We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Bastide St Georges
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Forcalquier
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“luxurious and comfortable”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

La Bastide St Georges Forcalquier is on the fringes of the town, between Forcalquier and Mane. It looked unimpressive from the outside (at least in April) - a bit like a motel complex. However our room was extremely luxurious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. There was a good on-site restaurant (a separate business in the complex).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    83
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
57
147
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

a lovely place surrounded by an amazing landscape. very nice room - it's actually a little bungalow in a row with others, and you even have your own small terrace. we had a glass of wine there and watched the sunset - very romantic indeed. room was nicely decorated, fully equipped with kettle and everything you need for your first coffee in the morning. breakfast was very good, although we had to wait quite a while for our eggs (they had run out and someone had to fetch more eggs from a nearby shop). nicely located just outside forcalquier, but only 2min drive to the center.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannylassZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montperreux, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We've been in this hotel in family (3 adults and 3 kids) for 2 nights, on the way to go to our holiday place in Cote d'Azur. We booked 2 "bedrooms" (in fact they are little bungalows side by side with a main room and a bathroom each, andyou accessthem from a little private patio in front of. A big garden is also present in the hotel). The people at the reception are very nice, the area very beautiful (with a lot of olive trees !). The "bedrooms" are big and very well decorated. The bathrooms are beautiful and big too. The pool is very nice and the spa area too.
From the autoroute, the access to the hotel is easy but can take 20 mins, moreover when there is the open market at Forcalquier.
There is free parking places for your car but when the hotel is full, I'm not sure everybody can have a spot.
We took only the breakfast at the hotel and it is very nice to have it on the main patio in summer.
For lunch, you can have snacks at the hotel and for diner, there is the independent restaurant at 5 minutes walking: Les Terrasses de la Bastide.

The negative points of the hotel is it is not children oriented. They is no games outside for them (even if there is a big garden) and the pool is not designed for children. And when you look at the people there with no children, you can see that they don't want to see/hear children playing or running in the area of the hotel.
Regarding the "bedroom", there is a kettle and only 1 normal instant coffee bag and 1 normal tea bag. We asked the cleaner to put more and she replied to us no as it's like that. And if we wanted more, we have to go to the reception to ask for some! Same for the shower gel or shampoo products: only one tub per bathroom! For a 4 stars hotel with bedroom at 240€/night, you expect more products in the bathroom and for coffee/tea!

Room Tip: Bungalows in front of the spa/wellness are very quiet but you can hear the swimming pool machinery i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

not really a hotel but a collection of bungalows and en-suite rooms.If I return I will request a room in the main building.
the room was excellent with fridge and kettle, and a little patio. not very private. The pool area was quite small, I did not use it as my family had one of the bungalows with a pool . The spa was very expensive, again I did not use it. The wifi did not work except in the main building. This was disappointing as I like to use it in the evenings before bed.
breakfast very expensive.
the restaurant close to the hotel was excellent, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelvalIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We've been there for a romantic weekend and it's just the ideal place for something like that. Service is good, the hotel, pool and spa look beautiful and like they've been recently renewed, the general feeling is to be somewhere very private and charming. We will come back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitestar06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Lovely bungalows situated in a large garden. The rooms are large and well decorated and include a little patio outside to relax and enjoy a drink. The pool is not very large but reasonably sized for an hotel. The fact that there is no restaurant for dinner in the premises is not a problem as the restaurant somehow linked to the hotel is less than 5 men's walk away and serves great food. We wished we could have stayed longer in this little gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mermontagne1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is not so much a hotel as a little village of cottages and blocks of beautifully appointed spacious en suite rooms with balconies. Depending on which one you get, it can be very private, though the ones nearer the restaurant were a bit more public. Lovely lawns, swimming pool etc and spa with expensive treatments. The restaurant nearby is a separate business and is very affordable, unless you are on a tight budget, in which case you won't be here! Has kettle (one tea bag!!) and mini bar fridge which is not very cold but better than nothing. Also only one very small (though posh!) waste paper basket. We did our own breakfast on our balcony so can't comment on how good the, expensive, hotel breakfast was.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picasso008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forcalquier
0.8 mi away
Le Couvent des Minimes Hotel & SPA L'Occitane
23.9 mi away
La Bastide de Moustiers
La Bastide de Moustiers
#2 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
462 reviews
14.8 mi away
Villa Borghese
Villa Borghese
#1 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mas du Pont Roman
Mas du Pont Roman
#2 of 3 in Mane
101 reviews
23.9 mi away
Le Colombier
Le Colombier
#1 of 8 in Moustiers Sainte-Marie
509 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Le Mas des Quintrands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bastide St Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide St Georges

Property: La Bastide St Georges
Address: route de Limans, 04300, Forcalquier, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes-de-Haute-Provence > Forcalquier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Forcalquier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bastide St Georges 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your La Bastide St Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide St Georges Forcalquier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing