We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and cosy stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Tignet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mas de Clairefontaine
Ranked #2 of 3 Le Tignet B&B and Inns
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm and cosy stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at Mr Andre's place for 2 nights.

Mr Andre and his wife are warm and friendly, doing their best to make sure guest staying are comfortable.

For lodging, the room provided was comfortable, clean and cosy.

Breakfast was very good, especially the croissants, which were very fresh

The location is perfect for visiting areas in Grasse, Cannes, Antibes, where there are many small towns full of heritage.. It is also not difficult to locate. At night, when the sky is dark, there is an illuminated signboard outside which is impossible to miss, if you are coming back late.

Our only regret is that we should have spent least a day or two more at his place to enjoy the pool and visit more places nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreuk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    10
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
33
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We booked the studio apartment for a whole week. The owner Andre is a very nice guy who is open to questions and requests the entire day. He recommended us some great places to visit and eat. His wife is also lovely and they have a cute dog, who likes to play with guests at the pool.

Our room was next to the entrance of the compound and contained a small kitchen, which the other rooms don't have. We heard that the other rooms also don't have a fridge, which is in July a necessity if you want to drink a cold white or rose wine, or would like to eat some cheese in the evening. The room also had a small private terrace, but we didn't use this too much, due to the fact that the house was between the trees and in the evenings there was a lot of insect activity and we would get bitten.

Our room was not cleaned during our stay, and we were not sure whether this was part of the package or not. As we were rarely in the room, it was no big issue although we saw some insect activity in the room. Sleeping with the windows open is impossible with all the insects, so we were happy for the air-conditioning.

There is a nice pool with good chairs and enough shade to survive on sunny days in July. Wifi does not work in the rooms, and needs to be accessed from the breakfast patio (which was a short walk for us). The breakfast is of good quality.

In total our stay was a bit too long and a few days would have been fine before moving on to another place. It's a good place to stay for a day or three. The location is great, close to Grasse (perfume city), Cannes, Nice and Monaco. It's a great base to visit these cities, but a private car is a must.

Room Tip: The only option -if you value cooking yourself- is the studio apartment. The other apartments do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petethefreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HertfordshireRon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

On the strength of strong positive reviews on Trip Advisor, we made our base here for a visit to the Grasse area. With hindsight two nights would have sufficed before the honeymoon period died and the towels became too grubby. I do think since people who stay 1 night get clean towels people who stay longer should have the chance to have clean towels when required without the atmosphere we had to endure requesting them on our second evening. My request was met by a request that we do not park our car in a certain place- "it's not nice for people", what exactly that had to do with towels I don't know and no I told him when questioned we did not use them at the pool we have our beach towels. We didn't have a towel change for the rest of the stay but the cleaner kindly hangs them over chairs outside to freshen them up. Went and bought our own in Fayence anyway.
As for the area where it's not nice for people to see a car parked.On the 4th evening reading outside my room there was at one stage 4 cars parked within feet of me including a breakdown truck which had its engine running for a full 20 minutes and a builder's car. The builder was busily at work drilling, hammering and laying slabs just above us (for two nights) on the floor of the breakfat balcony- the Iris room ceiling. Nice bloke the builder as he wandered up and down the steps outside the room - pity about the dust and noise! It was a very lively two hours. It "wasn't nice for people" but hey yi canna complain!
The breakfasts were good but communal.
We were asked to pay the balance of our payment in cash no debit cards or cheques. We'd already had to send our deposit to him by bank transfer at a cost to us of £8 in January. Now 'just' a visit to the bank twice.
The Mas suffers from traffic noise being on the main Grasse -Draguinan road.

We stayed in the Iris room, a small converted garage with its entrance only feet away from the main stairway to the house. Little privacy.
For 130 euros a night I thought it was overpriced to say the least though I appreciate the area is a tad pricy.
Unless you make a fuss , hardly conducive to a relaxing stay, this place might prove a trying stay
beyond two nights.
We left a day early, paid for 7 stayed 6.

Room Tip: If you have to go - avoid the Iris trap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblingron99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lapostat, Propriétaire at Le Mas de Clairefontaine, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Hello,

just a reminder that tripadvisor notes that all reviews are subjective and reflect an individual's personal opinion.

Since we opened in 1999, the general rules are as follows:



- Towels are changed every 3 days, excepting mishaps in which case they are changed immediately.

-Cars should be parked in the designated area unless impossible due to deliveries or other.

- We apologise for any inconvenience if unavoidable urgent repairs are carried out during your stay.

- Clients are clearly informed in advance that payments are in euros only.

To conclude, 12 out of 14 tripadvisor reviews concerning my establishment are excellent or very good.

I rest my case. @ndré
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Thank you Lonia et André for such a lovely stay. We thought your hospitality and the accommodation were both wonderful. We only stayed for two nights - on our way to a family holiday in a villa nearby - but wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

The Mas de Clairefontaine is a treasure in France's Cote d'Azur. Located only 40 minutes from Nice airport, it provides charming accommodations from which to explore the French Riviera or to simply kick back and relax. The rooms are clean, comfortable and pleasantly decorated. The grounds are simply gorgeous and the view from the terrace is magnificent. Breakfast is served on the terrace and gives guests a chance to share with hosts, Andre and Lonia, and to meet other guests. The pool is a nice extra.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Mas de Clairefontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas de Clairefontaine

Property: Le Mas de Clairefontaine
Address: 3196 route de Draguignan | Pays de Cannes et Grasse, 06530 Le Tignet, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse > Le Tignet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Le Tignet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing