We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book this hotel. They charge you even if you cancel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie le Roy Soleil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menerbes
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't book this hotel. They charge you even if you cancel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hi,

I booked this hotel with booking.com on May 29th. A day later I found a better deal near Menerbes and cancelled my reservation on May 30th for a stay in July.

Despite the timely cancellation, they charged my credit card and as of today (mid August), I still did not get my money back. I called a few times the hotel and talked to a Mr. William Derine, but nothing happen. Stay away from this hotel and trust the reviews here. The pictures look nice but the rest is opposite.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank fetscherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    50
    26
    49
    82
See reviews for
40
148
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our choices were limited, the Tour de France was in Provence so most hotels were booked up except this one billed as 3 star (fair) but priced as 4 star plus.
ROOM. Ours was classified as superior because it had a balcony which was minute. Room small by UK, 4 star standards but bathroom could have been excellent but for the lack of window or ventilation!! I therefore used the public lavatories. Oddly the bathroom door had clear glass panels; obviously French men get off watching their mistress on the loo! Room rate in July was 170 Euros per night with no meals included.
There is no air conditioning which I do not expect in a 3 star hotel, but be warned the room was stifling hot in July
In these days of digital and satellite TV it is not too difficult to tune some channels to English language but no, ours only received about 20 French language channels in spite of the room information stating that other channels were available. They were not because the satellite cable did not reach our part of the building, we were told. Obviously the management would prefer not to entertain non-French nationals.
SERVICE. This was variable depending who was on duty. Two young French girls (?sisters) were always helpful and prepared to put themselves out. Some breakfast staff seemed rather clueless. Reception staff OK but had insufficient English language information. No particular warmth on arrival and certainly no welcome drink but in France I do not expect that. I did feel sorry for the general manager who was trying to make up for staff shortages and deficiencies. He personally had to find light bulbs for our bedside lamps at 10.30 at night!
RESTAURANT. Dinner billed at 45 euros had to be special. It was good but only worth about 30-35 euro. We therefore only ate in once in our 4 nights. Breakfast casual and buffet style. For a 20 Euro breakfast I would expect scrambled eggs to be cooked to order not kept in a warming tray. The wine list had nothing under 30 Euros a bottle and that for local vin de pay wines, extraordinarily that in the land of wine, restaurants consider that a 6X mark up to be fair.
FACILITIES. Excellent outdoor pool, no gym but far too hot for this anyway.
OVERALL. Hotel situated in a lovely area about 2k drive (less if walking) to Menerbes one of France's designated beautiful villages. It is and with prices to match!
TIP. For Sunday lunch and dinner go to the village of Oppede only 5k from Le Roy Soleil and find the restaurant "Celina", Italian style, all freshly cooked to order and much better value than the hotel. Wine from 15 Euros a bottle!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Horrible service. Save your money and go to another hotel. Running around trying to find someone to help you out is what you will be doing at this place. There is no 24hr service, no one picks up the phone at front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Menerbes hotels

Lisbon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

our most priced hotel on a 10-day trip around the beautiful provence turned out to be a disappointment. terrible service upon check-in. don't you dream about a welcome drink. a wi-fi service that actually only works on a 5 meter radius aound the reception, an expensive mini-bar, a relais chateau wannabe experience. i have to admit though that the restaurant staff was very kind and the surroundings are delightful. hope you get luckier!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank rsantossilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We felt lucky that we had booked only one night in this way overpriced hotel. One of the worst hotel experiences ever. Very unfriendly welcome: The receptionist didn't find our reservation right away, but instead of trying to solve the problem, started arguing (!) with us with an attitude between arrogant and couldn't-care-less. When we crossed the lobby later, we found a group of travelers desperately trying to check in, being battled by the annoyed and unhelpful receptionist. 45 minutes later, they were still there... Apparently they were trying to claim a discount they had been granted previously.

When we were led to the room, we were literally just dropped off without showing the room or any further comment. The interior is overwhelming in its bad taste, too much of everything. Too many patterns, too many pillows, too much fluffy carpet - but that may just be a question of taste. The bathroom interior was rather out of date and - although not dirty - had something filthy about it.

Don't touch the minibar! Overpriced of course, even for a minibar, like the room itself. Didn't even try pool or restaurant, just got out of there. Yikes!

A tiny plus point is the toilet separate from the bathroom.

Do think well if it really has to be Le Roy Soleil.

Room Tip: The best choice of rooms is to choose none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank polychroma-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in the past so felt comfortable making this out choice for Provence this past June. This was a mistake. The first night of our stay the water to the hotel was turned off. I stumbled to the front desk in the dark, no one was at the desk. The wifi did not work. It was sporadic. The grounds, hotel and dining room and perfect, but the staff is untrained. The room service menu was mostly outdated. You could get a hamburger and fries if you missed lunch. There was no pool service. We advised the servers of my friends food alergies numerous times and they still go breakfast wrong every day. We stayed for 11 days. The management listened to our problems but did not follow thru to correct. Add to that the new chef and a menu from the twilight zone, that did not change in the 10 days we were there, it made for a bad experience. No one was rude, but they did not respond to problems.

Room Tip: Call ahead to be sure they have a new chef. And, ask will room service, pool service, and spa servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Donnasue32111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

The rooms are dated, but quaint in their own way. The wallpaper matches the bedding and the sofa was very tired. The showering situation was challenging as there was no typical "shower stall" but a bathtub with a handheld sprayer. The room balcony was great and overlooked the lawn area. As we found common in this area, the rooms did not change over to airconditioning in April and were very hot. We were able to sleep comfortably with the sliding door open at night. The manager and staff wear many hats and will go above and beyond to be sure you are happy. Management even added extra Wifi repeaters quickly to accommodate our Wifi requests. The property is as if you're staying in your own villa in Provence and very peaceful. The restaurant and service were amazing. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5startraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menerbes
7.1 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
7.5 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
4.2 mi away
Le Jas de Gordes
Le Jas de Gordes
#10 of 25 in Gordes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#7 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie le Roy Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Roy Soleil

Property: Hostellerie le Roy Soleil
Address: Rte. des Beaumettes, 84560 Menerbes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Menerbes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menerbes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie le Roy Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie le Roy Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Roy Soleil Menerbes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing