We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in paradise”
Review of Cafe Veranda

Cafe Veranda
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Menerbes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$23
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food in paradise”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We went to Menerbes for a week for a family holiday and it is paradise there. Went to Cafe Veranda for dinner one night to celebrate my mom's birthday and this is such a special place. We were seated outside which is a must in the summer and the food blew us all away with it's great looks and great taste!! We almost rolled out of there afterwards as you just cannot stop eating. The atmosphere outside is great as you are almost sitting in the buzzling streets of night time Menerbes and the staff is very friendly, a lot friendlier than most restaurants in France!!

What a great place!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coles8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    135
    43
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Let down. Pretentious, even contemptuous staff.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived for lunch on Saturday 16th August. We found the staff unfriendly, pretentious and even contemptuous. Poor service indeed, did not feel welcomed or looked after through the meal. Certainly not what to expect considering the premium prices we were paying (€30 main course). We are francophones so language barrier was not the issue. Food was quite ambitious, but generally poorly presented. No bowels provided for king prawns. Toilet inside the restaurant seemed like a tourist site in itself with so many people queuing, with the door directly into the single toilet being conspicuously accessed from the main restaurant. Shame as expectations were high as restaurant itself is well presented with stunning views. I hope this is very, very unusual.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 07h126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had lunch outdoors on the terrace, which was well shaded by huge umbrellas. My omelette was fluffy and perfect, our best selection. Husband had scallop ravioli, which he deemed good but not fabulous. Daughter's Caesar salad was ultra anchovied. The service was professional.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Make a Booking”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Busy during the summer, turned down on the first evening so made a booking to return the next day. Heard good things about it. Very professional and friendly staff, good atmosphere, out door seating at the front and inside at the rear has a good view over looking the village / valley.

Menu is kept simple with the offer of 3 course set menu for dinner; had the Lobster dish which was swimming in butter! Very nice. Mrs had the lamb which was quite heavy.

Overall I would rate it as good but seeing as TripAdvisor only gives the options for Average and Very Good, I will have to go for average. There is no wow factor. Most expensive restaurant we visited during our trip, but not hugely expensive, quite reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iYapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpraised, and overpriced”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We came with high expectations. A wonderful town, a wonderful spot, but mediocre food, overpriced, and reflective of the downhill course of French food. The bread was tasteless and limp (always a test). The wine was fine and local...but marked up quite a bit. The appetizers were best, the mains mediocre, the deserts passable. The service was unctuous by the maitre d'...and subtly impatient. You can do better, and for a lot less money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hungry_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Veranda also viewed

 
Bonnieux, Luberon
 

Been to Cafe Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing