the Luberon. Otherwise, everything from the most perfectly decorated Provencal rooms and bathrooms and exquisite gardens and terraces along with the beautiful pools provide the ultimate Provence experience. The service is perfect and the entire venue is immaculate. Peaceful and tranquil and lovely beyond words that can explain. Breakfast is the best and all amenities are first class by French standards. Just lovely, lovely, lovely. Also, requests for breakfast in room and the bar serving all wines and liquours at night is an extra perk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were travelling in the Provence without booking, and were recommended to this hotel. We arrived and were able to stay, initially for one, maybe two nights, we ended up staying three nights and had to drag ourselves away!! We will go back. The owners were fantastic, friendly and very welcoming, our room was very spacious and comfortable, with a little terrace with table & chairs and lounger, and also a mini-bar in the room. Breakfast was fresh fruit salad and yogurt and fresh croissants & choice of bread, and we sat out on the terrace overlooking the gardens. For a small supplement you had a choice of eggs & ham. The gardens and 2 pools were delightful, and very peaceful and quiet, table tennis, tennis courts and volleyball available for the energetic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a great find, beautiful surroundings, lovely gardens and pool, very friendly people and the best breakfast you could wish for.
If this hotel had an evening restaurant it would be to good to believe !,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here with my family at the end of July 2013. The hotel and its grounds are superb. Just what you would imagine from Provence with the gardens filled with Lavender and Rosemary, and chirping crickets. Very relaxing. The hotels as a nice pool area as well a tennis court and Badminton racquets. The rooms we had were really nice with an excellent bathroom and even though there is no air conditioning the thick walls keep the rooms cool even in July. The breakfast is excellent and a real treat. The hotel is a few kilometres outside of Forcalquier and there is no restaurant but there a plenty of good restaurants a short drive away either in Forcalquier itself or the surrounding villages. A great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie_Cosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forcalquier
1.7 mi away
Le Couvent des Minimes Hotel & SPA L'Occitane
2.1 mi away
La Bastide St Georges
La Bastide St Georges
#2 of 3 in Forcalquier
272 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Le Mas des Quintrands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Villa Borghese
Villa Borghese
#1 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
496 reviews
21.8 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
541 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mas du Pont Roman
Mas du Pont Roman
#2 of 3 in Mane
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charembeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charembeau

Address: route de Niozelles, 04300, Forcalquier, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Forcalquier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Forcalquier
Price Range: £70 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charembeau 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing