We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt dirty and old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie le Roy Soleil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menerbes
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Felt dirty and old”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

For the price, this room was a big disappointment. Everything worked ok, but wow it needs refurbishment in a big way. The bed was lumpy and the coverings looked like they hadn't been updated in years. And the carpet was old and creepy; I couldn't bring myself to go barefoot,

The food wasn't bad, particularly the breakfast pastries. Otherwise, not a particularly pleasant experience. I have stayed in Super 8's that were cleaner and nicer, for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Poopycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    52
    26
    49
    82
See reviews for
40
150
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

First impressions wonderful. Idyllic approach to a pleasant looking hotel and a most efficient concierge/receptionist, who also turned out to be the porter, maitre D and sommelier. Room also looked lovely. Large four poster and a view over the pool/courtyard. On moving in, however, we discovered that only one plug point worked, the shower had no curtain at all (in fact the actual bathroom itself had no curtain at all) and there was no internet. All this could have been laughed off as just another day in Provence, until we got taken by a very expensive and at best average meal in the restaurant. The wine, we discovered while shopping at the local cave, was marked up a cynical 600% !

If you are an exhibitionist who loves mopping bathroom floors and has no need for internet or any other electrical appliances then take a room at Le Roy, but do avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Menerbes hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Wrong type of room, wrong dates in their system (luckily we had a printed email confirmation or we would have had to find something else like our friends). Tried to charde us for meals we did not have. Wifi does not work in most rooms. 3 days to clean some pants (promised back overnight...). The saving grace? A decent restaurant albeit a bit pricey and a few nice people working there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank carolineZirakzadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Hi,

I booked this hotel with booking.com on May 29th. A day later I found a better deal near Menerbes and cancelled my reservation on May 30th for a stay in July.

Despite the timely cancellation, they charged my credit card and as of today (mid August), I still did not get my money back. I called a few times the hotel and talked to a Mr. William Derine, but nothing happen. Stay away from this hotel and trust the reviews here. The pictures look nice but the rest is opposite.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank fetscherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our choices were limited, the Tour de France was in Provence so most hotels were booked up except this one billed as 3 star (fair) but priced as 4 star plus.
ROOM. Ours was classified as superior because it had a balcony which was minute. Room small by UK, 4 star standards but bathroom could have been excellent but for the lack of window or ventilation!! I therefore used the public lavatories. Oddly the bathroom door had clear glass panels; obviously French men get off watching their mistress on the loo! Room rate in July was 170 Euros per night with no meals included.
There is no air conditioning which I do not expect in a 3 star hotel, but be warned the room was stifling hot in July
In these days of digital and satellite TV it is not too difficult to tune some channels to English language but no, ours only received about 20 French language channels in spite of the room information stating that other channels were available. They were not because the satellite cable did not reach our part of the building, we were told. Obviously the management would prefer not to entertain non-French nationals.
SERVICE. This was variable depending who was on duty. Two young French girls (?sisters) were always helpful and prepared to put themselves out. Some breakfast staff seemed rather clueless. Reception staff OK but had insufficient English language information. No particular warmth on arrival and certainly no welcome drink but in France I do not expect that. I did feel sorry for the general manager who was trying to make up for staff shortages and deficiencies. He personally had to find light bulbs for our bedside lamps at 10.30 at night!
RESTAURANT. Dinner billed at 45 euros had to be special. It was good but only worth about 30-35 euro. We therefore only ate in once in our 4 nights. Breakfast casual and buffet style. For a 20 Euro breakfast I would expect scrambled eggs to be cooked to order not kept in a warming tray. The wine list had nothing under 30 Euros a bottle and that for local vin de pay wines, extraordinarily that in the land of wine, restaurants consider that a 6X mark up to be fair.
FACILITIES. Excellent outdoor pool, no gym but far too hot for this anyway.
OVERALL. Hotel situated in a lovely area about 2k drive (less if walking) to Menerbes one of France's designated beautiful villages. It is and with prices to match!
TIP. For Sunday lunch and dinner go to the village of Oppede only 5k from Le Roy Soleil and find the restaurant "Celina", Italian style, all freshly cooked to order and much better value than the hotel. Wine from 15 Euros a bottle!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Horrible service. Save your money and go to another hotel. Running around trying to find someone to help you out is what you will be doing at this place. There is no 24hr service, no one picks up the phone at front desk.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

our most priced hotel on a 10-day trip around the beautiful provence turned out to be a disappointment. terrible service upon check-in. don't you dream about a welcome drink. a wi-fi service that actually only works on a 5 meter radius aound the reception, an expensive mini-bar, a relais chateau wannabe experience. i have to admit though that the restaurant staff was very kind and the surroundings are delightful. hope you get luckier!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank rsantossilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menerbes
7.1 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
7.5 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
4.2 mi away
Le Jas de Gordes
Le Jas de Gordes
#10 of 25 in Gordes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#6 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Bastide du Bois Breant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie le Roy Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie le Roy Soleil

Property: Hostellerie le Roy Soleil
Address: Rte. des Beaumettes, 84560 Menerbes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Menerbes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Menerbes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie le Roy Soleil 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie le Roy Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Le Roy Soleil Menerbes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing